We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location , location, location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2! Book Now
Ranked #81 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Seattle WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location , location, location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

While I gave this hotel an average score, the location is the best. It's close to everything that is San Francisco. From here it is a short walk to the Wharf, Pier 39 and the rest of the attractions. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. To avoid the parking fees, we turned in our car at the airport when we arrived in the city and took a cab to the hotel. You could save even more by taking a ride share van or BART. Although we had a room right on the corner of three busy streets, the traffic noise was not a problem at night and during the day we were out enjoying the beautiful city.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Oldrecruiter,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city. Thank you also for recognizing the cleanliness of our hotel and our perfect location. We are indeed very proud of how our team cares for our property.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    362
    158
    29
    18
See reviews for
196
266
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Somehow I scored this property on Priceline for $130! We arrived at 10am and the front desk girl was fabulous! Said there was a room ready and gave us a double room (my two kids and myself) and on the top floor! Great since it was Priceline! Awesome location and very clean and nice! Valet parking was way high, but understandable for the area and the Valet guys were super nice!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello DCSlick,

We are very pleased to hear that you and your kids had a great visit to San Francisco. It always makes us happy knowing we helped made travel experiences like yours a wonderful one.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Marriott at Fisherman's Wharf is in an ideal location! On the waterfront you can walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Ghiradelli Square, all the Piers, North Beach, Chinatown, Coit Tower, catch a trolley or take a fabulous Big B Bus On and Off Tour of ALL of San Francisco!! The staff is great! With newer hotels in the neighborhood I am confident that Marriott will upgrade this hotel soon. Until then the hotel is a great location with all the services a traveler will need.I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher Floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello HartfordMom,

Thank you so much for your kind words about property and our staff.

Our wonderful location, coupled with a dedicated team of professionals that provides topnotch service and care for our property, indeed are some of our best assets.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to the City by the Bay, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great hotel, perfect location to walk around SF, Ghiradelli Square, North Beach, Crooked Street,
Pier 39 and lots of restaurants. Breakfast at IHOP restaurant was great only 3 blocks from hotel, look for coupons in local news papers. You need to do the Bike tour over the golden gate bridge, lots of fun, do it early to get a token when you reach the end for VIP ferry ride. Do not book the winery tours if you have teens in your group, they will be bored. SF is a great town lots to do, we enjoyed out trip and will be back. Make sure you book the trip to Alcatraz, you will enjoy it.

AP

Room Tip: ask for the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Location wise, you cannot beat it if you want to be able to walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square, restaurants,Lombard Street, Coit Tower, Hyde/ Powell Cable Car, North Beach, etc... We had a 6 & 10 year old and aside from the trolley car up to Chinatown, we walked everywhere ... and easily.

Additional plus is that the staff in this hotel is extremely friendly and accommodating - and I mean everyone! We arrived after a long day of travel to a very bubbly and kind front desk. Jarred was ridiculously helpful with restaurant tips, walking suggestions, etc.. and the concierge put together an amazing itinerary for us complete with suggested times, phone numbers and printouts with directions. The valet was also fast and attentive - although the parking fee is steep at $50 per night - and always had our car waiting for us when we came downstairs.

Room wise, we had a Junior Suite with a courtyard view and found it to be perfect four our family of four. City noise was not an issue, it had King bed, a pullout sofa plus space for a roll a way and we all slept. Also nice was that they included breakfast for 3 (not 2!) since we are platinum with Marriott and a concierge lounge is not on site.

Overall, great place to stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I booked this hotel through Hotwire.com for one night in SF for a friend, my partner and I. We were early before normal check-in time but the staff at reception was very nice and helpful and told me that our room was ready. I asked for 3 keys and was informed about the price of valet parking: $50 plus taxes per night... Expensive, particularly when we have been already charged almost $400 for the room. We were surprised when we came up to the room to find that there was only one king bed. I went immediately down to the reception to speak to the same lady I have been served by and she told me that they did not have any double rooms available. I explained to her that the room was booked for three people and then I was told that the booking does not guarantee the number of beds!!. She offered to put an extra bed in the room and assured me she would get that sorted right away. Although this was far from ideal, we could not do much about it, since we were already in the city and the hotel room had been already paid for. We left for lunch and a stroll and we were out for about 4 hours. When we got back for a rest, the supplementary bed had not been put in the room. I went to reception to complained about the whole experience. The guy there told me that the hotel does not know how many people are for each room when a booking is made and they only know at check-in (found this very difficult to believe) and only offered a very cold apology about the oversight of the second bed not being put in the room. Then he called housekeeping who brought a ridiculously small and very uncomfortable bed to a not very big room in the first place. Needless is to say that we did not have a proper night if sleep. My friend could not sleep at all during the night in the tiny supplementary bed and we could not sleep well either knowing about him and the poor quality offered.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, if they cannot be bothered to check the number of people that they are booked for each room. And even when the problem is reported to them, they do not do much to get the situation improved.

Very expensive, not value for money and poor customer services is how I can describe our stay at this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hello Victor A,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay .

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the parking charges and the bed issue.

Please know that our valet parking fee is in line, if not lesser, than the average parking fee in the city.

Unfortunately, some third party booking sites guarantee a room but do not specify the room type upon reservation. As the comfort of our guests is our highest priority, we always recommend guests reach out to us directly so that we may assign accommodations based on their preference.

Please also know that I will be sharing your comments with our entire team as we strive to raise the bar of excellence here at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.

We hope you will consider our hotel again on your next visit, and allow us the opportunity to provide you with an increased level of service.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our 12 day vacation that started in Yellowstone and was diverted to San Francisco due to the fires in Yosemite brought us to this Marriott. The front desk representative could see on my face what a lousy day that I was having and was quick to offer us two free drinks in the lounge. It was a small gesture but meant a lot. Up to that point all we heard was excuses and apologies for our poor experiences. The hotel is in a great location and is full service. The bar service could be improved but I was greatly appreciative for the handout. My family had the buffet on Sunday morning and enjoyed it. The rooms are somewhat small but typical of the city. Be prepared for the $50 nightly parking charge which seems to be the norm in the Wharf area. It still irks me. Thank you Marriott for stopping the proverbial bleeding. You where there when we needed you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hello StevenP,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience from your recent stay.

We are very pleased that we were able to made your trip better. It means a lot to our team knowing that we made your trip memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco and we assure you that we will be there anytime you need us!

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION In the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines Near attractions, shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Spada EXTRAS tComplimentary Limousine Service to Financial District (7 a.m. – 9a.m., Mon – Fri) Health Club with Sauna (24-hour access with guestroom key), located on the second floor Gift Shop, open daily 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Fully-stocked Honor Bars in Each Guest Room Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.