We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two words...FREE PARKING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Heights Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Heights Inn to your Saves list
Pacific Heights Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   1555 Union Street, San Francisco, CA 94123   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 69 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Two words...FREE PARKING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This small motel is located in the heart of the Marina district of San Francisco. It is surrounded by cute shops and restaurants within very easy walking distance. There is a bus stop 1 block away with a short ride into Union Square, Chinatown and North Beach.

The coolest thing about this motel is the FREE PARKING followed by the price...$109 per night in SF is a steal, especially when it includes parking. The rooms are standard motel rooms with funky bed spreads and carpet and a really good shower. Our room had a very comfortable king size bed, a small sofa, refrigerator and a microwave...in the closet!! They also have free wifi that actually works.

More 4 stars are for convenience, price and parking. The is a no frills establishment. If you are looking for white bathrobes, slippers, an honor bar and fancy soap, shampoo and a concierge this is not the place for you. If you are looking for good value in a great neighborhood this is your place.

The staff is very friendly and nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from he street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    59
    40
    13
    13
See reviews for
36
63
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salmo, BC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Convenient to Fisherman's Wharf/the Aquarium/Hyde Street Pier/etc., and comfortably priced; this is an excellent “budget” motel ... although the “breakfast “is meagre ... but there are plenty of eateries within a couple of minutes walking distance – try the omelettes at Cafe Lombard!!!
However; the staff more than compensate for any shortcomings. The rooms are small ... but clean and comfortable. The cleaning-staff must be elves; because we never saw them, but they certainly did their jobs!
If you’d rather spend your money on things other than expensive accommodations, than this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back (away from Union Street) and on the r/h (North) side will have the least traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Small old rooms - not very clean. Very small breakfast - 7 to 9 am only - 1/4 of a muffin and that is it. The thermostat for the heater does not work - it is controlled centrally only so you depend on the management to decide what the temperature of the room should be. The location is good and the free parking is a plus but that is all you get. As long as you stay here you feel like you paid way too much for what you get. We paid $180/per night with $50 tax in mid week. Next time I would love to pay $50 more for one of the other hotels in the area and feel much more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Pacific Heights Inn is ghetto meets gang. The room was disgusting at best. When we finally did go to sleep we were awakened by shouting in the courtyard. We were awakened by he manager (YES THE MANAGER) yelling at a guest at 6 am! My husband finally got dressed and went to the office to tell the manager to stop yelling! Dirty. Noisy. Disgusting. I'd rather sleep in my car.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Stay anywhere else. Sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is located in a convient place to walk and use public transportation to see San Francisco. Driving seems to be awful and parking is worse so having a hotel where parking is free and close (1 mile down hill) to Fisherman's wharf makes it worth it. The hotel itself is outdated but very clean. Continental breakfast is muffins in the lobby. Bed is comfortable.

I don't spend much time in a room so this hotel saved me enough so I could rent a car for the week. I do 5 star as well as 3plus star hotels and it is good value for the low end of my criteria.

Hope this helps, Phil

Room Tip: Busy road rooms in back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Fair price, AAA, $109.99 mid-week (Wednesday-Thursday) plus $15 for taxes.

Rooms clean, small. perfect for budget traveler, cute, reefer, microwave, free parking right outside room door, hot coffee and muffins/bread in morning.

Perfect location for walkers and bicyclists.

Union Street is fun location.

Friendly front desk staff.

Great motel...Great experience in SF.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Absolutely nothing to reproach, as this Inn is exactly as it promotes itself: basic, clean, motel-style property. It was also good priced, or at least its price was good for us. We booked it because it was our first visit to San Francisco ever, and my biggest concern was about high parking cost there. So we were happy to get it with its free parking, and explored the city by walking. I think it took us about 10 minutes on foot intil we reached Russian Hhill with its dramatically steep streets and nice views over the bay. It was also good for us as drivers, because its location is convenient for first-time visitors.
The breakfast included juice, a muffin and coffe or tea. We got a room with kitchenette (a fridge, a stove, a table). although we didn't use it at all. I hope to visit San Francisco again and book something better than basic, but I can easily recommend this hotel for those who prefer to save money on accommodation and spend it rather elsewhere.

Room Tip: we receved a room on the 1st floor on the left, when looking from the hotel entrance towards its yar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Heights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Heights Inn

Address: 1555 Union Street, San Francisco, CA 94123
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Heights Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pacific Heights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Heights Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Heights Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.