We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favorite In SF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #5 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“New Favorite In SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

From the moment of arrival until departure, we were enchanted with the flawless service, lovely decor and indescribable views of gorgeous San Francisco. The views are worth the room charge, even without the high quality amenities. The bedding comfort pleased us, which is exceedingly rare. We didn't have time to use the spa and only had breakfast at the hotel -- we'll save that for our next visit, hopefully very soon. The hotel provides a Mercedes and driver for short trips.

Room Tip: The bay bridge view rooms are larger and have a sofa, with gorgeous views from the bedroom and bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    109
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
74
202
21
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algarve
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Tried out the Mandarin Oriental for one night because we had heard so much about this particular Mandarin Oriental. The experience was overall very good.

We stayed in 2 interconnecting rooms.

The reception at the door is fabulous and trademark Mandarin Oriental. The warm welcome at reception was wonderful and the treatment by the porters who take your bags and really set up your room rather than just doing the token things - really great!

Housekeeping staff- responsive and genuinely do a turndown service.

All the lovely touches in the room of course wonderful - from linen to quality of bed to bathrobes in the bathroom.

Views are of course fabulous. The rooms start on higher floors so you naturally get a room with a view no matter where you stay in this hotel.

The concierge went out of his way to find us an appropriate restaurant for my husband and I to dine out that night and even took the trouble of walking out the front door to show us exactly where the restaurant was.

Room service was delayed but good quality food.

Guest services was great in dealing we had with a truck clipping our side view mirror on the car, which we needed to then get sorted out with Avis.

What let us down was breakfast. We were disappointed with the quality of food and the service. The level of service that we experienced at the front door didn't seem to translate into the restaurant in the same way.

However, overall VERY GOOD stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach, fl
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Fabulous experience. This hotel sets the standard.
Breathtaking 360 degree views over the city by the bay.
Perfect service. Lovely room.
After staying at other hotels, one REALLY appreciates the fine job this hotel does -- at every step!
Only complaint: like other expensive hotels -- you have to pay for wifi (for each device). I've never understood how it is that moderately priced hotels provide free wifi, but luxury hotels make you pay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Even from the bathroom the views are extraordinary. The materials are top quality. On my first visit they greeted me by name and shuttled me to a room that passes thru a glass corridor that exposes all the major sights of the Bay Area. My bellman/butler offer me to unpack and store my clothes which I let him do. Lastly, he lasted me if there was anything I desired and I said yes I want a bath drawn after a long day of traveling and also, light a candle, which he provided immediately. All my stays at the Mandarin were special. Outstanding views. I slept like a prince

Room Tip: I would ask for a deluxe room with a view of either Alcatraz or the Bay Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I almost asked for another hotel assignment when I was allocated a room here for a large conference, concerned it was a little farther afield from the Moscone Convention Center. I was very happy I didn't! This property is a little distant, (about a 15 minute walk) but the views are epic, both from in-room and the windowed hallways. The guest room was spacious and immaculate. Staff was very service-oriented, friendly but not overly so...just right. Free wi-fi was appreciated! If there were downsides the restaurant is a bit meh, was not up to the calibre of the room, service and views. Also in spite of in-room recycling (which I love), towels and linen were changed daily with no choice for reuse. And turn-down service left excessive lights and tv on. If you like that kind of service it's a five star hotel. But if you try to be a bit greener on-the-road there are better choices in the immediate area. Oh, and if you get motion sickness, be advised you can feel the building move with strong gusts. Mistook it for an earthquake one evening it was rolling so much. Still...the views were wowowowowow!

Room Tip: 4612 has a great Alcatraz through Bay Bridge view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The place is awesome however WiFi should be included as it is for most other hotel chains that charge travelers a fraction of the cost of a one night stay. I did ask the desk clerk if she would waive such a ridiculous fee and she promptly did so. Other than that, you cannot beat Mandarin Oriental. The place, no matter where it's located is second to none!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for four nights at this property on a recent visit with 2 other couples. It was our first time in San Francisco and had been something we had listed on our bucket list so we did not want to be disappointed. This hotel exceeded our expectations. It was within walking distance of Union Square and numerous restaurants in the vicinity. The service was exceptional throughout from the concierge to the front desk to the housekeeping staff. The rooms were well appointed and spacious with some spectacular views of the Bay both day and night. We also appreciated that it was not as busy as some of the larger chain hotels in the area but offered the same amenities. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room facing the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Address: 222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 158-room Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco is located in the heart of the city and offers unparalleled panoramic views of the bay and beyond from the top 11 floors of San Francisco's third tallest building, 345 California Center. Having recently completed an extensive refurbishment during its 25th Anniversary year with the addition of Brasserie S&P restaurant and bar, and an 8,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center, the hotel is consistently ranked among the world's top hotels by leading authorities. Features include Conde Nast Traveler 'Hot List' 2013 and Readers Choice Awards 2012 'Top 25 Hotels in N. California', Institutional Investor's 'World's Best Hotels 2012', Travel + Leisure 'World's Best Hotels' Awards 2011, U.S. News & World Report's 'Hotels in the USA', and is one of Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report's 2011 'Top 20 City Hotels in the World'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Mandarin San Francisco
San Francisco Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.