We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location on Fishemans wharf and cable car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2! Book Now
Ranked #81 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Silver Spring Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice location on Fishemans wharf and cable car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice location on Fishemans wharf and a couple short blocks to Cable car. No Concierge lounge for Elites, but gave us comp breakfast buffet and free lounge drink coupons. Really helpful staff including concierges. No real view from the room even though the water I close by.

Took a blue & gold 60 min boat cruise (about $28) from nearby pier 39, saw the seals basking in the sun near Pier39, around Alcatraz and under the Golden Gate bridge. Drove the crooked Lombard St a few blocks away. The Wharf was a fun and short easy walk on a beautiful day. Had a nice dinner on the water at Scoma's walked to Giarredeli Square and back to hotel. We took Early (8:30am-no line) cable car from Taylor St Stop to the end of the line then walked balked through Union Sq., Chinatown, and Little Italy (about 2 hours with coffee stops and light shopping/browsing).

Would stay here again, although the $50 valet parking was high (the only 24 hour garage we saw nearby was a block away and still $40+)!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello takemeaway1127,

Thank you for recognizing the helpfulness of our staff and our perfect location. We are indeed very proud of both our caring team and our property. Most of all, we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful City.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    367
    160
    30
    18
See reviews for
200
267
25
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here one night with our 2 teenagers. First, let me say that we stay only at Marriott chain hotels and generally have above average experiences. We used points to stay (40,000 for one night which is on the higher end.) Had read reviews and was not expecting the higher end services that we normally receive at Marriotts as Gold Elite members. The rooms were average - clean but nothing special. Valets and front desk staff were very welcoming when we checked in. Hotel was in walking distance to the wharf and many restaurants.
Unfortunately, our stay here was ruined by a couple fighting and screaming during the night next door to us. At 4:30 am, the fighting was so bad I called down to the front desk to report it. Apparently the couple was evicted from the room. It was very unpleasant and not at all what we expected from this price level of a hotel. Thankfully, the manager listened to our concerns in the morning and addressed them to our satisfaction. We realize they cannot control the behavior of all of their guests.
Another issue was that we called early in the evening for extra towels and never got them.
In summary, good for walking distance to area attractions, clean and adequate. Concierge was very helpful. Our experience was unfortunately ruined by some unruly guests who were dealt with by the staff.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello AKD,
Thank you very much for the kind words about our staff.

We once again apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise caused by some other guests. We certainly appreciate your kind understanding of the situation.

We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to our city. Please feel welcome to contact us directly at the hotel should you need any assistance in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California, United States
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Met my sister for a weekend getaway. Parked the car in valet and never needed it all weekend. Walked to Fisherman's Wharf and Union Square, great location. Nice lobby bar with great service. One of the bartenders said she has worked there for a really long time (I think it was 20+ years). Nice rooms, reasonable priced. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt F, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your kind works. I am thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. I will be sure to share your feedback with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Here for a couple days with the family. Outstanding customer service from check in to check out.
One of the front desk mgrs was particularly customer service oriented.
The room was fine. Spacious and clean.
Great location convenient to Fishermans Wharf.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello JJHenley,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback from your recent visit.

We are very pleased to hear of your wonderful experience. Thank you also for recognizing the outstanding customer service of our team as well as our perfect location. We are indeed very proud of both our caring team and our property. Most of all, we are very happy to know that we helped made your visit a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the City by the Bay.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanco, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed here with my mother recently for a one-week trip to San Francisco and although nothing was really "wrong" with the hotel, it didn't live up to what I expect from a Marriott. This felt more like a Courtyard to me. As another reviewer recently said, it was very average.

Every member of the staff that I interacted with was incredibly friendly, however, and that made the overall experience feel better. All three of the concierge were very helpful, Jared at the Elite desk was very friendly and helpful, the male bartender (Kevin maybe?) learned our drink orders quickly and was very nice, the ladies at the front desk were nice, and housekeeping did a great job and left lovely notes.

The room I had on the fifth floor, facing the inside courtyard, was perfectly nice. The furnishings were well-kept, and the room was clean. My room was quiet and the sleep quality was good. However, my mother, who is a Platinum member with over 2.5 million Marriott points, got a room on the third floor facing the street, and she could barely sleep past six. There was traffic noise, landscapers with blowers, and even a loud brawl one morning. When she commented on it (albeit on our last night), she was told that she specifically needed to ask for an upgraded room on her reservations page online since the hotel staff doesn't see reservations until the morning guests are checking in.

I was also surprised that since there was no Elite Members Lounge, you had a choice of breakfast or points, and the business center computers required a charge to utilize them for Internet access and printing (except boarding passes). There was no code for Elite Members, so unlike most Marriotts, Elite Members don't get free computer access. The hotel did automatically take off the in-room WiFi charge and water, though.

Although the bar service was friendly, I was extremely disappointed that there were no cocktail specials and the drinks were just average fare. The bar snacks are literally Chex Mix. We ended up going to another hotel nearby to have drinks every night before dinner.

The location of the hotel is really great for tourists looking to see Pier 39 and families in general, but it is far from higher-end areas of town and a wide selection of restaurants that aren't geared to tourists and families. If you're used to a higher-end Marriott experience with Elite Member amenities, this isn't the hotel for you. But for a family looking to see the sites of SF, it works great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear AltGirlTX,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff, especially our Jared at our Front Desk. We always appreciate it when guests take the time to acknowledge and recognize individuals who don't just provide excellent service, but truly embody the essence of hospitality. We are indeed very proud of our staff.

Thank you also for your candid comments about our amenities. We are sorry that some of them did not fully met your expectations. Please know that I will share your comments with our team.

We hope to welcome you again on your future visit. Please reach out to me if you should need any assistance.

Warm regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel was very average. The hotel itself is showing its wear as a tourist hotel, which of course it is sitting in the Fisherman's Wharf area. The room was small and I didn't receive the normal Platinum upgrade "because the hotel was full". I don't believe that was accurate based upon the traffic I saw. The breakfast was free and very average and the valet parking was VERY expensive at $57/day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello Ed,

Hello andybnnc,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay .

We do hope you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city.

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with the parking charges. Please know that aside from being in a secured and covered lot, our valet parking fee is in line, if not lesser, with the average parking fee in the city.

We do hope you will consider our hotel again on your next visit.

Warm regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here several nights on our recent trip to San Francisco. The hotel is in a great location! The rooms were clean, well furnished and the beds and pillows very comfortable. It was walking distance from most all you would want to see. We used the concierge to hold our luggage without any issues. The valet was also efficient and the staff in general was professional and pleasant. The bar in the lobby served good drinks at reasonable prices. Room service was also what one would expect in terms of price and quality for the location. Check government rates if you qualify as it did offer a significant rate discount. All in all I would recommend this hotel and certainly stay there again! Marriott once again does not fail us.

Room Tip: The hotel is big, so if you want to ask for a room near an elevator that may save you some time and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Hello Mgapsych,
Thank you so much for your kind words about property and our staff.

We are happy that our ideal location, amenities and dedicated team of professionals helped made your visit to our city a memorable one.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION In the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines Near attractions, shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Spada EXTRAS tComplimentary Limousine Service to Financial District (7 a.m. – 9a.m., Mon – Fri) Health Club with Sauna (24-hour access with guestroom key), located on the second floor Gift Shop, open daily 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Fully-stocked Honor Bars in Each Guest Room Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.