We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Marriott” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach / Telegraph Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #74 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Consistent Marriott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at this Marriott over New Year's Eve. I travel quite a bit and the one thing I love about the Marriott is their consistency. Their hotels are always clean and the decor is always pleasant. At this Marriott, we enjoyed the open bar/coffee shop in the lobby. It was very comfortable with big screen tv's if you wanted to watch a game, but other areas available for more quiet dining.

The concierge at this Marriott was great. Very friendly and very helpful. I would stay here again. The location was great for Fisherman's Wharf. Because parking is so expensive, we usually buy the package that includes parking instead of breakfast. You can always head to the Buena Vista, famous for their Irish coffee and shared table concept.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    401
    173
    32
    18
See reviews for
223
284
27
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott in late January, and the location is perfect. 2 blocks to fisherman's wharf, 2 blocks from ghirardelli square and a short cable ride to union square. Our rate included breakfast daily which added value, and the hotel was clean and comfortable. However the only issue was the hotel does not include free wifi. This confused me as I managed to travel all around America and use complimentary wifi at all other hotels except for the Marriott. The wifi is 12.99 a day. Other than that, the hotel was in a perfect location and would recommend it to anyone that wants to stay close to fisherman's wharf.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I specifically chose this hotel for its pet-friendly policy since we were traveling with our dog. Most hotels we found had a weight limit of 10lbs but this Marriott had a limit of up to 50lbs which was perfect for us. It does however cost an extra $100 to bring your dog.

We got a suite and for San Francisco, it was quite roomy (the bathroom was a bit tight though). The bed was comfy and the place was really clean. We were told that our $100 fee would be used to deep clean the room since we had our dog - this made me feel good because even I don't like the smell of dog!

There was a great little park one block away that is perfect for letting your dog go potty and the hotel is only a few blocks away from the famous Fisherman's Wharf. It's a great spot to be when you're visiting the City.

The lobby is very nicely done and there is a great bar area if you just want to hang out. Everybody was extremely nice and helpful with directions and walking you to your car if you need to get something out of it quickly. Overall, it was a nice spot to stay in the city, especially if you are traveling with your pooch.

Room Tip: If you're looking for space, get the suite because most rooms in SF are really small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Pablo de concierge is the best! he helps you out and makes you feel at home. So does the rest of the attenders
The location is not the best for a business trip but the public transportation in San Francisco is fantastic and the concierge informs you on all the needed instructions

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine FL
Top Contributor
602 reviews 602 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I just finished up a four night stay here and we really enjoyed our time. The had a small suite with a king bed. The room was around 400 sq ft, had a small refrig, flat screen tv, a couch and and extra chair.

The room was clean, comfy and quite. We found the staff friendly and very helpful with directions to area sites.

Very close to the pier and restaurants. Overall a great stay in SF.

Room Tip: Sorry no pool at this hotel. I would ask for a room that faced the inside courtyard, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a great stay from the time we stopped the valet staff very friendly our luggage was removed by the bell hops & check in was quick & prompt the room was large enough for my family & I & very clean & modern great nights sleep had to open the blinds when it was day light no problems with street noise at all in all a very nice Hotel to stay at ::))

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed here multiple times over the past 5 (or more) years. The place is clean and well taken care of. The service is generally ok. This past trip I was attending a conference in the Union Square area and could not get a room in the conference hotel so we took a room at the Marriott. The bell man was very helpful in getting a cab every morning for our trip to Union Square. That said, this is not always the best business hotel as getting a cab takes about 15 min, other more downtown hotels it takes about 2 min. The bartender (Rocco) is a real gem. He has been here every since I first came here. He is friendly, helpful and makes us want to return just to get a drink at the bar. I only ate here once and that was breakfast which was ok, not great but not bad either. If your travels are more pleasure oriented this is a great hotel as it is near lots of the attractions people come to SF for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach / Telegraph Hill , Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION In the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines Near attractions, shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Spada EXTRAS tComplimentary Limousine Service to Financial District (7 a.m. – 9a.m., Mon – Fri) Health Club with Sauna (24-hour access with guestroom key), located on the second floor Gift Shop, open daily 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Fully-stocked Honor Bars in Each Guest Room Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.