We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Room + Perfect Union Square Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Abri to your Saves list
Hotel Abri
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Special
Ranked #49 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Groton, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Room + Perfect Union Square Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I found this gem on Tripadvisor and made a last minute reservation for 2 nights in SF at the end of a CA vacation. With a teenage son, I always try to find a suite if not too expensive. We booked the Urban Suite, which was comparable in price to single rooms in other area hotels. It was modern and comfortable with plenty of space to spread out. Although the "view" outside windows was of a roof and other walls, I appreciated being able to open windows for fresh air. The hotel is 2 blocks from Union Sq., 1 block from Market St and Cable Cars, and a walk into China town for dinner was easy. The staff was top notch too. So happy we found this place, as we will definitely return when visiting San Francisco again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    343
    76
    18
    17
See reviews for
112
334
76
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a good time in this little boutique hotel. The room was very cozy for 2 people but it has all we needed - comfy bed and clean bathroom! The decor is nice and trendy. What we didn't expect was that the room smelled little strange, like old wood. Perhaps it was because the building is quite old. The air conditioning unit (sit in a window type) was a little loud as well. The location was perfect with all shops and restaurants just a few steps away. We enjoyed our stay quite a bit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces away from the street if you prefer quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Abri. We arrived very early expecting to drop our bags and return later to check in. It was a pleasant surprise to have a room ready. It was, however, a street-facing room (although I was assured that it wasn't on the same street as the nightclub). I accepted this knowing that I could change rooms the next day if it was noisy. This gave me the opportunity to check out two different rooms when we did change.

Noise - street facing rooms are going to be very noisy. Period. The A/C units are all window units so no amount of double-glazing (although I don't think the Abri has this) is going to keep the noise out. We were awakened at 2am by what appeared to be a restaurant or bar throwing glass bottles into a dumpster for 20 minutes straight. I changed rooms to an interior room and the noise was drastically reduced. You won't have a view but if noise is an issue this is the way to go.

Smell - our 1st street facing room smelled normal. The 2nd interior room had a strong sewer smell that we noticed every time we entered but then quickly got used to.

Bed are as comfortable as everyone said.

Bathrooms - not much privacy. They have a large glass panel in the center of the door. In our first room it prevented you from looking into the bathroom and seeing much. In our second room the panel seemed to be reversed and you could see everything going on in the bathroom quite clearly while you couldn't look out into the room. There are no vent fans in the bathroom, either, so you are really going to have everything on display. The sink in the first bathroom was a pedestal and there was literally nowhere to put cosmetics or other items as you were getting ready. Annoying. The 2nd bathroom had a huge beautiful countertop.

Space - we upgraded to an Urban Suite knowing we were staying for almost a week. It was wonderful. I'd seen other reviews out here saying that the Urban Suites are tiny and I can assure you they are not. We had a great sitting area with a large LCD TV, mini fridge, desk, couch, coffee maker. It was perfect. The bedroom was also large as it had a king-sized bed, chaise lounge, another large LCD TV, great drawer space, a full closet and plenty of room to walk around. I did not see any of the standard rooms but if space is a concern go for an Urban Suite.

Wifi (the free Wifi) is SLOW. You are only allowed to use computers in the "business center" for printing boarding passes otherwise you have to pay.

Service - the front desk staff were all wonderful! Very friendly and accommodating through check-in, check-out and our room swap. Maid service was great except for the one day that I was horrified to realize that we'd forgotten to leave a tip. We got back to the hotel as the maid was in the hallway finishing another room. It hit me that I hadn't left a tip and we rushed to the room to grab some money to give to her. Boy oh boy was there a difference in the condition of our room versus the days where I'd left the tip out. Towels hadn't been changed out, the coffee supplies weren't replenished, the bed wasn't fully made. It was a poor job and was quite obvious that we'd been punished. That's a shame. I saved the $5 for the person who had to deliver clean towels and coffee instead of giving it to her.

Location - 1 block from the BART, Muni and cable car stations. Couldn't be more perfect as a base for exploring SF. It was so easy to get to the hotel from the airport as well (via BART) and likely saved us $40 or so each way. There is a very large Walgreens 1.5 blocks away that had a semi-grocery section. We were able to stock up on bottled water, wine, snacks and protein bars for breakfast as well as use the Redbox kiosk to have a movie for our one early, quiet night. It was great.

The attached restaurant Puccini and Pinetti is wonderful and they have a fabulous happy hour. I loved having such a great place right there.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel and would happily stay there again if I return to SF.

Room Tip: Interior room if noise is an issue, upgrade to an Urban or Oasis Suite if you want to have great spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had a very nice stay at Hotel Abri. The staff was genuinely welcoming and very helpful and I was upgraded to a suite, which was a nice surprise. The lobby feels very modern and the room has nice updated furnishings (apart from a slightly worn couch), but it still has the vaguely musty smell of an old NYC apt. and feels a little old, perhaps because of the older real wooden doors and big windows (which actually gives it more charm).

As others have mentioned, the free wifi was iffy, the bed was VERY comfortable, and having a courtyard room made it nice and quiet. The location is fantastic, especially for tourists interested in riding the cable car, or anyone who wants to be close to the very convenient Powell St. station, Union Sq. shopping, or SOMA area.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My experience here was very positive. The front desk staff are attentive and friendly, the rooms are clean (with new appliances such as a large 40"+ TV) and the beds are comfortable.

It was also a value conscious choice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

From the amazing reviews, we were definitely expecting more than we got. The small room, with no amenities, could have been found at the motel 6 for a much better price. There was, however, nothing terribly wrong with this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscdove, Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Zachary W.-

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review of Hotel AbRi. We greatly value your feedback and the comments are guests have regarding their stay with us. The entire Team is always very interested in improving the quality of the service we provide. I am sorry that the room size was small however for future reference we do have a wide selection of rooms include a large percentage of suites. I am also so sorry that you had missed an opportunity to familiarize yourself with our guest room amenities. Just a short list of some of them include; a selection interestingly sourced local magazines to familiarize our guests with the Bay Area, two deluxe plush bathrobes, luxurious 300 plus count bed linens, all day in room dining available from our fantastic Puccini and Pinetti restaurant, Voss Water available in each guest room, a wide selection of tech amenities from our "Tech Menu", complimentary in room high speed Wi-Fi service, complimentary in room coffee, and others, just to name a few. Zachary, we do look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel AbRi sometime in the future.

With best regards,
Chris Dove
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilden, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are still pinching ourselves over finding this gem, so close to the business we had to do and all the wonderful amenities of the city. The staff was so helpful and room was delightful. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room at the back was quieter..no view for sure, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco’s Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel’s energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, as part of the Larkspur Collection, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including the FeatherBorne® Bed package, L’Occitane bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TIG Global, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;