We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #70 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed hear on a tour for 2 nights, so I'm not sure on the pricing of the rooms. The rooms however were very nice. We had breakfast there one day and it was quite good. The staff at the hotel have to be the friendliest that I ever had at a hotel. Everyone you meet had a cheery greeting. The location was fantastic. It was close to Fisherman's wharf and Pier 39. It was also very close to both cable car stops. The one downside was that you had to pay for the wifi.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Hello Les O,

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Comments like yours always keep us happy and cheerful. I will be sure to share this with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    420
    182
    32
    18
See reviews for
238
302
27
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel is centrally located for tourists and is clean. That's about it. Rooms are average. I find it ridiculous that Marriotts charge for wifi in rooms. I don't want to go down to the lobby, particularly as this lobby was windy. Breakfast buffet average and pricey. There are basically no amenities - no sundry shop, no coffee shop, no pool, low end shampoos, lotions, etc. We only stayed here because the Fairmont was booked and wouldn't recommend it but for location. We didn't have a car (happily, b/c overnight parking was $50), but we always had difficulty getting a cab, despite its central location. As long as your expectations are for a clean bed in a good location, you will be happy with the property. Otherwise, look elsewhere. We wouldn't stay here again and I think based upon my last experience at Spring Break at another Marriott property, we're done with Marriotts.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello RhondaM,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about the cleanliness of our property and great location. Our property is indeed located right in the heart of the Fisherman’s Wharf, and within walking distance from the famous North Beach district, Chinatown, Embarcadero, and more.

Thank you also for your candid comments about the parking and the property in general. Please know that our valet parking fee is in line, if not lesser, than the average parking fee in the city. I will share your comments with our entire team as we continue to work on exceeding our guests' expectations.

We hope you will consider our property again in the future. Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance.

Best regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

While I gave this hotel an average score, the location is the best. It's close to everything that is San Francisco. From here it is a short walk to the Wharf, Pier 39 and the rest of the attractions. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. To avoid the parking fees, we turned in our car at the airport when we arrived in the city and took a cab to the hotel. You could save even more by taking a ride share van or BART. Although we had a room right on the corner of three busy streets, the traffic noise was not a problem at night and during the day we were out enjoying the beautiful city.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Oldrecruiter,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city. Thank you also for recognizing the cleanliness of our hotel and our perfect location. We are indeed very proud of how our team cares for our property.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Somehow I scored this property on Priceline for $130! We arrived at 10am and the front desk girl was fabulous! Said there was a room ready and gave us a double room (my two kids and myself) and on the top floor! Great since it was Priceline! Awesome location and very clean and nice! Valet parking was way high, but understandable for the area and the Valet guys were super nice!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello DCSlick,

We are very pleased to hear that you and your kids had a great visit to San Francisco. It always makes us happy knowing we helped made travel experiences like yours a wonderful one.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Marriott at Fisherman's Wharf is in an ideal location! On the waterfront you can walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, all the Piers, North Beach, Chinatown, Coit Tower, catch a trolley or take a fabulous Big B Bus On and Off Tour of ALL of San Francisco!! The staff is great! With newer hotels in the neighborhood I am confident that Marriott will upgrade this hotel soon. Until then the hotel is a great location with all the services a traveler will need.I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher Floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello HartfordMom,

Thank you so much for your kind words about property and our staff.

Our wonderful location, coupled with a dedicated team of professionals that provides topnotch service and care for our property, indeed are some of our best assets.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to the City by the Bay, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great hotel, perfect location to walk around SF, Ghiradelli Square, North Beach, Crooked Street,
Pier 39 and lots of restaurants. Breakfast at IHOP restaurant was great only 3 blocks from hotel, look for coupons in local news papers. You need to do the Bike tour over the golden gate bridge, lots of fun, do it early to get a token when you reach the end for VIP ferry ride. Do not book the winery tours if you have teens in your group, they will be bored. SF is a great town lots to do, we enjoyed out trip and will be back. Make sure you book the trip to Alcatraz, you will enjoy it.

AP

Room Tip: ask for the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Location wise, you cannot beat it if you want to be able to walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square, restaurants,Lombard Street, Coit Tower, Hyde/ Powell Cable Car, North Beach, etc... We had a 6 & 10 year old and aside from the trolley car up to Chinatown, we walked everywhere ... and easily.

Additional plus is that the staff in this hotel is extremely friendly and accommodating - and I mean everyone! We arrived after a long day of travel to a very bubbly and kind front desk. Jarred was ridiculously helpful with restaurant tips, walking suggestions, etc.. and the concierge put together an amazing itinerary for us complete with suggested times, phone numbers and printouts with directions. The valet was also fast and attentive - although the parking fee is steep at $50 per night - and always had our car waiting for us when we came downstairs.

Room wise, we had a Junior Suite with a courtyard view and found it to be perfect four our family of four. City noise was not an issue, it had King bed, a pullout sofa plus space for a roll a way and we all slept. Also nice was that they included breakfast for 3 (not 2!) since we are platinum with Marriott and a concierge lounge is not on site.

Overall, great place to stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill , Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#74 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION In the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines Near attractions, shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Spada EXTRAS tComplimentary Limousine Service to Financial District (7 a.m. – 9a.m., Mon – Fri) Health Club with Sauna (24-hour access with guestroom key), located on the second floor Gift Shop, open daily 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Fully-stocked Honor Bars in Each Guest Room Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.