We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't plan on staying in the entire trip, this hotel is for you!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mission Inn to your Saves list
Mission Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5630 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94112   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Azusa, California
1 review
“If you don't plan on staying in the entire trip, this hotel is for you!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My friend & I booked here & at first we were a little worried of the surrounding area to be honest it's not the best area. If you plan on bringing any expensive items I suggest stashing them in your trunk. But for the price & location, super close to a bus route that drops you off right at Fishermans Warf its perfect. We are young & didnt plan on taking this vacation to just sit in our rooms, just sleep. Clean.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor away from the stairway or elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    25
    16
    37
See reviews for
15
36
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

very basic motel with reasonable breakfast. it's very far from city center (about 15 km) and if you ride it by bus it can take 1.5 hours!! the owner didn't mention that there's a BART (underground train) station within a range of 15 min. walk, which makes it much easier to reach downtown (about 20 min. ride) . the neighborhood is not one of san fransisco's best, but it's quiet at evening and you don't get to see homeless people wondering around like at downtown. you can also find a supermarket, a nice chinese food, and grocery store near by.
all and all it would be better to pay more and be closer to city center.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

If you want to constantly choke on the smell of pine cleaner and surely loose a couple thousand brain cells then this is the place to stay.

We stay two regrettable nights here. It was cheap and the location on a map seemed good. When we got to the hotel we new immediately we were in for a ride. It's not in a "good" part of town at all. However it is 15 min away from most attractions. The people on the street and feel of the surrouding area not safe. We where on the second floor which I actually liked because the outdoor stair way and elevators lock with your strange room key. There is no lobby. There is a shack in the parking lot which it appears the owners live in. This is the same shack where breakfast is servered, a room about the size of a small bathroom. You don't feel safe at all leaving your car in the provided area, its very questionable. The undercover parking is a joke because the owners park there cara there and when they leave they put a cone out so you can't pull in. The rooms are somewhat clean. But smell extremely strong of cleaner, so badly that I felt ill and nauseous within minutes of walking in. There was no way i was staying with the smell the way it was, it was HORRIBLE. I went down and talked to the asin lady that had a terrible attitude and was in her pajamas. She gave me the worlds smallest fan and after leaving the room for seeral hours with the windows open and fan on I was at least manageable. During these several hours we called around to find other accommodations but the price overwhelmingly kept us from leaving this terrible place. Don't go. Spend the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Checked out this morning, had a bad experience...checked in to a grumpy man at 3 a.m after a lonnggg flight. tried to extend our check out for 30 min..management & cleaners knocked on our door 4 times to kick us out. felt harassed. I understand check out time is check out time, but this has never been a problem for us anywhere else. we were in that room for literally 8.5 hours from check in to check out, and they were being extremely rude about leaving...she came back to the door and said "my manager said she means it! U need to check out!" All of this hostility for 30 minutes....ridiculous!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I would have rather slept in the car. The first room we were given had not even attempted to have been cleaned from whoever was there before us. The second room we were given the sheets were dirty. The third room we were given, the sheets were dirty again so they changed them. Fridge didn't work. Manager was rude to me but extremely rude to my husband. I even called Expedia and they tried to get the hotel to let us check out and get a refund but the manager said no. I would have rather slept in my car under a bridge. Pictures on Expedia look like a completely different hotel. Location was horrible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Rooms are old, showers had little water pressure, hard to control cold/hot water, wall plugs not working, fridge is not working, no vent fan for toilet, staffs are not welcoming, breakfast only has 3 items (toast, coffee and OJ). All in all, it's not worth the price that you're paying for. I would only stay here again if they drop their price by 50%. Been traveling around California, and stayed in many hotels and inns, and this is the least value for money accommodation. Glad I manage to move out of this place on my last couple of nights to a better inn which has better quality and less pricey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn

Address: 5630 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94112
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mission Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.