We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square

Save Saved
You added Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 2 nights and Save!
Ranked #62 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good & Bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

I agree with the poster before me, this hotel is looking a little worn and is not all it's cracked up to be. I too stay at Marriot properties all year long and the staff here is by far the least helpful of any I've experienced with Marriot. The location is in a convenient area with access to shopping and restaurants, if you go in the right direction. Make a wrong turn and you will be surrounded by druggies and prostitutes, don't make a left out of the front entrance! The final day of my stay here there was a fire alarm that went off at 5:30 AM. Being on the 26th floor it wasn't a pleasant surprise to wake to. Can you say earthquake?!?! Anyhow, we stayed here for 3 days and it will be the last 3 we ever spend there. Do yourself a favor and go to Hotel Monaco right down the block, better restaurants, better bar & MUCH better service!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,891
    2,082
    826
    275
    131
See reviews for
928
1677
296
1369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2005

The Renaissance Parc 55 Hotel on 6th Street is a great place to stay. I spent seven days there from 22 to 29 September 2005 and enjoyed every minute from check-in to check-out.

The hotel staff are friendly courteous and informed. The Rooms are first class, spacious and bright and well equipped. A lazy day away from the shops can be spent in the comfort of the room.

The Rooms are serviced daily and housekeeping staff are friendly and efficent and respect your need not be be disturbed.

The leisure/health club is superb and again the staff are friendly and helpful.

The restaurant has an excellent menu and food comes just as you ordered.

The hotel is so convenient for Union Square, Market Street and the public transport networks.

I would recommend the Parc 55 to all of my friends and indeed to anyone visiting this exciting city.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2005

I stayed here on Labor Day Saturday and was quite pleased.

This is a downtown/Union Square area hotel, so the caveats re the nearby Market Street/Tenderloin areas do apply, but if you can deal with that, the hotel is quite lovely.

We got there late in the afternoon and they had no single king bed non-smoking rooms available immediately, but when I persisted, the receptionist told me that there were a couple that were being made up as we spoke and that they would be ready in a short while. When I told them that I would wait, I think they did everything they could to get me the nicest room possible, and I wound up with a very high (24th fl) corner room, very close to the elevators (but not noisy at all), with a really terrific view of the city.

The room was a good size, although the only shortcoming was the entry hall is extremely narrow so that you have to stand clear of the door as you open it on the way out. Not a big deal.

The bed was wonderful and the sheets and pillows were quite good as well. The bathroom was huge and well laid out.

I had limited interaction with the staff but starting with the accomodating receptionist, everyone was very polite, professional and knowledgeable. I asked the concierge to find me an address of a nearby shop and he wrote it down on a map, making it very easy to find.

The only down side to this hotel is the immediate neighborhood, which can be a little off-putting and limits your dining options somewhat, but otherwise, this is a very nice place to stay downtown and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2005

This hotel is at a great location. This hotel is looking a lot like its external surroundings---tired and worn. Its time for a massive overhaul.

The front desk staff offer only blah, blah, blah when asked about securing a better room location. Why don't they just say yes or no? The blah, blah, blah is worse than a no. BTW--calling the hotel manager gets action.

This was my hotel of choice in SF--not anymore.

YAWN.

I stay more than 200 nights a year--almost all at Marriott properties. The front desk staff at this hotel doesn't care about that.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2005

The Parc 55, as all have said, is in a great location. Very convenient to all modes of transportation. The rooms were good, not great. The service was solid, not outstanding. It was just an all-around good hotel. Which was fine for me and my wife for the price we paid. There are a lot nicer hotels in the area. But for the money and location this one is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2005

The Renaissance Parc 55 in San Francisco was the second hotel we stayed at while on our 16 day vacation. We arrived at the Parc 55, tired after driving 14 hours in from Seattle. Being so tired, it really helped that the service was superb! The valet and front desk employees were extremely courteous and friendly. We booked a standard room with the government discount and was pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to a huge, beautiful corner room with windows all around. We had an amazing view fronting Union Square!

The room was well appointed and clean. Perhaps the only flaw in this room was that we booked a room with a King sized bed and instead got a room with a full size bed. This of course was overlooked once we saw the size of the room and the view! The bathroom was clean and had a few nice touches like a heater which came in handy since it was cold at night, a phone and a movable vanity mirror. Directly outside of the bathroom in front of the closet was a seperate changing area, which I thought was a nice touch.

For those of you who love to stay fit, this hotel offers a 24-hour fitness center free of charge. Also, there are restaurants on the property which offer a variety of genres. My favorite meal there was breakfast in the hotel restaurant, prices were reasonable for San Francisco and tasty and of course service was superb.

Location wise, you couldn't find a better place. It is so centralized! It is right across the street from shopping and in walking distance from Union Square. If you go out late at night, past midnight or so, don't go to the left of the hotel towards Larkin st. Not exactly the safest feeling in the world with the number of homeless people and prostitutes but what else can you expect from any big city.

Valet parking was $38.00 plus tax...pretty high, but the going rate for San Francisco. If you don't mind public transportation, don't get a car. You can see most things on foot patrol or via cable cars. It was pretty rough having to pay almost the same amount for parking after our three nights there as it was for one night's stay.

Needless to say, our stay was very enjoyable and we will definitely stay at the Parc 55 the next time we visit San Francisco! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

I was in SF on business, it was my first stay on the Parc 55, and I enjoyed it very much. The most important thing to me when I am travelling is that the rooms are clean and nice. My room at the Parc 55 was very clean and well maintained.

I've been to SF many times, and alot of the hotels in this perfect area are worn out. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square

Address: 55 Cyril Magnin Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive experiences. An exceptional location. Just steps away from Union Square, Parc 55 offers something for business travelers and vacationers alike, including:1,024 modern guest rooms and15 executive suitesOver 30,000 square feet of event space A contemporary on-site restaurant and barWalking distance to Union Square, the Moscone Center, and the EmbarcaderoMoments from downtown shopping, South of Market Museums and the Theatre District.Steps away from the Powell Street Cable Car Line to Fisherman’s Wharf, Chinatown and Ghirardelli SquareAdjacent to the Powell Street Station BART and MUNI lines ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parc 55 Wyndham Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Parc 55
Parc 55 Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parc 55 Wyndham San Francisco Union Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.