We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional...and now even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #6 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional...and now even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We always loved staying at the Mandarin Oriental. Lovely rooms, comfortable beds and impeccable service. Now, with the refurbishing, it's even better. The rooms are lighter in color, beautiful linens and the downstairs restaurant has been opened up to let in more light. It's roomy, airy and even more comfortable. When we checked in we were upgraded to a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. Coming from Pennsylvania looking at corn fields most of the day, this was a real treat. The service was outstanding as usual. Looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    84
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
148
16
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This place totally lives up to the Mandarin Oriental's reputation. The staff couldn't have been any friendlier or more helpful; even to my teenagers! The rooms were impeccably clean! The décor was sophisticated yet so comfortable. We actually stayed at the current #1 rated hotel on this site on the last leg of our trip and after staying at the Mandarin, that hotel was AWFUL. How is the Mandarin not the #1 rated hotel in SanFran??? I won't ever stay anywhere else. Totally worth the money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very nice room, exceptional service. Room service was prompt, dinner was very good, breakfast fair. Nice work out room with free weights and machines. Location is good, walking distance to embaradero, union square. Amazing view from the 46th floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The bottom line is that this hotel is just NOT worth the money. There is nothing special about this hotel to justify the costs. I would definitely put it in a category with 3.5 star hotels. The rooms are outdated as many reviews have mentioned. No coffee maker in the rooms either, plus you have to pay to use their wifi. Ridiculous cost gouging for the nightly price! The lobby is unimpressive and the restaurant/ bar area is usually dead, other than a few business folk.

My positive comments include the location in the financial district which is quieter than some of the touristy areas (union square, fishermans wharf, etc) but still just a ten minute walk to the Ferry building and the embarcadero. As well, you likely won't find better views of the city from the 36+ story room locations. Impressive but not enough to convince me to spend money on this hotel chain again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_SANFRANCISCO, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco and for reviewing on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the team, we apologize sincerely for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We greatly appreciate all your valued feedback which we have taken immediate steps to address in our various departments. We can place a personal coffee maker in the guest room and will gladly add this to your profile if you wish for us to do so.

With regards to the internet, some hotels offer free internet access but the service offered is limited (low bandwidth and lack of security) which we understand but would be unacceptable at a luxury hotel. The internet is more that communications to our guests - whether it for online banking, check investments, book travel, check information or emails, download and watch films, we assure you that we will continue to invest in this technology to offer our guests the quality of service with the performance and security that you would expect of Mandarin Oriental. It is an important service offering that we consider of value to those that use it.

We hope we have the chance to demonstrate a more positive experience for you with a return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,
Edwina Kluender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you're considering this hotel, book the room now. Everything about it is excellent. The service. The location. The views. I've seen a few comments here regarding the outdated rooms. I think those comments are legit, but not so much so that I would not book a room here because of it. There's nothing worse than staying at really nice hotel, only to have the staff treat you like poop. That won't happen here. I'll take excellent this hotel's excellent staff and service over a room appointed with 'newer stuff' any day of the week. Speaking of staff, the Concierge was always willing and helpful (but her name escapes me at the moment). And Katie could not have been more helpful. If you're looking for great views, a terrific location, and excellent service and staff, book a stay here. If the color of the marble, or the size of the plasma TV is your thing, look elsewhere - LOL.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest room possible. Don't upgrade room through a third party site unless you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We picked this hotel due to its location and it did not disappoint. It is an expensive hotel, but you get great service. The rooms are nice, could be improve though for the amount you are paying. The staff was very professional and friendly, a big plus for the hotel. I would visit again next time in San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a great hotel with fantastic service. The rooms are large, extremely comfortable and very quiet. We had an awesome view of the bay, the Golden Gate Bridge and the Bay Bridge. Very convenient location; half a block from the cable cars and a block or two from BART (light rail) and other good public transportation options. Buy a multi-day Muni pass and spend a day going all over the city on the cable cars and other public transportation. It's also a 15 minute walk from the piers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the bay and the Golden Gate Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Address: 222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 158-room Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco is located in the heart of the city and offers unparalleled panoramic views of the bay and beyond from the top 11 floors of San Francisco's third tallest building, 345 California Center. Having recently completed an extensive refurbishment during its 25th Anniversary year with the addition of Brasserie S&P restaurant and bar, and an 8,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center, the hotel is consistently ranked among the world's top hotels by leading authorities. Features include Conde Nast Traveler 'Hot List' 2013 and Readers Choice Awards 2012 'Top 25 Hotels in N. California', Institutional Investor's 'World's Best Hotels 2012', Travel + Leisure 'World's Best Hotels' Awards 2011, U.S. News & World Report's 'Hotels in the USA', and is one of Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report's 2011 'Top 20 City Hotels in the World'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Mandarin San Francisco
San Francisco Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.