We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels in SF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Abri
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Purchase Special
Ranked #43 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels in SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Abri Hotel for 5 nights and it was worth every penny. The location is excellent; near Union Square and all the major transportation hubs. The room was very clean, modern, quiet and comfortable. And the staff was outstanding! At the end of our stay our flight was cancelled and we had to stay one more night. Even though they did not have rooms available the front desk staff found us another hotel a block away and even negotiated a better rate for us. This is now my favorite hotel in SF.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    362
    337
    74
    18
    17
See reviews for
108
328
76
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The staff at this hotel is amazing. I always call ahead to get early check in and then never ever get it at any hotel but when we arrived (before noon I think) they had noted our early arrival and had our rooms all set for us.
They were friendly and helpful with directions as well.
Rooms were clean. Complimentary water (in addition to water you have to pay $4 for...the sign is really hard to read so make sure you are aware).
Great location...really can't beat the location. I had no noise issues.
Price was amazing. I think for a suite it was $250/night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Nadinelk-

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great experience here at the Abri! I am glad that we were able to accomodate your early arrival request and I'm glad you found my team so hospitable. I have an amazing team and we all take great pride in our hotel and the amazing city that we are hosts to. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Abri when your travels return you to San Francisco!

Yours in hospitality-

Rob Brehant, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was nice and it was in a great location. Our room experienced a little outside noise due to the restaurant below, but the hotel staff was very apologetic. The train station and trolley is right around the corner. They don't give very good written directions if you want them, they tell you where something is and you just hope you don't forget what they said. Overall, very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobBrehant, General Manager at Hotel Abri, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Shoney75,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are always excited and eager to make recommendations for guests when exploring the city, but I do apologize for the lack of written directions throughout your excursions. I have shared your experience with our staff and we will make sure to be as thorough as possible in the future. We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel Abri when your travels return you to the vibrant city of San Francisco!

Yours in hospitality,

Rob Brehant, General Manager, on behalf of the entire Abri Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nice boutique hotel a block from Market street, BART, MUNI and union station. Quiet room. No street noises! Bed and linens very high quality. Room pretty big for the city. The only reason it's not a 5 was there is no gym and they make you pay to 15 for a pass to a gym down the road. No kids around. Business and couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We had requested a quiet room near our friends. We were given a tiny room right over the front door, and three floors away from our friends. Very loud car, trolley, sirens, and people yelling all night. Even wearing earplugs it was a long night. They were very nice at the front desk and moved us to another room while we were away for the day. We came back to an even smaller room now only one floor away from our friends. We just had to laugh, afraid that if we complained we would end up in a birdhouse! It was much more quiet as we only had a tiny window facing inside but the room was so small that we had to take turns walking around the bed. Our friends had huge room with a table, chairs, chaise for luggage. We had one chair and we were paying the same rate! What is up with this!? The staff was nice but I think we'll look around next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband, 4 year old, and I stayed at the Hotel Abri from Oct 11-14, 2012. The staff at this hotel were beyond 5 star with their service. They were helpful, honest, and really went out of their way to make sure you had what you needed. My daughter was taken with Tyler at the front, in particular! Aside from the service, the boutique hotel was fine. We had an urban suite, which had ample room. The two window units kept the place cool, and the curtains kept out enough light. My only complaint, and I mean ONLY complaint, was that the bathroom door was a sliding door, did not lock, and was frosted glass. If you have kids, you know that sometimes your only solitude can come from the few moments you get in the bathroom. My daughter had a grand time putting her face up to the glass and letting us know she was well aware we were in there, and I am thankful she never realized she could actually open the door. My husband would probably say that he didn't care for the fact that sometimes during the day you could smell Subway from downstairs in our room (on the 2nd floor), but we weren't in there much, and it was minor. The hotel was very convenient to the cable car that took you to the Wharf, as well as the BART and other public transport. There was AMPLE shopping in the area too. All in all, I'd recommend this hotel, mainly to people traveling without small kids. LOL

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great hotel - loved staying here with my girlfriend. Perfect location for all of the shops and restaurants. Ideal location for jumping on the Cable Car, right next to Bart station and main bus routes. So glad stayed in the centre rather than Fisherman's Wharf.
Hotel and staff were great - just what we were after. Staff were so helpful and cheerful - anything we asked of them, they delivered. The room was great as well - although I would say that they did try to put too much furniture in our room for the size of it (no need for desk), apart form that it was clean, tidy and fresh.

Room Tip: Just ask to see the room before you sign on the dotted line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abri

Address: 127 Ellis Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abri 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Vibrant. Urban style at the center of it all in San Francisco’s Union Square. Ideal for both the leisure and business traveler, the newly transformed Hotel Abri is a modern day urban oasis featuring a sleek décor complemented by contemporary art and upscale amenities. The hotel’s energetic vibe is delightfully balanced with a comfortable ease, offering guests a unique sensorial experience and the highest levels of hospitality and service. Hotel Abri offers personalized experiences tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program. Additionally, as part of the Larkspur Collection, the hotel offers signature brand elements, including the FeatherBorne® Bed package, L’Occitane bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TIG Global, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Abri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection San Francisco
Hotel Abri Larkspur Collection

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.