We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just spent a nice weekend at the Prescott for the Nike Marathon weekend. The location can not be beat. It is with in walking distance to countless restaurants and wonderful upscale shopping. Union Square is steps away. We were upgraded to a Penthouse Suite which was absolutely fabulous. It had a dining room to easily seat 8 with a baby grand piano, a living room, bedroom and a wonderful rooftop terrace. Breakfast was included with choices of breads, fruit, drinks and cereals. We ordered off a hot entre menu that cost extra but was very good.

The front desk people were friendly and helpful and Mike the bell man was wonderfully helpful and full of tips and information. The staff really made our stay magical.

We used the fitness room everyday. Although it is small it is well equipped and we were the only ones in it every day. The evening cocktail reception on the Club level was nice. The bar tender didn't have the right ingredients for a cosmo but improvised and it turned out terrific. The food choices were fine, not as nice as some other Kimptons we've stayed in but were adequate. The staff really goes above and beyond and could not have been more helpful and friendly. We would return here in a heart beat.

Room Tip: If offered a chance to upgrade...Take It.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello sandm4,

Thank you for sharing the highlights of your visit and for the mention that our staff was helpful and added to the overall enjoyment of your stay. We hope to see you again!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    416
    178
    67
    36
See reviews for
116
435
70
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It took us about 20 hours travelling time to get to the hotel. We checked in, we were given our room key and the elevator was pointed out to us. It seemed like ages, but eventually the elevator arrived. Our room was quite small but adequate, with a lovely view of the windows in an adjacent building. I searched in vain for a coffee machine, water was available at 6 dollars a bottle though.
There was a huge TV which was not switched on during our 4 day stay, I'd have preferred a coffee maker! Breakfasts were OK, but after 4 of them I started to crave a decent slice of toast and butter, I don't think the US has butter like Europe knows it. The staff were fine, Mike at the desk was a star. I think that the hotel is primarily for business guests and don't encourage tourists.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina, sk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Simply put our stay at the Prescott in San Franciso was excellent. The staff were very friendly and the conceirge was extremely helpful. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. They are a bit on the smaller side than what most people may be used to (it is an older hotel) but they have everything you need and more. Continental breakfast and "happy hour" drinks and appetizers were included daily. As good as the hotel itself was, the location is even better. 2 blocks from Union Square and Cable Car line, 5 min walk to Westfield Mall and F line. Express shuttle stop to Candestick around the corner. Ample shopping, restaurants, and pubs all in the area. Would definitely stay at the Prescott again even if my girlfriend thought the place was haunted.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello Brasky_Bill,

Thank you for your kind comments. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
As the unofficial hotel historian, I'm not aware of any haunting but i haven't brought in any mediums to confirm that. So glad that you liked our location from which to explore the city. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Prescott the weekend of the Nike Women's Marathon. Our room was ready as requested. The hotel was quite busy but all staff were most attentive and helpful - even to the extent of providing excellent advice on our planned departure the day of the race.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello jiwaniec,

We're so glad you visited us for the Nike Marathon weekend...And thrilled that
you felt excellent care from our staff. Nice pic of the Marathon crowd on the street. We really
were in the middle of it all!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Prescott at least 15 times over the past 6 years, and the quality of their customer service, attention to detail, and personal attention kept us coming back. But our last two stays, including our time here right now, have been disappointing. Our room wasn't ready when we checked in, so we hung out in the lobby for 20-30mins. When we returned to the desk we had to show our ID again in order to get our key. A far cry from what we used to hear - - 'Welcome back, Mr and Mrs Barnes'. Housekeeping staff are friendly, but not the folks at the front desk. We've had to call twice each time we want ice (there are no ice machines). Small matters, but they make the difference between an OK hotel and a great one.

Room Tip: If you stay on the Club Level, you need to take two elevators to get to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Paula B,

We are disappointed to read that you feel differently about the hotel after visiting us for 6 years. Please know that while there may be some new faces at the front desk there are many employees who still recognize you and we apology that you did not experience our Warmest Welcome compared to past stays. We do have all your personal preferences on file and it appears we honored most of them. Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very valuable and will be distributed among the staff.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This lovely hotel is just a few blocks from Union Square. The room was nice, beds comfortable, housekeeping well done. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The price was excellent for the location and amenities. The location was a surprise - despite being very central and on a fairly busy street, the rooms were quiet, which was great after a good day of walking and sight-seeing. The central location also helped with transportation - access to transit, taxi and rental car were all within a few blocks. I'd recommend this hotel and will stay again when I visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Byn_9,

We are so glad that you found our location ideal, had a comfortable visit and pleasant interactions with the staff. We hope to see you again soon.


Kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was a disappointment. The room was small and cramped, which wasn't that unexpected, but the strong musty odor was an unpleasant surprise. The room continuously smelled like a musty attic. The best things to be said about the room were the good shower (in a cramped bathroom) and TV selections. The drapes did not cover the outside edge of the window so there was light shining onto the pillows of the one of the beds. This wasn't a huge problem, since the only view was of a light well, but it was still annoying. The thermostat did not work properly, so the AC was either on or off, but the temperature could not be controlled. Repeated requests for repair led to notes that the problem had been fixed, however just turning the system off and setting the thermostat to 85 isn't really a fix. The hotel was unable to repair the problem, and apparently unwilling to admit they hadn't been able to fix it. I didn't appreciate being told the problem was fixed, when a few minutes in the room clearly revealed it was not fixed. The room was quiet, and I appreciated the daily local paper. I only made it to the wine hour once, which was fine. Hotels can be hard to find in SF, however I think there must be better options.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello chibiff,

It appears we did not put our best foot forward. Thank you for providing both positive highlights and areas for improvement. We apologize that the a/C problem was not solved. I have forwarded your comments to all Departments so that we may learn from them and continue to improve our levels of service.

Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Prescott Hotel, in the vibrant heart of San Francisco's Union Square, was recently named one of Travel + Leisure's top 50 hotels in North America. Stepping through its doors makes it immediately apparent why, with its quiet, exquisite sophistication and attentive service. Discerning travelers are drawn to this lovely boutique hotel and the adjacent Postrio restaurant just steps from Union Square, Moscone Center, Chinatown and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Prescott Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.