We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro chic surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Louisville, KY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Retro chic surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We chose The Phoenix hotel based on other TripAdvisor.com reviews. We were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bedding was wonderful. We were a bit surprised when we pulled up as it not what we were expecting. However, we were very pleased. All rooms face a courtyard which has lots of greenery and seating. The Phoenix is a great find, a hidden gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 48. Three adults and a teenager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    211
    62
    24
    18
See reviews for
84
203
51
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I arejust back from spending a few days in this wonderful funky and oh so cool hotel.
The staff are really first class, parking is free, the rooms are large, clean and comfortable, the pool is warm, there is a bar and restaurant attached...really everything that is required to make your stay simply wonderful.
Okay the area it is in is not the best but, hey, we felt in no way concerned wandering around and there are some great restaurants in the near vicinity - a Thai restaurant just a few minutes from the hotel is one the equal of anything we have ever found in Thailand. Most of downtown San Francisco is within easy walking distance.
Can not recommend this place too highly - when we return to this great city this is the hotel we will be staying in.
Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Probably best on first floor as ground floor could be a wee bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The hotel is decent, pretty clean, linens were impecable and the staff was wonderful BUT the área is awful!!
We Traveled with 2 kids and had to take a taxi just 5 dollars because it was so unsafe. There are Many Homeless people all over but at night there are drug dealers just across the Street!!
It's a shame, if only adults are travelling it's not that bad, but definetly not a familiy hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The photos and "high" reviews are misleading. My friend and I arrived late evening (9ish) and while the front desk was friendly and helpful, the hotel is in a sketchy neighborhood...homeless people a plenty!!! Starving, we went wandering a few blocks up the street only to realize that almost everything is closed-could it be due to the high volume of homeless people wandering about? Thankfully, we were able to have something delivered (pizza...hey beggars can't be chosers right? ;)). What is not disclosed in the reviews: the hotel is a remodel in progress of an older hotel. Basically the hotel has been resurfaced, think late 70's/early 80's gets a paint job. Not terrible, but not fantastic. The walls and windows are "thin" meaning that noise easily carries. The hotel does have a restaurant, so on busier nights, any and all noise can be heard from the rooms including noise of opening and closing doors of other rooms, chatter, crowds, street noise! If it was not for the friendly helpful staff and clean comfortable beds, it would get zero stars. Just FYI, if you want a "cab" ride to the airport, the hotel has a town car that charges $55 one way to the airport. The location is close to civic center and BART; however early morning or evening, you will be weaving in and out of homeless people. I do not recommend if you are staying alone, bring a pack of friends! Its ~45min walk to Fisherman's wharf/Alcatraz Ferry, ~20min walk to Union Square.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenxHotelGM, General Manager at Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Sullengirl,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us, rest assure that I have taken your comments to heart and will work with my teams to improve service at our hotel.
The hotel was built in the late 50's, and the decor is set to hopefully match that era, with a few modern touches. We strive to do all within our power to keep the hotel in tip top shape, but as you can imagine a building this old does come with some challenges, such as sound proofing. We will continue to look for new ways to improve this old building and the all around guest experience here and your feedback is of great value to us.
In regards to the comment about our neighborhood I appreciate your concerns with regard to the local street life and can assure you it is a weight we all feel. You'll be glad to know that after raising over 3.6 million dollars in support of the Tenderloin Neighborhood Development Coalition over the past 21 years, we are steadfast as ever in our resolve to clean up the streets and continue working to build a healthier community. We would appreciate your help in reaching out to the Mayor's office by sharing your concerns at http://www.sfmayor.org/index.aspx?page=7. Meanwhile, our staff is on hand 24 hours to ensure a secure environment for our guests and assist with safe walking routes to all nearby destinations.
I am saddened that we were unable to meet your expectations outside of the rooms and staff, and we really appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts.
take care,
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The biggest disappointment was that we didn't see any rock & roll stars and there were no jam sessions around the pool.We were going for our son's graduation and wanted to be near all the activities. This was a perfect place. We walked most of the places we went however it is one of the very few places in the area to have free parking if you need it. The security is outstanding and we always felt safe. San Francisco is full of drunks and vagrants so you are going to have them around as soon as you leave hotel property even if you stay in a $1,000 a night hotel. This location is no different. I wouldn't advise taking a walk at 3:00 in the morning but that's true anywhere. It was cold when we stayed so we didn't try the heated pool, but plenty of folks did. The bar and restaurant are very classy but the restaurant is at the high end price wise so we didn't eat there. There are several places to eat breakfast, lunch or a roll and coffee within a block of the hotel and the hotel has coffee, tea and rolls for free in the morning however what they have is just enough to tide you over until you can get something better. the room was very nice and very clean. It is not very large but I was able to work at the desk using a laptop without blocking anyone's way. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel is an old motel, updated to a sort of rock hotel. This isn't really for families with kids, even though there is a pool. On Fridays and Saturdays the in house restaurant is open late, and it can be hard to get a good night's sleep. The walls are also very thin, so pray for non-disturbing neighbours. With that said, we stayed here for over a week and really enjoyed our stay, The room was in the ground floor and was nicely renovated. The only thing we missed was a refrigerator. And the fan in the bathroom made a lot of noise. Otherwise, the bed was really comfortable and the AC was working fine and wasn't disturbing.
The hotel offered complimentary muffins and coffee/tea every morning, which was great to get a bit of energy before going out to explore the city and eat an amazing breakfast somewhere.
In San Francisco there is a lot of homeless people, and in the neighbourhood there is a shelter and a church that draws a crowd. However, we never felt insecure in any way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This rock and roll boutique hotel has great potential. The staff were wonderful and the rooms funky.

But... the location is in the Tenderloin. At night it is not safe to travel beyond the gate. In there morning there is no place to get coffee or a quick muffin.

The rooms had nice features but a major draw back is no AC or heat. The windows have no screen so if you chooses to open them the bugs from the trash cans left out from the previous night join you in your room.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenxHotelGM, General Manager at Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Chris,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us, rest assure that I have taken your comments to heart and will work with my teams to improve service at our hotel.
The hotel was built in the late 50's, and the decor is set to hopefully match that era, with a few modern touches. We strive to do all within our power to keep the hotel in tip top shape, but as you can imagine a building this old does come with some challenges, such as sound proofing, heating and air conditioning, thankfully due to the beautiful moderate climate here, we seldom require air conditioning. However, we will continue to look for new ways to improve this old building and the all around guest experience here and your feedback is of great value to us.

I appreciate your concerns with regard to the local street life and can assure you it is a weight we all feel. You'll be glad to know that after raising over 3.6 million dollars in support of the Tenderloin Neighborhood Development Coalition over the past 21 years, we are steadfast as ever in our resolve to clean up the streets and continue working to build a healthier community. We would appreciate your help in reaching out to the Mayor's office by sharing your concerns at http://www.sfmayor.org/index.aspx?page=7. Meanwhile, our staff is on hand 24 hours to ensure a secure environment for our guests and assist with safe walking routes to all nearby destinations.
I hope some day to be able to welcome you back to a new and improved property as well as neighborhood.

take care,
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 601 Eddy Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Funky, irreverent, and young-at-heart, The Phoenix Hotel caters to touring bands and travelers with a creative spirit. A 44 room mid-century motor lodge with a lush courtyard and heated outdoor pool. It's an oasis in the heart of San Francisco on the edge of the gritty Tenderloin and three blocks from City Hall. Guests get complimentary onsite parking and a poolside coffee, tea and muffins to start the day. Art from local artists decorates the rooms and the courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Hotel, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix Hotel San Francisco
Phoenix San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.