We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenamente stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
México
1 review
“Plenamente stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Thanks a lot, it was so confortable, and ubication is great, thou is an expensive hotel, I had a very pleasent rest and will recomend for sure. BTW next time would like to take my dog with me it would be so fun and no worries.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Hi Carlos Z,

Thank you for the nice comments. Yes, please bring your dog next time and we will ensure he/she has just as restful stay as you.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    386
    167
    64
    34
See reviews for
110
402
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel. Quick check in process. Hotel book right up tonight. Our room on club level, very well appointed. Nice fittings and fixtures. Staff friendly and look happy, I'd love to work here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi cityboy_nz-

That was a spectacular Golden Gate Bridge Anniversary event wasn't it?!. We're glad you chose us to be part of your memorable weekend.... and we're Happy that you were Happy!

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

I couldn't believe this hotel wasn't in top 30 or even higher.

We loved it particuarly the free drinks from 430-630 each evening, and the location near union square.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hello ryjan-

Thanks for the review and nice comments. We look forward to
seeing you again when your travels bring you back to San Francisco.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from 4 days in San Francisco staying at The Prescott and really enjoyed our stay. It's central location is ideal for visitors, but also the little extras supplied by the hotel made such a difference.Complimentary tea and coffee were served on the individula floors from 06.30 and complimentary wine for an hour in the evening! The room was comfy and spotless.
The only problem we had was the 2nd day a query was raised against the complimentary continental breakfast by the waitress, but this was soon sorted by a quick trip to the reception desk for our vouchers. The staff are so friendly and helpful- made our stay a real pleasure and would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Post St can be a little noisy on a weekend but it wasnt too much of a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear SharonHLondon-

It is always comforting to know that when things don't go right that they are fixed immediately. Thank you for sharing your comments. It gives us great pleasure that you really enjoyed your visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Talk about defining the word service. I never had to ask for anything because all of my needs were anticipated and taken care of. The hotel is a little older but they have made the most out of what they have to work with. I appreciate the upgrade and the personal recognition of our special occasion. If every hotel in the chain has this level of service, my hotel selection has become a lot easier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear GreatTraveltime-

We are thrilled that you felt cared for and that the staff anticipated your
needs. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff which gives us
the motivation to keep serving our guests with heartfelt care.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Prescott Hotel. I would have to say that it was a wonderful experience – one that we will be repeating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. But the greatest part was that the personal were professional and helpful. We plan on going back.

Room Tip: Up for the Club Level - It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Hello-

We are so pleased that we made such a positive first impression and that you have us in mind when you return to San Francisco.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This was mine and my wife's first visit to the USA and we very pleased with our choice of hotel. The Prescott is located close to Union Square and is therefore ideally situated for tourists. Our room did not have a view but it was clean and a good size. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had 7 nights of blissful sleep during our stay. The hotel is 'old' style San Francisco in decor and feel and the staff were friendly and very happy to chat with you if you wanted to. If you want modernity in the soul of your hotel then the Prescott is perhaps not for you. We had just been to Berlin the previous week and stayed in a very modern hotel which was great but this did not lead us to be disappointed with the Prescott....we felt the Prescott had a lot of charm and character.

The daily wine reception between 5 and 6pm provided opportunities to meet other guests and on the 3 occasions we attended we had excellent company from other guests and whichever member of staff was hosting.

I would recommend this hotel as good choice for anybody who wants an uncomplicated choice of base for a visit to San Francisco.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager545, General Manager at Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Hello SimonC-

Thak you for your comments and for choosing us to call home while exploring San Francisco.
We are thrilled that you experienced some blissful rest and found our service helpful. We hope you will consider us again for your second trip to the US.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Prescott Hotel, in the vibrant heart of San Francisco's Union Square, was recently named one of Travel + Leisure's top 50 hotels in North America. Stepping through its doors makes it immediately apparent why, with its quiet, exquisite sophistication and attentive service. Discerning travelers are drawn to this lovely boutique hotel and the adjacent Postrio restaurant just steps from Union Square, Moscone Center, Chinatown and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Prescott Hotel Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prescott Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.