We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #5 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental on a recent visit to SF. Fortunate enough to get a good rate for a four night stay through a business connection. The rooms are very well appointed and all have great views of the city or the bay. What really makes this hotel is the service - simply first class!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    109
    34
    9
    1
See reviews for
75
205
22
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

One of the most incredible hotel views I've ever encountered! Truly spectacular, especially if you're fortunate enough to get one of the "Bridge to Bridge" rooms. From those rooms you get one view of the bay, Golden Gate, Alcatraz, Coit Tower, etc. and the other view of the Bay Bridge, Treasure Island and beyond. The hotel staff was top notch. We hired the hotel car and driver for a day of sightseeing and couldn't have been better treated. We WILL be back there and highly recommend it. Only slight nit is only one restaurant, but it was quite good with a GREAT breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for "Bridge to Bridge" room for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_SANFRANCISCO, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the views of the bay from our beautiful Bridge to Bridge room. We are very proud of our colleagues who strive to provide exceptional service to each and every guest.

I look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Alex Lexson
Guest Relations Manager
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I've never been more awe struck by a hotel view in a major metropolitan era. We had the pleasure of spending one night, in a suite, on the top 48th floor looking north. The expansive views included the bay, Transamerica Tower, Coit Tower and Alcatraz. This hotel is really the top of two business towers with a wall to wall floor to ceiling glass bridge on each floor that gives the most incredible views to the north and south.

Unfortunately their is just one restaurant and bar off of the non-existent lobby. The restaurant looks onto a non-descript street. A truly five star hotel like this needs more than one place to eat and drink and at least one that isn't in dated beige tones.

The service was of course impeccable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_SANFRANCISCO, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco. I am delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us, thank you for taking advantage of the view from our Sky Bridge. Our views from the 38th floor to the 48th floor of the California building truly sets us apart from the hotels in San Francisco.

I look forward to welcome you back in the future for a longer stay.

Best regards,

Alex Lexson
Guest Relations Manager
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

San Francisco is pricing itself out of the tourist market. We attended a meeting on the subject. We then went back to our hotel and paid airline ticket prices for a few mediocre drinks in the bar! The bar service was sadly limited to bar staff trying to pick up some of our staff. The views are the highpoint of the hotel (sorry about that). The rooms start about 350 feet above ground. The view of the bay and the Golden Gate are truly worth the extra dollars. I am not keen on glass baths. Perhaps they will suit your visual taste. The hotel staff members give outstanding, personalised service.

Room Tip: San Francisco is too interesting on the ground to stay in your room looking out the window--no matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_SANFRANCISCO, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and your stay at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco. Thank you for the nice comment regarding our hotel staff members. I am delighted to know that they provided the outstanding personalize service we strive to give to all of our guests.

I was disappointed to know that our bar service did not meet your needs. I will forward your comments to our restaurant manager to look into this incident.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have further details on your experience.

Best regards,

Alex Lexson
Guest Relations Manager
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Usually stay at the Four Seasons in San Francisco, which I think is the best city hotel I have stayed at in the United States. However, it was booked for this trip so chose the Mandarin. Lobby is underwhelming, but that didn't really matter. Rooms are oddly shaped. I had Deluxe City View. Beautiful view of city and water beyond. But, rooms are narrow and large, but not all that spacious. No coffee maker in the room, which I found annoying. Also, no cold water in mini bar, also annoying. Gym was ok. There are three treadmills -- one Precor and two of another brand that I don't like. Thought the gym should have been more updated and with better equipment. Breakfast was TERRIBLE. Went to restaurant at 7:30 a.m. and was served coffee. I was joined by a colleague at 7:45 and we waited until 8:25 before a waiter came over to us to take our order after asking two different people three times to please send over a server. We ordered at 8:30, but had a meeting at 9, 4 blocks away. We waited until 8:50 and then had to leave without ever seeing our order -- a fruit plate with yogurt and an oatmeal. The manager took my card and apologized, but the service was absolutely terrible and the restaurant was not all that crowded. I actually looked up the Four Seasons to see if I could move tonight and it is available, but too much of a hassle to move. Simply not what I would expect for $700 a night at a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_SANFRANCISCO, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and your stay at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco. Your feedback regarding our restaurant is greatly appreciated. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations and waited a very long time to be served during your stay. I will forward your comments to our restaurant manager so that they may address the issues.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to discuss your experience in detail.

