We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice escape from the mega hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Abri to your Saves list
Hotel Abri
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Special
Ranked #45 of 237 Hotels in San Francisco
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice escape from the mega hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here during a conference being held at the mega hotel Hilton up the block from Abri. Glad I chose the Abri, medium sized, clean hotel in a Union Square central location. My room was small but perfectly formed and the walk-in shower was powerful. My room had a strange smell to it during my stay which meant I had to have the window open most of the time for fresh air. Ask for an inner room to avoid noise from the busy street outside.

I visited SF about 5 years ago so was shocked at the amount of homeless people everywhere this time round. Every street corner was filled with people begging so be prepared to have your dollar bills ready.

Breakfast downstairs in the restaurant was good. Great shopping near by. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    345
    76
    18
    17
See reviews for
112
335
77
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed there over a weekend and there's a club across the street that is very noisy well into the night and early morning. My windows were closed, but it was so noisy I would have sworn they were open. On my last night, a Sunday, it was quiet. I'd recommend getting a room on the other side of the hotel if it's a Friday or Saturday.

Other than that one shortcoming, I was very happy with the hotel. It's an excellent location, especially for proximity to Moscone. The room was a good size, the bathroom was very big and offered lots of counter space and shelving. Bathroom lighting was good, but I could have used more light while shaving.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the lobby is well-appointed and makes a great first impression. There's a good restaurant attached to the hotel, and lots of other choices nearby.

Considering SF prices, I thought the hotel was a very good value.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the front of the hotel on a Friday or Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Met a friend here after our first choice hotel was booked. This has a modern vibe, is located near enough to Union Square and has a friendly staff. Rooms and bathrooms are smallish and face courtyard. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hotel's location is in the middle of it all. Right next to union square where you can access all the shops, but at the same time far away enough from the crowds. Had an interior room so no issues with noise. Rooms were kind of small but the building is obviously older and that can be expected in the city. Bed was very comfortable tho. Enjoyed the modern feel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a very nice find for us. Spent 3 days in the city and wanted to be close to Union Square. It was very clean and well decorated. The rates for being in the city were very reasonable.We stayed in a an interior room to avoid any street noise. The little Italian restaurant restaurant right below the hotel was nice, the bartender in the evening was funny and enjoyable. We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in an interior room away from the street to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Abri for 4 nights in April this year. The hotel has a lovely warm atmosphere and a style that blends its age with contemporary features. The lobby has ipads for guest use, an open fire and easy access to the bar/restaurant next door. I found the staff to be incredibly helpful; Eddie in particular, went out of his way to make sure I was comfortably accommodated. When I asked to change rooms due to the smell from the bread baking next door, the staff were exceptionally understanding and relocated me quickly. I booked a King suite and the extra space was great. The room featured a sitting area with TV, desk and couch and a separate bedroom and bathroom. There was plenty of space for storage of my bags (I did a lot of shopping) and the bed was really comfy. I was located at the back of the hotel so the room was very quiet. The location of the hotel is great for access to transport, a short walk to Union Square and close to shops and SFMOMA, (I certainly made the most of the tempting proximity of a Sephora store just around the corner)! I would definitely recommend Hotel Abri; I liked the charm of its age and the discreet but friendly attention of the staff. My only disappointment was the busy bar next door - it was very hard to get a seat/table so I was turned away a few times during my stay and as I was travelling alone, this was a bit frustrating for me. However it meant that I had to venture further afield so not all bad.
Overall a really good choice for accommodation in San Fran.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Abri exceeded my expectations in every front. Although with only a small modest entrance which does not command as much attention as the Marriott or the Westin, you will be welcomed by a tastefully decorated foyer with a warm, modern fireplace, hip lounge music and a friendly smile at reception.

The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. Note - If you are a light sleeper I advise against a street facing room as it will be noisy on the weekend. Ask for one of their quieter rooms instead.



  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco’s Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel’s energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, as part of the Larkspur Collection, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including the FeatherBorne® Bed package, L’Occitane bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TIG Global, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.