We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
san diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We travel throughout the US on business and stay in 3-4 hotels each month. We are HH and try to stay in Hilton family hotels when we can. Marriott is our next choice. However, when we go to San Francisco we usually stay at Prescott; great location and great staff. Although the hotel is old, it has been well kept and is a pleasure to visit. The price is especially great. Guests are invited to a wine reception in the street level lounge and Club Level are prvided an extended social hour and breakfast; well worth the extra fee. There is a restaurant located in the hotel which is very upscale, but a little too bright and noisy for our taste. The bar/lounge just off the lobby is very nice with reasonably priced drinks and a good selection of bar food. An isolated incident I am sure, but were were joined at the bar by two foulmouthed louts, one wearing a hat who eventually caused us to leave; the bartender no doubt was aware of this and did nothing. Finally, we noted that the hotel allows dogs which are allowed to stay on all floors, excepting the top floor. Disconcerting to know that a dog(s) may have stayed in our room prior to us. All in all, a superior, well located, well priced hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in front/street side may noisy but have an interesting view. Suites are available and are wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hi jackSanDiego,

Welcome Back, and thank you for taking a moment to share details from your recent visit.
Your comment regarding how we could have handled the disruptive guests is well taken and
I will forward your feedback to the restaurant staff for further training and service awareness. We hope to see you again soon,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    364
    155
    57
    32
See reviews for
105
373
62
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Prescott Hotel's location and service were both excellent. The Prescott has been around for a while, but that gives it plenty of character without feeling like it needs updating (except for the elevators, which others have mentioned several times). We had a club-level queen, which we got as a cheap upgrade from a deluxe queen. Hint: make sure you sign up for the Kimpton rewards program so you get free wi-fi. The queen bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very nice too. Except for the included continental breakfast (adequate), we didn't eat at the restaurant, so no opinion there. All of the customer service was great: desk clerks, concierge, restaurant staff, etc. The only complaint we had was with the valet parking -- nearly $50 per night. Luckily, we knew of a spot where we could park the car on the street for free during our stay. Well-worth the $20 cab ride back to the car when we checked out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear urkelsan,

Thanks for your comments and review. We are so glad you enjoyed your
visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights late August on Honeymoon,room very clean and comfortable,hotel very close to everywhere,good location.Would definatley stay here again.the staff very helpful and the breakfast has a good selection.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear FrancisG1980,

Thank you for the kind review and mention that you found our staff helpful and a
comfortable stay. We are thrilled to have been part of your special celebration.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful experience at the Prescott Hotel. Upon check-in, we were upgraded to a suite which provided our 8 month old plenty of room to crawl around. We were pleasantly surprised with the complimentary daily cocktail service which came with the Club Level room; the drinks, appetizers and service were excellent. Our room was clean and spacious and the front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel's central location provided a very short walk (1 block) to Union Square.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Tina P,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and had a pleasant surprise that
also included excellent service. we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to San Francisco!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A fabulous hotel. Upgraded to one of the junior suites. Service was first class - friendly, personable but unobtrusive, hotel immaculate and great location. A very personal feel for what is a reasonable size hotel.

Room Tip: Go for club floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello OEABer-

We truly appreciate the high marks and kind remarks. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Prescott Hotel is centrally located downtown San Francisco. The rooms were nicely decorated though smallish. The staff was excellent, typical of Kimpton hotels. We took advantage of the inexpensive upgrade to a suite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hi Kurt A,

Thanks for your comments and review. We appreciate that our staff appeared to meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The rooms are a bit smallish, but that's to be expected in the city. It's nicely decorated and the staff was friendly. We had a very comfortable stay.
There's a restaurant/bar downstairs, which was OK. And there's another Italian style restaurant in the building adjacent (connected via a hallway). It was a quite pricey, and also a bit quiet when we went there. But the food was very good and the service was great.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear BartM-

Thanks for your comments. We're so glad that you found the hotel comfortable and our staff friendly.

Tot ziens,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#80 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Prescott Hotel, in the vibrant heart of San Francisco's Union Square, was recently named one of Travel + Leisure's top 50 hotels in North America. Stepping through its doors makes it immediately apparent why, with its quiet, exquisite sophistication and attentive service. Discerning travelers are drawn to this lovely boutique hotel and the adjacent Postrio restaurant just steps from Union Square, Moscone Center, Chinatown and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Prescott Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.