We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Awesome Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Abri
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Special
Ranked #44 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Hotel and Awesome Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our first time to San Francisco and the hotel was great and the staff are awesome. The rooms are small but well laid out and the beds are very comfortable. If you go and don’t know what to do, be sure to get Kali, the Concierge, to help you out with recommendations. She was extremely helpful and booked us a great wine tour and provided excellent recommendations for restaurants and things to do around the City. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    331
    72
    17
    17
See reviews for
103
323
76
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

First of all I am in the hospitality business. I work front desk for a hotel on Maui. With that said i have to say I am very impressed with Hotel Abri. The staff is great they have and super clean rooms. Love the coffee in the lobby early because I had a 7am flight and needed it desperately at 5:30am. Rooms are very clean and have all you could want. I was on second floor facing Ellis and didn't hear any traffic noise at all. The location couldn't be better for all us shopping addicts. One block from the Westfield mall and tons of choices for dinning within walking distance. The restaurant Puccini & Pinetti which is connected to the hotel is fantastic as well. Great service and fantastic oysters!! I will be back when I return to San Francisco.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Good small hotel, great location, rooms were clean. But try to get a room higher up, away from the street noise - the nightclub across the street can get quite noisy later at night, just when you really want to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel has the greatest downtown location. Walking distance to so many things. It was an older hotel but updated very nicely. The reception area was nice, and the staff very helpful. I would stay here again. The only thing I thought was that maid service was not very good. Being in the hospitality industry I am very aware of the little things, blankets left on the floor, a poorly made bed, well, I can get over it, but really the maids could have done better.

Over all a good stay. Great restaurant next door.

Room Tip: I recommend an interior room if you like quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I came back to DC last night after 4 day stay in Hotel Abri. Like a previous reviewer, I booked this hotel based solely on its 4.5 score in Tripadvisor. Guess what - I wasn't disappointed, I was positively impressed instead.
First and foremost, it is one of the cleanest hotels in San Francisco. We stayed in a room with two double beds and it was of a decent size for SanFran. While booking a room, make sure its windows face a backyard -- this eliminates 90% of noise. In fact, I was surprised with how quiet it was during the night although our stay included Sat and Sun. The room and the bathroom were extremely clean and maids did great job every day. Looks like the hotel was recently renovated, the rooms and the lobby look modern and chic.
Second, the location is unbeatable yet safe! It is located in the heart of the city - the Union Square is a couple of blocks away; Powell street BART and cable car stations are a block away; Market Street is just around the corner. An access to public transportation can not be beat - buses, cable cars, street cars, BART, MUNI, - you name it. Plus, a pleasant 5 min stroll to Yerba Buena Gardens (and museums!!!); 20 min walk to Ferry Building and Embarcadero; a short promenade to China Town... not even mentioning that the hotel is in the midst of great shopping area! There are at least 3-4 Walgreens nearby and the Whole Foods is literally 4-5 blocks away (go South on the 4th St). Btw, there is a minifridge and a coffeemaker in the room which compensates an absence of the breakfast. In addition, there are plenty of various cafes and restaurants around. Try cafes in Metreon -- all of them are excellent!
Last but not least. Service in this hotel is simply incredible. Everyone treats you as a desirable and valuable guest.
I definitely look forward to staying in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I noticed that this hotel has most of good and excellent reviews so my wife and I decided to stay here and give it a try, and let me say this: all the positive reviews were true.

The best of this hotel is its location, it is right in the financial district of San Francisco, and just down the street there’s the Market and Powell station that connects you basically everywhere in SF or outside using the BART trains. Right in the corner you can also take the Powell and Hyde cable car that takes you to Fisherman’s Wharf, Chinatown and Lombard Street.

Now the hotel is really nice and classy for the price, the rooms are a bit small but I guess that’s common in San Francisco. Beds are really comfortable and they even have large LCD screens that let you connect every possible device to them. The bathroom looked recently renovated; it was clean, modern style and there was not a single spot or anything showing deterioration at all.

The staff was also very friendly and helpful, so overall it was a great hotel, and when we go back to San Francisco, we will definitely stay in Abri again.

If you’re going to San Francisco as a tourist, I would recommend you to buy the CityPass, it gives you access to most attractions and most importantly, it covers all your transportation needs within SF. Paying buses and cable cars separately could be expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nicely remodelled hotel in the heart of Union Square. King bed was extremely comfortable, staff very helpful, restaurant adjoining excellent and very accommodating for kids food, very close to all transit and shopping. Bring earplugs to any San Fran hotel as there is lots of street noise at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco’s Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel’s energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, as part of the Larkspur Collection, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including the FeatherBorne® Bed package, L’Occitane bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.