Alex Lexson
Guest Relations Manager
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The staff was kind enough to all know my son was on a college visit, and kept saying his name and congratulating him for getting into the school. The support of the staff was really great. The room was modern and beautiful, with a wonderful view. The restaurant downstairs was very convenient to just grab good quality food when we were hungry. sadly, no pool or hot tub!, but the spa services were excellent.

Room Tip: we got a corner room so we could have an extended view. well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_SANFRANCISCO, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review and your stay at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco. I am delighted that you enjoyed The Spa during your stay and were able to enjoy food selections from Brasserie S&P.

I look forward to welcome you back in the future,

Alex Lexson
Guest Relations Manager
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

On the final leg of our California trip, my husband and I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental. This was "plush digs" compared to the last resort. On arrival, we explained to the concierge that some of our bags were stolen when we arrived in San Francisco, and he immediately began helping us get our itinerary back together. The trip to Alcatraz with a "hop on hop off" bus tour was rescued with his help (it often is booked two weeks in advance so we were relieved.)

We had a nice room on the 48th floor. Normally, I don't like to stay this high in a hotel (after a conversation with a fireman years ago) but we had a spectacular view of the Bay, the TransAmerica building, and Alcatraz off in the distance.

Our room was clean, modern and had complimentary delivery of the Wall Street Journal each morning. It also had more electrical outlets than many hotels (including in the bedside tables) which we much appreciated for plugging in our cell phones at night. Housekeeping was friendly and did a nice job although we spent much of our time strolling around the different sight-seer locations in San Francisco rather than in our room.

There always seemed to be a cab at the ready right outside of the hotel, so if you wanted a cab, it was easy to get one. We did end up walking to and from the pier a couple of times by choice. (We chose not to drive the enormous rental vehicle we had because it was difficult to manuever in heavy San Francisco traffic.) There are lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel--one of my favorites--Roy's--is just a few blocks from the hotel.

There is a business center located near the spa. My only complaint was that the computers were very slow when you accessed the Internet.

On the morning of our departure, we had breakfast at the S&P on the ground floor. I had the eggs with smoked salmon and my husband had the French toast, both were good. Check out through the front desk, retrieval of our luggage and our rental car were very quick.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_SANFRANCISCO, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and selected the Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco as your hotel of choice. I was disappointed to know that your bags were stolen but happy that our Concierge was able to assist with putting your itinerary back together.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our very comfortable guest rooms and views from the 48th floor. Our guest rooms are situated on the 38th through 48th floor of the California Building with wonderful views of the city and the bay.

I look forward to welcome you back in the future,

Alex Lexson
Guest Relations Manager
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Address: 222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#6 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 158-room Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco is located in the heart of the city and offers unparalleled panoramic views of the bay and beyond from the top 11 floors of San Francisco's third tallest building, 345 California Center. Having recently completed an extensive refurbishment during its 25th Anniversary year with the addition of Brasserie S&P restaurant and bar, and an 8,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center, the hotel is consistently ranked among the world's top hotels by leading authorities. Features include Conde Nast Traveler 'Hot List' 2013 and Readers Choice Awards 2012 'Top 25 Hotels in N. California', Institutional Investor's 'World's Best Hotels 2012', Travel + Leisure 'World's Best Hotels' Awards 2011, U.S. News & World Report's 'Hotels in the USA', and is one of Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report's 2011 'Top 20 City Hotels in the World'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Mandarin San Francisco
San Francisco Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.