We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the low price” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mission Inn to your Saves list
Mission Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5630 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94112   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the low price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

If you want to constantly choke on the smell of pine cleaner and surely loose a couple thousand brain cells then this is the place to stay.

We stay two regrettable nights here. It was cheap and the location on a map seemed good. When we got to the hotel we new immediately we were in for a ride. It's not in a "good" part of town at all. However it is 15 min away from most attractions. The people on the street and feel of the surrouding area not safe. We where on the second floor which I actually liked because the outdoor stair way and elevators lock with your strange room key. There is no lobby. There is a shack in the parking lot which it appears the owners live in. This is the same shack where breakfast is servered, a room about the size of a small bathroom. You don't feel safe at all leaving your car in the provided area, its very questionable. The undercover parking is a joke because the owners park there cara there and when they leave they put a cone out so you can't pull in. The rooms are somewhat clean. But smell extremely strong of cleaner, so badly that I felt ill and nauseous within minutes of walking in. There was no way i was staying with the smell the way it was, it was HORRIBLE. I went down and talked to the asin lady that had a terrible attitude and was in her pajamas. She gave me the worlds smallest fan and after leaving the room for seeral hours with the windows open and fan on I was at least manageable. During these several hours we called around to find other accommodations but the price overwhelmingly kept us from leaving this terrible place. Don't go. Spend the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    27
    16
    37
See reviews for
15
39
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Checked out this morning, had a bad experience...checked in to a grumpy man at 3 a.m after a lonnggg flight. tried to extend our check out for 30 min..management & cleaners knocked on our door 4 times to kick us out. felt harassed. I understand check out time is check out time, but this has never been a problem for us anywhere else. we were in that room for literally 8.5 hours from check in to check out, and they were being extremely rude about leaving...she came back to the door and said "my manager said she means it! U need to check out!" All of this hostility for 30 minutes....ridiculous!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I would have rather slept in the car. The first room we were given had not even attempted to have been cleaned from whoever was there before us. The second room we were given the sheets were dirty. The third room we were given, the sheets were dirty again so they changed them. Fridge didn't work. Manager was rude to me but extremely rude to my husband. I even called Expedia and they tried to get the hotel to let us check out and get a refund but the manager said no. I would have rather slept in my car under a bridge. Pictures on Expedia look like a completely different hotel. Location was horrible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Rooms are old, showers had little water pressure, hard to control cold/hot water, wall plugs not working, fridge is not working, no vent fan for toilet, staffs are not welcoming, breakfast only has 3 items (toast, coffee and OJ). All in all, it's not worth the price that you're paying for. I would only stay here again if they drop their price by 50%. Been traveling around California, and stayed in many hotels and inns, and this is the least value for money accommodation. Glad I manage to move out of this place on my last couple of nights to a better inn which has better quality and less pricey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very clean and inviting. Would definitely say here again. We got in really late due to traffic and were so thankful for the friendly staff and good service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Pictures are nothing to do with the real thing. It's an old hotel, with very old rooms and awful bathrooms. I found the shower full of pubic hairs! The "continental breakfast" is coffe, juice, and toasts. The price doesn't make any sense with the amenities and location, but unfortunately is the cheapest we found in South San Francisco with private bathroom. No fridges or microwaves in the rooms. They told us on the phone that if we wanted to get two queen beds instead of one, it was 10$ a night, and when we got there was 25.
Customer service according to everything: Really unfriendly people. Don´t try to get a smile. Probably they'll ask you for some more money for that.

Room Tip: Don't do it here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mission Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Inn

Address: 5630 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94112
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mission Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mission Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mission Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.