We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Abri to your Saves list
Hotel Abri
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Special
Ranked #43 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

From the amazing reviews, we were definitely expecting more than we got. The small room, with no amenities, could have been found at the motel 6 for a much better price. There was, however, nothing terribly wrong with this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscdove, Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Zachary W.-

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review of Hotel AbRi. We greatly value your feedback and the comments are guests have regarding their stay with us. The entire Team is always very interested in improving the quality of the service we provide. I am sorry that the room size was small however for future reference we do have a wide selection of rooms include a large percentage of suites. I am also so sorry that you had missed an opportunity to familiarize yourself with our guest room amenities. Just a short list of some of them include; a selection interestingly sourced local magazines to familiarize our guests with the Bay Area, two deluxe plush bathrobes, luxurious 300 plus count bed linens, all day in room dining available from our fantastic Puccini and Pinetti restaurant, Voss Water available in each guest room, a wide selection of tech amenities from our "Tech Menu", complimentary in room high speed Wi-Fi service, complimentary in room coffee, and others, just to name a few. Zachary, we do look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel AbRi sometime in the future.

With best regards,
Chris Dove
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    405
    102
    23
    21
See reviews for
141
390
92
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tilden, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We are still pinching ourselves over finding this gem, so close to the business we had to do and all the wonderful amenities of the city. The staff was so helpful and room was delightful. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room at the back was quieter..no view for sure, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We arrived early at the hotel and our room was ready which is always a bonus. The hotel is in a fantastic location! Just 1 block from Union Square and a short walk to the cable cars and Market street. The hotel is in an old building but has been fully renovated and was modern, welcoming and trendy. The staff at the front desk were very helpful, offering us a map with directions to the cable car so we could get down to Fisherman's Wharf and a complimentary drink at the neighboring bar.

The only negative about the hotel was the size of the room... I even called down to the front desk to make sure we had the right room as it was very, very small! I expected something a little larger... The room barely fit a queen size bed (an Australian double) and a chaise lounge. The bathroom was also very small with very little bench space, definitely not room enough for 2 people in there at the same time. If you've ever stayed in a Parisian hotel, this is what you should expect.

We were only in the city for a short time and hardly spent any time in the room as there is so much to see in the city so it didn't affect our time there in a negative way at all.

Advice when booking - book one of the more expensive rooms for the much needed addition space.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a couple definitely choose a more expensive room for the additional space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in San Francisco and we chose to stay in the Union Square area so we picked Hotel Abri based on Trip Advisor reviews. The lobby was very nice, trendy. Had iPads on the wall to use to search for restaurants and things to do, very nice touch!
We got upgraded to an oasis suite which was very nice, way more room than the two of us needed. There was a nice sized living room, bathroom and bedroom.
The one negative I had with the hotel was the complimentary wifi, it was really bad. Had to pay $6 to use a better wifi which was still pretty bad. For $300/night I expected much better.
The cable car turnaround was only one block away - was great when we were heading up to Fisherman's Wharf.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you want a great location in San Francisco, stay at the Hotel Abri. Everything is close by - shopping, Chinatown, Union Square, the BART, cable cars, etc. We had a rental car with us that we didn't need in San Francisco, and had the Valet take it overnight for $40. The front desk staff were very helpful and very friendly. Our room was incredibly clean. We stayed in a King Suite and loved it (albeit we spend way more time exploring the city).

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor, corner room, King Suite. It was an amazing room with a separate king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

First off, the location of this hotel is awesome. A block off the famous cable cars & easy access to BART & MUNI makes this spot great as a base for touring the city. Walking distance to Chinatown, Union Square, Nob Hill, good restaurants,& more.

Hotel Abri is in an older building which gives it charm but also means a smaller hotel room. I had read reviews about noise so I requested a quiet room. We were given an interior room on the 4th floor that had a window out to an interior atrium. Basically you only look out at other windows but at least it was quiet & allowed for sunlight in the room. The bed was comfortable with a good shower & bathroom setup. The only negative was the musty odor that almost knocked us over when we first entered. We had a window AC unit running with the window open which helped clear the smell but if you are bothered by that, keep it in mind. Another nice plus at check in was a coupon for a complimentary glass of champagne from the restaurant bar. There was always a crowd at the restaurant so it makes a nice option for business travelers to have a good meal close to their hotel. I would definitely return. Nice option with a reasonable cost at a great location.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quiet while you still get a window to open & brighten your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed for 3 days to attend a conference at Moscone South. Location is awesome. Few minutes walk from the convention center.

Although many reviewers complained of the street noise, staying at the higher floors on the side street (Cyril Magnin St), I did not have any issue. Some minimal street noise from emergency vehicles was present, but bed was very comfortable and I slept well even with moderate jet lag after 15 hour flight.

Room was small, but renovated with nice cozy decor.

Lots of eating choices around it, Westfield shopping center right across the street. The downstairs restaurant Puccini & Pinetti was great with very efficient and and extremely nice bartender.

Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#10 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,188 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#8 of 234 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#69 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel G San Francisco
Hotel G San Francisco
#56 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#82 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#62 of 234 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#38 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco’s Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel’s energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, as part of the Larkspur Collection, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including the FeatherBorne® Bed package, L’Occitane bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TIG Global, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.