We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nob Hill Motor Inn to your Saves list
Nob Hill Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1630 Pacific Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Value, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed at the Nob Hill Motor Inn for just one night, a Saturday. Arriving around 10pm, we were really pleased as we drove into the area. Very clean and interesting architecture. The Inn itself was also a pleasant surprise. The proprietors are a very nice, very helpful couple that have been managing the property for 20 years. The elevator took us up to our first-floor room (really the second if you count the garage) and I was pleasantly surprised when we opened the door and found a spacious room with a King size bed as requested. Everything was very clean and tidy. Not fancy, mind you, but not shabby either. The free Wi-Fi worked fine, the towels were better than those found in most 2-star hotels and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't have any shampoo and thought that was just a value issue but it turned out they do offer it, just our room got missed by the maid. There's a microwave and good-sized refrigerator. I am very attuned to noise and had no problems with noise from the street. Some kids running down the hall were a little bit much but that's not the hotel's fault! The location can't be beat. If you do nothing else, just wander around this fascinating little neighborhood. There are plenty of cafe's, coffee shops, drug stores, a great gourmet cheese shop a couple blocks down. The buildings are mostly two and three stories with a great variety of paint jobs and architectural details. If you're driving a large vehicle you may have a problem parking, but the managers are helpful with that too. We highly recommend this hotel to budget travelers who understand it's not the Hilton but it's not a Motel 6 either.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    244
    69
    28
    31
See reviews for
127
168
19
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

What a fantastic little place :) The parking is superbly located under the hotel. Loads of space available while we were there. Very, very friendly managers who gave us clear and comprehensive directions to all the sights. It is right in the centre of San Fran within easy walking distance of some excellent restaurants and the cable car too. Our room was exceptionally spacious... 2 queen size beds and a sofa bed that converted into a very comfortable full size single. There was FREE wifi, a fridge, microwave, coffee machine, table and chairs and a dressing table in the room too!!(even an ironing board and iron in the closet.) The large bathroom had a bath & shower over, loads of lovely hot water, hair dryer and complementary toiletries. Rooms were cleaned every day. Breakfast was a fabulous assortment of fruit & fresh pastries served in the foyer ... guests simply take a tray and their choice back to their room... wonderful. This is a fantastic inn.. would recommend it to those who wish for value for money, central location and don't need to be waited on hand and foot :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Nob Hill Motor Inn suited us perfectly, we were travelling with our 2 teenagers (aged 14 & 17) and had the Jnr Suite for our 6 night stay in San Francisco - we could not have hoped for a better location - a really large room with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed plus fridge and microwave - spotlessly clean. The coffee, tea, fruit and cakes for breakfast was plentiful & really welcome. WiFi internet was fast & faultless. Nob Hill Motor Inn is perfectly situated for everything San Francisco, loads of local restaurants and coffee shops, plus lovely launderette where the chinese owner jumped up when we entered and offered to do our wash and return it to the Nob Inn dried within the hour for $8, to good an offer to turn down. Is a 20 minute walk down to pier 39 and Fishermans Wharf (35-40 mins back up!) 10 mins to China Town and 20 Mins to Union Square - we walked everywhere and would definately recommend it for the sites and sounds. San Francisco is a really safe city - not once did we feel uncomfortable (although Frank did point out the areas to avoid at night). Would recommend the Alcatraz night tour (book early as can be sold out up to a week in advance, and the California Science Academy in Golden Gate Park - has a great aquarium that knocks spots off the Aquarium of the Bay on pier 39 and is just a little more for a whole days entertainment including a planetarium. A brilliant trip and brilliant motel would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed three nights here during our four week trip through the US. It was a hidden gem and we found it through bookit.com at a great price - but still would've been happy had we paid full price!
The location is great - a short walk uphill to the Hyde cable car (tip - buy a metro pass from the Holiday Inn on Van Ness Ave - cable car rides are $5USD EACH, each time you get on.. we paid $17 for 3 days transport) and the area surrounding had plenty of great restaurants. With walking, we could be at the Fishermans Market in around 20 mins. The free onsite parking was a big drawcard for us and whilst tight - our Ford Escape fit in okay. Thelocation-w hilst central and near to everything we needed, was very quite.
Frank and Judy were the best hosts - Frank provided us with a map that he annotated everything on from places to stay away from at night - to great food and shopping.
You simply don't need to pay $200 -$300 a night at a big hotel in San Fran - just stay here! Each morning they put on a free continental breakfast of pastiries and muffins that would've sent anyone into sugar overload! Free tea, coffe and hot chocolate too. You could come down and take some back to your room, or grab it to go as you headed out the door. There was also free wireless internet that worked faultlessly.
The room itself was clean and huge, with a king size bed. There is no room safe, but plenty of storage space and a fridge to use (the only one we had in 4 weeks!) and a microwave. The bathroom was older, but still clean and the linen was beautiful.
The only drawbacks were the lack of guest laundry (mind you the staff were so nice, they probably would've let me use the linen laundry they had if I'd asked!!) and the noise from the floor above - which really wasn't that bad. But it is a two story place and we were on the lower floor. Ask for a room on the top floor and this probably won't be an issue.
If we ever go back to San Fran - and we hope to - we will stay here again without question.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We would definetly stay again! Rooms were clean, parking was free and in sight. We found great breakfast and lunch places a block or two away in a little neighborhood shopping area. It was two blocks to the cable car Hyde street line and two blocks to the public transportation. We picked up a map at the hotel and off we went on our adventure! A great place to stay for the price. Area seemed safe at all hours we left and came back. Parking was a little small, but our Highlander fit just fine. They had coffee, donuts and hot cocoa much of the day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I was extremely impressed with Nob Hill Motor Inn. From the moment I arrived, the staff were helpful and friendly- providing me with maps, directions, and tips on where to eat. I was traveling on my own from a much smaller city and expected to feel overwhelmed, but this feeling dissipated within minutes of arriving. The room I was given was surprisingly roomy, and I could not believe how quiet the night I spent was- given that it was a busy motel in the middle of a big city. The biggest bonus was the very affordable price tag for such a nice place. I would definitely stay here upon returning to SF, and would recommend it to anyone else as well.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

Great location, friendly service, clean rooms. Free parking a huge win. Loved my stay here, the only downside was as others said, the movements in the rooms above and beside were fairly audible. Bearably so, but slightly annoying. Free wifi was excellent! Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nob Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nob Hill Motor Inn

Address: 1630 Pacific Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Nob Hill Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nob Hill Motor Inn is a wonderful hotel in the trendy and popular Nob Hill neighborhood of San Francisco. Our hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco, within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, the Cable Cars, "Crookedest Street," Chinatown, and a number of fine restaurants and shops. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Each room is spacious, newly renovated and appointed with convenient amenities such as mini-refrigerator and microwave, cable TV with HBO, and complimentary in-room coffee. All of our rooms and hallways are 100% non-smoking.The Nob Hill Motor Inn's newly renovated rooms include: FREE covered parking, 2 room family suites available, In-room microwave and fridge, FREE wireless Internet, FREE continental breakfast, 100% non-smoking rooms, Elevator access to all floors, Cable TV with HBO, Direct dial phones with dataport, Complimentary in-room coffee, Free tour pickup, Complimentary coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate served all day in our lobby. The Nob Hill Motor Inn is an award winning member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nob Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nob Hill Motor Hotel San Francisco
Nob Hill Motel
Nob Hill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nob Hill Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.