We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Convenient place to sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nob Hill Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nob Hill Motor Inn to your Saves list
Nob Hill Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1630 Pacific Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109 (Nob Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean & Convenient place to sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nothing fancy, but great location, FREE parking, which is REALLY hard to find in SF, free wifi, Clean and nice rooms! For breakfast you should go somewhere else thou :D Its just a place to sleep. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    246
    69
    28
    31
See reviews for
127
168
21
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been looking for a good hotel in san Francisco ,my first priority was the location ,this hotel is in the very good location near to fisherman's wharf near the dining places ,I walked to most of the places ,hotel it self was very clean ,staff where very helpful ,room was clean and big enough for me ,my room was in second floor and it was not to noisy. Breakfast was OK ,enough for me to start a day .I can say it was a pleasant stay and I will come back to here if I come to san Francisco again .

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice and very good place, strategic placement! Clean and big space. Very tasty breakfast from front desk to room! Quiet place but very close to city center!!!
Nice people on the front desk, good cleaning service!
Very very very very very very very good!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you are looking for a decent room in a great location for a terrific price, then Nob Hill Motor Inn is for you. And if you have a car, parking is included. We kept our rental parked and took buses when we were in the city and still had the flexibility to take day trips on our own. The surrounding area is nice and rooms are clean but don't expect luxury. It was perfect for us and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me qualify in the beginning – this is good value for money if you have your own vehicle, because they provide free parking (means its included in the price). So this is a transit hotel of sorts. My husband and I stayed here for one night and found this place to be in a good location and reasonably priced compared to the other properties in the area. The hotel is average and so are the rooms, which are quite big btw. There is no room service, which is fine, and the breakfast spread is fine. I would have given it an additional star if we had come with our own vehicle !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Really can't fault the location of this place. It's less than 1 minute's walk from Polk St for all the nightlife, 10 minutes walk from the tram stop and about a 15 minute walk to China Town or Lombard Street. Perfect.

It's clean enough for most people (bar the real picky ones that probably shouldn't be staying in a budget motel) although a little noisy. Also the internet really really sucks, my laptop lost connection every 30 seconds (that is when it even could connect) so had to go to a nearby coffee shop for WiFi. For a city hotel that's pretty bad.

Anyway, all of the staff were lovely and helpful, really welcoming. Breakfast is served in the reception with no tables, so be prepared to eat in your room. Plenty of free parking, good for the money.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redland City, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stayed four nights at the Nobb Hill Motor Inn. We picked here because we had a hire car to park. The staff were friendly and very helpful with local knowledge.
The room (218) was next to the elevator but we never heard it. Was not an issue. Our room was clean and serviced everyday by the friendly house maids. Older style rooms.
Location was great. Polk Street, a 2 minute walk, has many bars and cafe's. It was about a 30 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf. We ended up getting a Clipper card to use public transport as some of the hills around there are very steep.
I would recommend Nobb Hill Motor Inn as an option in San Francisco.

Room Tip: We had room 218 and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nob Hill Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nob Hill Motor Inn

Address: 1630 Pacific Ave, San Francisco, CA 94109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Nob Hill Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nob Hill Motor Inn is a wonderful hotel in the trendy and popular Nob Hill neighborhood of San Francisco. Our hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco, within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, the Cable Cars, "Crookedest Street," Chinatown, and a number of fine restaurants and shops. FREE PARKING is available for all of our guests. Each room is spacious, newly renovated and appointed with convenient amenities such as mini-refrigerator and microwave, cable TV with HBO, and complimentary in-room coffee. All of our rooms and hallways are 100% non-smoking.The Nob Hill Motor Inn's newly renovated rooms include: FREE covered parking, 2 room family suites available, In-room microwave and fridge, FREE wireless Internet, FREE continental breakfast, 100% non-smoking rooms, Elevator access to all floors, Cable TV with HBO, Direct dial phones with dataport, Complimentary in-room coffee, Free tour pickup, Complimentary coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate served all day in our lobby. The Nob Hill Motor Inn is an award winning member of AAA and the San Francisco Convention and Visitor's Bureau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nob Hill Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nob Hill Motor Hotel San Francisco
Nob Hill Motel
Nob Hill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nob Hill Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.