We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Powell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Powell Hotel to your Saves list
Powell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

As most everyone has said, the location of this hotel is awesome. Really hard to beat. It's right off the Muni, Bart, AND Cable Car line. Plus it's in a great area for shopping (be ready to spend!) and (some) eating. The rooms are not great. Maybe it's because we got a really cheap deal through bookit.com? The bed was nice and the room was large enough for two, but the shower was pretty terrible and while the bathroom was big there's not really a good shelf to put much of anything on. The free breakfast and cocktail hour are superb though. Good pastries in the morning and lots of snacks and drinks offered in the evening, not a ton of room to sit though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    239
    184
    113
    95
See reviews for
106
250
69
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We checked in to the hotel on a Sunday afternoon. We had a very long wait as there was only one person behind the counter.
The lobby area is nice and there is a great coffee shop/deli attached to the hotel. The hotel is old but has recently been remodeled. It still has an old building smell.
We had a room on the inside which was nice and clean. We did not have a noise issue.
Our only issue came on our last day as we were packing I noticed one of my shoes was missing. We unpacked and packed our items to make sure it wasn't picked up by mistake. Checked every area of the hotel room and my shoe was not there. We went to the front desk and explained the situation. They checked with housekeeping who claims they did not have the shoe and that was it. They could do nothing else about it. I had worn the shoes a day prior so I know that they were both in the hotel room. I explained that this was a very expensive pair of shoes and I would appreciate some additional effort in locating the shoes. I was told there was nothing else they could do and if they found it they would call us. We have not heard back from them and I really feel no effort was made at all to locate the shoe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Location wise (for shopping at least) the Powell Hotel is ideal, steps from the cable car and very close to many large retailers and Union Square. Rooms are small but perfectly adequate and everything was clean and service was good.

It probably is good value for its location but there were a couple of compromises:
- The bedding is a bit average, with a plastic undersheet making the bed a little less comfortable (heat gets trapped under you as you sleep), and only a single thin blanket was provided, so I had to request another
- The provided breakfast is limited to pastries and muffins, not great for longer stays (cereal would be awesome!)
- The gym associated with the hotel (as there is none in-house) is about 6 blocks away and costs $15 per visit (and you need to take ID with you) - this will only matter to some people but wish we'd known the price/location of this facility before we'd booked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location for this hotel is fantastic, right at the corner of Powell (cable car stop and BART station right outside the door) and Market streets. This allows you to conveniently park (if you have a car with you) at one of the BART stations, take the BART to Powell Street station, and just walk over to the hotel and avoid paying the outrageous parking costs in San Francisco.Other than the great location, the hotel has little to offer. Yes, it is in an old building, that has been remodeled, but there is NO soundproofing so you hear everyone and everyone hears you, on the floors above your room, and below! We had an interior room (their cheapest room) which also amplified the sounds bouncing off the air shaft. Breakfast is served between 6 a.m. and 9 a.m., so if you're not up by then, you're out of luck. The beds have a thin plastic sheeting over the mattress, so you shouldn't mind the sound and feel of plastic crinkling each time you get up out of bed or into bed. If not for the excellent location, I would have given this hotel a "poor" rating. But if you're an early riser, on a tight budget and don't mind listening to your neighbors, and you prefer to spend your money on dinner/drinks/gifts in San Francisco, then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for -- avoid an interior room unless you're immune to claustrophobia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Great location, in the heart of the Union Square area. Public transportation is very close, and the trolley stop is literally right outside the door. Plan on a 20-40 minute wait for the trolley, however, especially on a busy tourist day.

Regarding the hotel itself: furnishings are very outdated; rooms are VERY small; front desk staff is NOT helpful; the continental breakfast is a joke (stale pastries, only 2 types, and watered down juices and coffee) and no decent places to even sit at a table.

We booked as a package along with our airfare so I'm not sure what the daily rate was that we paid, but it was probably too high. There are hundreds of other hotels in SF, so do your research and find one that is a better value, has better service, and more updated facilities.

Room Tip: There probably are not any "good rooms."
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

FIRST OFF...LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION... You can not get a better location...within seconds of Union Square right in the heart of San Francisco.

Charming Boutique Hotel. Friendly Staff and wonderful General Manager who truly cares about the guests.

The Continental Breakfast is very suitable w/ fresh European style muffins, breads and pasteries, juices and coffees.

The hotel is landmark and charming hotel. Very European in style and feel.

The hotel is a bit older but still has great charm. Best of all, GREAT VALUE .

Room Tip: Some rooms are small but so quaint and have very large window and even windows in the bathrooms. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location & very reasonably priced, but there's a reason it's so inexpensive! The pictures on the website are very deceiving! Yes, parts of the hotel are newly remodeled, but trust me, you're not staying in those parts! Whomever took the photos for the website & designed it is a genius, because they had us fooled! Our walls had holes in them, our bathroom floor was scummy & hadn't appeared to have been cleaned in months. Although smoking has been banned in CA, this hotel still wreaked of cigarettes! We came back from dinner to a room that was 85 degrees because the heater had malfunctioned & kicked on by itself. We were put right on the street side & didn't get a wink of sleep because of all the noise of cop car sirens & car alarms, drunk people screaming all night up & down the street! It was literally the worst hotel experience my husband & I have ever had! Please be warned if after reading this you still plan on booking with this hotel, it may be inexpensive, but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Powell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powell Hotel

Address: 28 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Powell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful and recently renovated boutique hotel situated at the world-famous Cable Car Turnaround downtown San Francisco. With 137 stylish and comfortable guestrooms, the Powell Hotel welcomes vistors from all over the world offering friendly service, convenience of location and comfortable accommodations. Free wireless internet. Check-in time: 4pm; Check-out time: 12pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Powell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powell San Francisco
Powell Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.