We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien San Francisco to your Saves list
Le Meridien San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Battery Street, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Johns Creek, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a great promo rate through Travelzoo over MLK weekend including parking, internet and 2 free drinks. The hotel lobby was being remodeled (should be open by 2/2013) so the temporary lobby was on the 2nd floor. The room was spacious and the 4 of us (2 adults, 2 kids) never felt packed in. The valet was always prompt with the car when requested. The hotel is in a fantastic location - walking distance to the Ferry Building, China Town, Union Square and other sights. Also had a nice view of the Bay Bridge from the room.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    534
    147
    42
    33
See reviews for
164
529
121
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The room was huge with a nice 32” flat screen TV. The bed was exceptional. The bathroom was likewise large and well-appointed with marble accents, make-up mirror, cotton balls & Q-tips, and hair dryer. The location is in the financial district which is a very good location. We walked everywhere (Union Square about 20 minutes, Ferry Building 10 minutes, etc.). This was a first class hotel and matching experience and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel was lobby under construction when we were there (Jan 13) and the temporary entrance was a bit less than ideal.. But other than that, the hotel was great. Nice large, clean rooms. Check in/out was a breeze, and the consierge was friendly and offerred some excellent dining suggestions. Excellent location. Few blocks to BART, Ferry Building, North Beach and China town. A few more to Union Square and Cable Cars.

A few wonky aspects. First $14/day per wifi. Do hotels seriously still charge separately for that? And second, no coffee makers in the room. Now they did offer complementary coffee in the lobby, and the coffee was quite delicious. But each time I went down, there was at least 1 nice, older lady in lobby in her bathroom grabbing some. I have to admit, I did get a chuckle, but it was kind of tacky.

For the right price, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in the Le Meridien last weekend to visit friends in the city. I knew the remodel was going on from looking at the reviews here. The lobby situation and elevator to get in and out was not ideal, but I liked the hotel quite a bit. It's a "sleepy" area of town on the weekends (but close to the Embarcadero and Market), but again I knew that having lived there.

The room was very big, updated, had very comfortable beds with down comforters, a whole wall of floor to ceiling windows with a view if you're high enough. I would stay again without question.

A couple of minor things (not a big deal, but I remembered them):
The electrical plugs in the bathroom were not at the sink area and were positioned in a spot without a mirror in front.
There was only one bathrobe in the closet, but not sure if there might be more normally.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 1 night as we visited my cousin who was in San Fran on vacation. We drove up and wound up using valet, which had we known was not included in the price and costly, we may have been tempted to seek parking elsewhere, however that may have turned out to be an expensive proposition. The hotel's parking entrance is right where the hotel's main entrance is, but quite hidden. Aside from that the hotel is quite easy to find.

The service at the hotel was top notch as could be expected. We didn't get a chance to use the amenities so can't speak to how well they were, however the room we were at was exceptional. It was large, comfortable, and very clean. We got in, took a shower, rested for a few minutes, then headed out all day until late at night so we didn't get to use everything in the hotel.

All in all a great stay for a great price since we stayed on a weekend. If ever in town again, would definitely wouldn't mind staying here.

Room Tip: For a great view, try the top floor and facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, NY
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I will look past the construction and the temporary lobby because everything was well marked and the reception staff were extremely quick, pleasant, and helpful at all times of the day and night. It is not clear what will emerge once it's done but the temporary situation is very workable.

The rooms are on the large size for San Francisco. Ours was a corner room with a partial view of the financial district. The beds are extremely comfortable and the linens are soft. The rest of the room amenities are subpar. The furniture is dated. The room could have been a tad cleaner, and the bathrooms are what are most in need of refurbishment. The tub and sink area are dated, with peeling wall paper and 1970's style hot and cold fawcets. There is very little noise between rooms and I got a good night sleep in a comfy bed, but there is nothing French or particularly spectacular about this Meridien. It's dated but the location is very good and the service is top notch. We got a terrific rate through Hotwire. Anyone paying the rack rate would be advised to look elsewhere. A Starwood property maybe, but feels more like Sheraton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel and all I can say is what a beautiful hotel in an excellent location. The hotel is very close to China Town, North Beach, the piers and only about a 15-20 min. walk from all the shopping at Union Square. I am here with my husband and we are in a gorgeous luxury suite with amazing city views! Great hotel, great staff, clean rooms, and conveniently located near many popular places in San Francisco. Will definitely be back and recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien San Francisco

Address: 333 Battery Street, San Francisco, CA 94111
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 100% nonsmoking downtown luxury hotel offering clean, sophisticated style blending Italian marble, Australian lace wood, and modern decor. Elegant and simple in atmosphere, Le Meridien is conveniently located downtown near the Ferry Building Farmer's Market, Chinatown, North Beach, and Union Square. 360 guestrooms include 89 suites offering both city and bay views. Hotel offers 24 hour in-room dining, a restaurant and bar, complimentary exercise facility, and limited town car service. All guestrooms offer sumptuous duvets, CD players, in-room safes, High-speed Internet access, cordless phones, minibars, and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Meridien San Francisco
San Francisco Le Meridien
Park Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.