We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location, Average Facelift” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% + Free internet!
Ranked #68 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Location, Average Facelift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

I read that this hotel was given a complete remodeling in the summer of '09, so I was looking forward to brand new fancy rooms. I was disappointed- the rooms weren't fancy, but they were comfortable, which is what is most important anyway. But I could still tell the building is quite old. The location is very central to everywhere you would want to go, including just a few steps to the cable car. Stay here if you didn't rent a car, because you can walk almost everywhere. If you did rent a car, don't park in the overpriced hotel lot.
Overall, If you don't pay over $200 USD (for the basic room), it is worth staying.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,008
    2,268
    960
    305
    155
See reviews for
1,068
1,848
317
1,572
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We paid 200 euro for a deluxe king room, this was two thirds of the actual price, as we got it for a reduced rate. The room was decorated really well with a wide screen tv, and the bed was very comfortable. It was in an excellent location, central to everything. Do not pay more than 200 for a room though as it's not worth it. I only have a couple of criticisms... 1). The coffee maker was bogging! So it needed a good sterilizing before use. 2). As we were staying for 9 nights we thought that they might give us a complimentary breakfast or dinner, but the manager kept telling us to call back to the desk later. I wasn't impressed by this at all. It would have been a nice touch at a small expense to the hotel. They seem to favour the more lavish guest (a lot of business people stay here, pilots and I.T. professionals) and not give the same welcoming to all their other guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wucrew2
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Parc 55 has a great location. Next to the cable cars and on the base of Market Street, It's an excellent hotel for the casual vacationer. It is also 3 blocks away from Union Square, a great area for the tourist. We lucked out and got a room that isnt facing the street (11th floor) and didn't hear the street noise, except for the occassional fire truck. You can notice some things that they haven't gotten to in the renovation, such as the carpet and the service issues. Room service trays were left in the hallways for a couple of days, and carpets in the hallways were a little worn. Don't try to call concierge or service, just go down there ans ask the question in person. You'll be on hold on the phone for a while. Otherwise, its a stay again, and honestly for the value, you really can't beat it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We stayed at Parc 55 for 3 nights at the beginning of Oct. We paid £64 per night through Priceline, which was a bargain.
We were on the 11 floor and didn't have any problem sleeping. You need to remember that you are in the middle of a city, so there will always be noise!
The location of this hotel is fantastic. Its in the downtown area of San Francisco, 2 blocks away from Union Square. All the shops are on your doorstep as well as the buses, bart and trams.

Parking is pricey at the hotel but there is a couple of car parks within a block or 2 away.

We would definately stay at Parc 55 again and we recommend eating at The cheesecake Factory on top of Macy's, Union Square on th outside patio!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

The Parc 55 has expensive parking. If I had not Pricelined my room I don't know if we would have stayed there but I am glad that we did. The staff was super helpful and friendly(including a girl named Tip). The bar was a wonderful addition to our stay, we frequented it often. The room was clean and attractive with all the amenities. Taxis are always waiting outside and the subway is a two minute walk. Not to mention the trolleys are close. The one problem is our room was hot because of no air movement. When I checked the air conditioning filter it looked like it had never been changed. I called the front desk and the promtly brought me a new one and the roon stayed cool the rest of the trip. Always check your air filter. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Lovely rooms, but some face the road and are too noisy to sleep in, esp with fire engines etc...constant noise explains earplugs provided in bathroom!

Staff polite and helpful, but the calls, esp so called "loca"l calls, were a rip off..not explained to us by operator when we asked...£5 for a few seconds!!! Daylight robbery!! Do NOT use!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We got a great deal on the Parc 55 and were very pleased. The rooms were clean, the location was good and the hotel staff was courteous. It may not have much character, but it provides a soldi's night's stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square

Address: 55 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square 4*
Number of rooms: 1024
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive experiences. An exceptional location. Just steps away from Union Square, Parc 55 offers something for business travelers and vacationers alike, including:1,024 modern guest rooms and15 executive suitesOver 30,000 square feet of event space A contemporary on-site restaurant and barWalking distance to Union Square, the Moscone Center, and the EmbarcaderoMoments from downtown shopping, South of Market Museums and the Theatre District.Steps away from the Powell Street Cable Car Line to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown and Ghirardelli Square Adjacent to the Powell Street Station BART and MUNI lines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc 55 Wyndham Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Parc 55
Parc 55 Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.