We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Abri
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Special
Ranked #46 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
San Mateo, CA
1 review
“Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A quick Saturday night escape to the city from our home on the Peninsula. The room was nice, clean, and bigger than expected. Updated and very cozy. Very comfortable bed. Our only complaint was a mild foul smell in the room that either diminished when we opened the window or we got used to it.

We were not pleased with the amount of time we had to wait for our car to be delivered to us on the Sunday morning when we checked out. We waited 45 minutes - way too long for paying $35 -and it definitely impacted our plans. We were glad we didn't have reservations somewhere for brunch. Next time we will self park in another nearby garage for the same or less $$.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Walk4Chocolate-

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I’m glad that you enjoyed the room and the staff. I’m glad that we were able to upgrade you to one of our Urban Suites as you are a preferred corporate traveler thru Ebay! I’m sorry that you had an issue with an odor in your suite but am glad that it dissipated. Waiting for your car for 45 minutes is too long, I agree and that is why I have refunded you for the valet parking charge. We use a third party company for our valet parking, and they do a great job for us, but sometimes there are challenging times with lots of demand and traffic issues (Sunday morning, shopping season, garage 3 blocks from the hotel) and it is difficult for them to maintain their standards. Regardless, I agree that this is too long so you will find a credit to your account.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hotel Abri very soon!

Yours in hospitality-

Rob Brehant, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    335
    74
    17
    17
See reviews for
105
326
76
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I spent Monday night at the Hotel Abri and was very pleased with the experience. It's very conveniently located, and the staff was friendly and helpful. They have a set of tablet computers in the lobby available to all guests loaded with great apps to help explore the city or just surf the internet. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. Connected to the hotel was a restaurant that has happy hour all night on Mondays and Tuesdays, and the food was good too. I'll stay at Hotel Abri again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Dylan D,
Thank you very much for such a great response! We very recently installed the new iPad wall in our lobby and I am delighted that you were able to make good use of them. It is a beautiful art installation, and is also highly functional! We hope to welcome you back soon for more tech fun in the lobby and delicious food and drink at Puccini and Pinetti!

Yours in hospitality,
Rob Brehant, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrance,ca
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After getting a great rate at HT, we stayed at Hotel Abri on a busy, rainy Friday night. Large urban suite, nice remodeled bathroom, coffee maker, 2 big TVs and plush robes! The only minus is because it is an old building, the noise is bad. Will return again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear W.O.F.,
I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We are proud to provide a comfortable, cozy, and hip home away from home for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Abri soon and hope to bring out the sunshine for your return!

Yours in hospitality,
Rob Brehant, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day stay at the Hotel Abri. Location is perfect, walking distince to everything near Union Square. My husband was at a conference at a nearby hotel, where the rooms were $400/night, and no room for our daughter. Here we had a suite with a king and sofabed for my 17 yo daughter, she had no complaints and the room was even separated by a door. Much cheaper! Two huge flatscreen tvs (although we were too busy to watch) and a small fridge. Really clean and nicely decorated. Super friendly staff. Only bummer was the parking, $35/night, and 3 blocks away, so if you forgot something in your car, too bad! We thought it was quiet except for the vacuuming was a little early (9am) on a weekend morning. Would stay here again. Let us check in early.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Abri Hotel for 5 nights and it was worth every penny. The location is excellent; near Union Square and all the major transportation hubs. The room was very clean, modern, quiet and comfortable. And the staff was outstanding! At the end of our stay our flight was cancelled and we had to stay one more night. Even though they did not have rooms available the front desk staff found us another hotel a block away and even negotiated a better rate for us. This is now my favorite hotel in SF.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff at this hotel is amazing. I always call ahead to get early check in and then never ever get it at any hotel but when we arrived (before noon I think) they had noted our early arrival and had our rooms all set for us.
They were friendly and helpful with directions as well.
Rooms were clean. Complimentary water (in addition to water you have to pay $4 for...the sign is really hard to read so make sure you are aware).
Great location...really can't beat the location. I had no noise issues.
Price was amazing. I think for a suite it was $250/night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Nadinelk-

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience here at the Abri! I am glad that we were able to accomodate your early arrival request and I'm glad you found my team so hospitable. I have an amazing team and we all take great pride in our hotel and the amazing city that we are hosts to. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Abri when your travels return you to San Francisco!

Yours in hospitality-

Rob Brehant, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was nice and it was in a great location. Our room experienced a little outside noise due to the restaurant below, but the hotel staff was very apologetic. The train station and trolley is right around the corner. They don't give very good written directions if you want them, they tell you where something is and you just hope you don't forget what they said. Overall, very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Shoney75,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are always excited and eager to make recommendations for guests when exploring the city, but I do apologize for the lack of written directions throughout your excursions. I have shared your experience with our staff and we will make sure to be as thorough as possible in the future. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Abri when your travels return you to the vibrant city of San Francisco!

Yours in hospitality,

Rob Brehant, General Manager, on behalf of the entire Abri Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#48 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#49 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco’s Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel’s energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, as part of the Larkspur Collection, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including the FeatherBorne® Bed package, L’Occitane bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TIG Global, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.