We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Standard but Pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf to your Saves list
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133 (North Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2! Book Now
Ranked #82 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Standard but Pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Typical big hotel chain room, clean, tidy and all the usual facilities, but nothing exceptional. Expensive for an average hotel, but seems about the norm for Fishermans Wharf area. The valet parking was expensive, but again about the going rate for where we were.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    368
    161
    30
    18
See reviews for
201
267
25
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon trip. The night we arrived there was only one valet/bellhop on staff, he helped us unload our luggage onto a cart which we brought to our room by ourself, unloaded, and brought back down to him in the lobby. The day we checked out, a bellhop named Dana refused to let us use a cart as they can only be brought up to a guest room by a staff member, but then he didn't offer to help us. When we told him that the night we checked in, we were allowed to bring the cart to our room ourselves, his response was "well that shouldn't have happened." When we finally made it down to the lobby with all of our luggage, he laughed and joked about us with another staff member named Ramy, who proceeded to point out and make fun of ANOTHER guest that HE had just refused to help for whatever reason. The two gentlemen stood by the front desk in a crowded lobby full of guests struggling with luggage giggling like stuck up teenage girls, pointing and laughing at us and other guests, it was pathetic.
The day we checked in we were given a coupon for a free drink at the bar due to our Platinum Elite Marriott Rewards member status, so we decided to get a little dressed up one night and sit down at the bar for a few drinks. Well the bartender decided we were only there for our one free drink and proceeded to give us ONE glass of wine split into two glasses when we had actually ordered two full glasses. We were put off by his attitude and let the front desk know, the guy at the front insisted on getting a manager for us to tell what had happened, so we waited for several minutes to recount the experience to him at which point he apologized and asked if we wanted another free drink to "make up for it" but neither gentleman even found out which room we were staying in so it was clear he had no intention of following up so we didn't feel like sitting at that bar again and declined our second free drink.
The location is great because you're walking distance to some of the best San Fran attractions but get ready to pay $50 a night for valet parking or try to find somewhere else cheaper nearby (tons of parking nearby, but most of it is outdoor)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I am a Marriott Platinum member and have stayed at many many Marriotts. This is one of my least favorite hotels.

Plus:
It is very close to Fisherman's Wharf. Right in North Beach Area.

Great service in the bar at night. They lady bar tender is very nice and takes good care of you. I wish I could remember her name to complement her.

Valet is expensive but very fast and convenient.

Minus:
The absolute worst breakfast buffet I have seen at any Marriott anywhere. Don't waste your money on this. I get it for free being a Platinum member and the next time I stay there I will go out of the hotel and pay for breakfast. Very limited selection. Nobody cooking fresh eggs. No Marriott omelets. The scrambled eggs were hard and looked like they had been there a while. Normally the Marriott buffet is one of the reasons I stay at Marriott hotels. This was very disappointing and if I had paid for it I would have asked for my money back. I can’t believe they charge $18.95 for it.

There is one set of elevators and if you get one of the rooms out on the edges it is a long walk with your luggage.

No pool. No Spa.

Don’t even think about an upgrade even if you are at Marriott's highest level.

Room Tip: Ask for something closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a low key, quiet Marriott. It has a nice lobby with bar and restaurant. The staff is helpful without being pushy. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. The only downside is that they haven't figured out to give free wifi in the rooms. $12.95 per day is outrageous in this day and age.

Room Tip: The inner courtyard rooms have no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on a getaway. The building is ugly outside with no setback from the street, but the location is great, very close to all things Fisherman's Wharf. We even walked to the financial district and Embarcadero. Lobby is tastefully remodeled with comfortable chairs/couches. Staff were friendly and helpful at check-in and check-out. We were booked into a standard room facing the street; noise from the street was not noticeable. Room was clean enough but there was some dirt and dust in the corners. Very comfortable beds. Would return although would probably not want to pay rack rate (we had an excellent Priceline deal).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Another wonderful hotel to close out my trip. Everything you would expect of a Marriott. However, $49/day for parking is outrageous! Great junior suite. Fisherman's Wharf is only two blocks away. Great restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Junior suite is great value - try 401.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spent one night last week. Location and staff are the best! Room very nice, and very quiet. Valet service was probably the quickest, and nicest, in San Francisco! I travel quite a bit for business, have always wanted to stay near the wharf, it was walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 1250 Columbus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94133
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > North Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION In the heart of Fisherman's Wharf, between two of San Francisco's cable car lines Near attractions, shopping, and 15 miles north of the San Francisco International Airport 1.5 miles from the San Francisco Financial District SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS 285 Deluxe Sleeping Rooms (including 12 Junior Suites and 1 Hospitality Suite) Five Floors Completely Renovated Guests Rooms and Meeting Space MEETING ACCOMMODATIONS Seven meeting rooms totaling over 6,000 square feet We can accommodate meetings and food & beverage functions for groups of 5 to 250 RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE FACILITIES Casual dining in a full-service restaurant, Spada EXTRAS tComplimentary Limousine Service to Financial District (7 a.m. – 9a.m., Mon – Fri) Health Club with Sauna (24-hour access with guestroom key), located on the second floor Gift Shop, open daily 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. Fully-stocked Honor Bars in Each Guest Room Handicap Accessible Rooms Safety Deposit Boxes Available Iron, Ironing Board and Hairdryers in Each Guest Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
Marriott Hotel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.