We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location, one major concern” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #75 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location, one major concern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I checked in on 2/21. Our room was immediately available which was nice. We checked in I was told my price was $40 MORE per night that I had booked. I had to spend 20 minutes going through my emails on my phone looking for my original booking email. I found it and it had the price I said it did. The front desk lady looked in the history of my booking and said that someone at the hotel changed my price because Marriott had a the wrong price offered. NO ONE ever contacted me. Pretty sneaky if you ask me. I can't imagine that being legal either! Left a bad taste in my mouth.
We proceeded to check into the room. The room was perfectly nice. Clean room and very comfy bed. It was nice having a mini fridge. The toiletries weren't that great quality but the room and decorated well and comfortable.
The location is great. A very short walk to Pier 39 and little Italy for dining.
The lobby is decorated well and modern.
Amy at the front desk is so sweet and informative. She gave us great dining selections every night. She is truly and asset to the hotel. Jaret was very helpful as well!
In the lobby every night they have fresh baked cookies. I had one each night!
I would stay here again but was very upset about the booking problem. I still haven't heard from anyone at the hotel in regards to this.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have views. I think a high floor would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear OCBrittany,

We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your check-in. We want to address the issues on your reservation. Please know that our hotel does not change any confirmed room rate. If you would please contact us at the hotel at your soonest convenience, so that we may know how this occured and what we can do to resolve it.

We also want to thank you for your kind words about our Front Office Associates Jared and Amy. We always appreciate it when guests take the time to acknowledge the professional efforts of our staff.

We would love for your to consider us again next time your travels bring you back to San Francisco. When this occasion arises, please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel so that we may assign a room based on your preference, and extend you rhe very best available rate.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    402
    174
    32
    18
See reviews for
224
286
27
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here with my kids (13 & 8) to show them around SF. This was a perfect spot for Alcatraz, the wharf, cable cars, ferry to Sausalito. We had a great time! Highly recommended! Great staff! Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hello 3Jenni,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience from your recent stay.

We are very pleased to hear that you and your kids had a great visit to San Francisco. It always makes us proud knowing we were a part of wonderful travel experiences like yours.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Francisco.

Warmest regards from all of us at the San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is located a few blocks from the Fisherman's Wharf. I was very pleased with my room, although a microware would have been nice to have.

I did encounter some staff persons that were not as friendly as others, but I guess that is to be expected.

Overall, you will not be disappointed with staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hello Eye004,

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay at our hotel. Our property is indeed located right in the heart of the Fisherman’s Wharf, and within walking distance from the famous North Beach district, Chinatown, Embarcadero, and more.

We are very pleased to know that yo enjoyed your stay. I will make it a point to share your comments with everyone in our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the City by the Bay!

Warm regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Overall, the service is great at this hotel. People greet you when you enter and welcome you back from the day.

Kudos to the Concierge John ? who even when outside on break, stopped to help us with a question.
Housekeeping was great too.

Hotel lobby was very modern and new looking. Rooms were new looking and had great photos of SF landmarks.

Pros:
Great location- can walk to landmarks and never had to move the car
Great staff
Clean
Rooms comfortable for 4.
Rooms have safe and fridge which is great
Nice long table and lots of outlets
Have unit for iphone docking

Cons:

One of the most noisy toilets. If you flush, you want to cover your ears. If your neighbors flush, you can hear them
Thin walls, can't hear conversations, but noises.
Can hear street noise even on higher floors
Beds are not stiff enough
Shower does not have pressure enough - would be difficult to clean smaller kids

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear a8food4thought,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff, especially our Concierge John. We always appreciate it when guests take the time to acknowledge and recognize individuals who don't just provide excellent service, but truly embody the essence of hospitality. We are indeed very proud of our staff.

Thank you also for sharing your comments about our amenities. I am sorry that some of them did not met your expectations. Please know that I will share your comments with our team.

We hope to welcome you again on your future visit. Please reach out to me if you should need any assistance.

Warm regards from all of us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Fantastic staff all round, once you arrive the guys out front are there to assist fabulous, the reception staff were wonderfully efficient and welcoming.
The porter was helpful with directions and wanted to genuinely assist, what a guy!.
The bar staff friendly and had a wonderful attitude.
The guy at the downstairs desk arranged tours, wonderful!

The rooms was well cared for and very clean. Kid friendly hotel and close to everything.
Would recommend this one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville H, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear AG:


Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff. It is always great to hear positive comments about our staff members and, especially when they leave a lasting impression on our guests. Your comments further illustrate how lucky we are to have such professionals in our midst and we make sure that comments like yours are not wasted but shared.
We will continue to provide the best service to our guests and we look forward to continue providing memorable experiences to all of our guests in the future.

With regards from our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I reserved a Junior suite because i traveling with my adult son. The clerk who checked us in was excited to note that this room gave us a balcony!

When we got up to the room we also noted that it gave us a sink area way down the hall from the shower and one largish room stuffed with a lot of furniture.
Oh and by the way, the balcony was.just large enough for one person to stand on and view the parking lot of the hotel next door. Not any thing I would brag about.

Service cleanliness location all otherwise good. Don't bother to pay extra for a Junior Suite.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neville H, Front Office Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear ERMMD:

Thank you so much for the kind words about the service and location of our hotel. It is always great to hear positive comments and ways we can improve our service and product to our valued guests.

We are very happy to hear that though you were not impressed with your room, (Junior Suite) the stay was a memorable experience especially from the service standpoint.

We are always seeking opportunities to improve on our service and product and your comments will be used as a guide to foster our commitment to our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit to our beautiful city by the bay and, more so, as a guest at the Marriott San Francisco Fisherman’s Wharf where we will continue to create memorable experiences for all of our guests.


Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Marriott by fishermans wharf was close to our planned activities and close to Lombard St. Comfortable and affordable room. Valet parking was an additional $50USD which was not mentioned while booking, however the staff were friendly and the room was very tidy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willie V, Manager at Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello Spacedog2014,

Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff and our property. It is always a great pleasure to hear from our guests just how fortunate we are to have a team of dedicated and caring professionals. Coupled with our very central location, it makes us proud that we get to be part of creating memorable experiences in San Francisco.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.

With warmest regards from our team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill , Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION In the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines Near attractions, shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Spada EXTRAS tComplimentary Limousine Service to Financial District (7 a.m. – 9a.m., Mon – Fri) Health Club with Sauna (24-hour access with guestroom key), located on the second floor Gift Shop, open daily 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Fully-stocked Honor Bars in Each Guest Room Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.