We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
High Speed Internet On Us
Ranked #6 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wow! A really outstanding hotel. By far the most amazing views of the city and the bay. Service was great. The staff remembered our names throughout our stay. Excellent overall service. We had reserved two rooms and got one upgraded (hotel's initiative, we did not ask) to a fabulous suite. The rooms have been recently renovated and everything was in great condition. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Most memorable moment was enjoying breakfast in our room while the sun was rising over the city. It is a very expensive hotel, but very much worth it if you are looking for something really special in San Francisco. The only downside and this applies to Mandarin's other properties we have stayed at, is the fact they still insist on charging $15 / day for wifi access. Petty and missing the bigger picture when you take into consideration the very high price of the rooms. Something they should do away with.

Room Tip: The "bridge to bridge" view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_SANFRANCISCO, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco and for reviewing on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you had an overall wonderful stay.

With regards to the internet, some hotels offer free internet access but the service offered is limited (low bandwidth and lack of security) which we understand but would be unacceptable at a luxury hotel. The internet is more that communications to our guests - whether it for online banking, check investments, book travel, check information or emails, download and watch films, we assure you that we will continue to invest in this technology to offer our guests the quality of service with the performance and security that you would expect of Mandarin Oriental. It is an important service offering that we consider of value to those that use it.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope we have the chance to welcome you back for a return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,
Edwina Kluender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    78
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
132
13
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is on the top of an office block tower and is only serviced by two lifts. This was slightly annoying the last time I stayed there but this time one of the lifts broke which cause queues waiting to get in to the lift. A couple of days after this happened they left a note saying the lift was shut down for maintenance for a week.

Other than this the food is good, the service is great and the location is also very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_SANFRANCISCO, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco and for reviewing on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the team, we apologize sincerely for any inconvenience caused to you due to the delays with our elevators. We undertake planned maintenance on our elevators regularly. I realize that there is never a good time for such delays and we particularly regret any inconvenience to you.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope we have the chance to welcome you back for a return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,
Edwina Kluender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Prevented by the February blizzard from visiting New York as planned, we changed our plans to spend a long weekend in San Francisco instead. Having experienced and enjoyed the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong, we booked a 'Perfect Pair' room at the MO SF. These rooms are a corner arrangement where one (larger) room occupies the actual corner space of the tower, while a second (smaller) room is located next door within a private, lockable alcove. It's a good arrangement for families travelling with one or two children. I was travelling with my father.

The Mandarin chain is regarded for its traditional opulence and status as an oasis in the city. While this Mandarin Oriental offers similar levels of luxury to its brother hotels including the MO Hong Kong, the bartender who served me on a number of nights told me that management had redefined the MO SF with a more modern edge in a redevelopment of the hotel some years back. This is reflected in the fact that this hotel is a statement in modern luxury: service is present but low key, and amenities are somewhat scaled back on the typical Asian opulence of this chain.

Is this something to be disappointed about? Probably not. San Francisco is, by American standards, a very cosmopolitan city and the approach of the MO SF is more suitable for this town's vibe. The rooms were certainly very comfortable and met our needs perfectly—and the king beds are the most comfortable of any hotel I have ever stayed in. The downstairs bar is a space that is warming up, and the eclectic mix of staff from postings around the world are helpful and polite.

The hotel's location on Sansome Street is well-placed for downtown shopping. It's a fifteen minute flat walk to the Union Square district, and a few blocks away from the hustle and bustle: it's quiet and feels safe at night. A short MUNI ride to Fisherman's Wharf opens up some sightseeing possibilities too. The view from the rooms (located on the 38th floor and above) is excellent—but make sure you request the San Francisco Bay side of the building.

The MO SF also offers a complimentary car service in the evenings which will drop and collect you from your dinner reservation in a very new Mercedes S Class. This is a nice touch that calls what the Mandarin is all about.

This was a pleasing experience, all-round: not your usual Mandarin Oriental, but this establishment ticks all the luxury boxes.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Mandarin Oriental San Francisco is a true luxury property. Stayed in a room with a view of Alcatraz, and what a view! Service was flawless and breakfast was one of the best I’ve had. Looking forward to a second time there!

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Overall, the hotel was very nice, excellent service, great location for sightseeing, incredible views - we had a room from which we could see both bridges, and there is a garage (which costs extra, but we had a package that included garage parking). Internet is available but at additional cost. The room was lovely, the bed very comfortable, but I had a hard time getting the temp. right - one of the vents blew near the bed making it chilly while the rest of the room was the right temp. My main complaint was the bathroom: it was pretty, well-equipped, and mostly very clean, but the bath tub was dirty; even after telling the desk, it improved but never got completely clean. Also, there was paint peeling on the ceiling of the bathroom. For a hotel of this price, I expect a higher standard. The restaurant is okay - we ate breakfasts there because there wasn't much else in the area - but not great. All in all, a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San jose CA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend in the city and had an absolutely delightful experience.From the start the staff was friendly and helpful.I am very attentive to how the staff treats people because I feel it sets the vibe for your whole stay.Everything can be perfect but if one person treats you rudely or is indifferent then that hotel is one I won't go back to or recommend to friends.Checking in went very smoothly and the Jasmine tea brought up after we arrived was a nice touch.We were on the 47th floor,they go to 48 and the view was amazing.The room was very well done and immaculate.One elevator was not in service but I didn't notice a long wait.The staff had us a cab right away for our dinner out that night.The bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to get up the next morning so my husband called room service and we had breakfast in the room.I had an omelet which was just OK.The coffee was great and so was the freshly squeezed orange juice.Overall made for an enjoyable and relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: The top two floors have a walkway connecting the towers with stunning views in both directions. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over New Year's and had a great experience. It was our first time at a Mandarin Oriental but certainly not our last. Eduardo at the hotel entrance was the star of the hotel, we had the pleasure of having him be the first to greet us upon arrival and the last person we saw when departing and he is just a vision of everything that Mandarin Oriental strives to be - warm, welcoming, kind, attentive, enthusiastic.... Wonderful!

The fitness center is spacious and we had lovely massages at the spa. The rooms have stunning decor and each hotel employee we encountered was friendly and professional. When I asked the turn-down service housekeeper for chocolates, I found a little bag of them hanging on my door when I returned from dinner.

Because we were planning on having New Year's dinner and daily breakfast at our hotel, the restaurant's vegan-friendliness was of prime importance in choosing where to stay. Before reserving I called the restaurant and was assured that there was soymilk for breakfast and that "any entree can be made vegan" for dinner. This openness to our dietary needs and friendly willingness to accommodate was the decisive factor in choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco Hotel
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Mandarin Oriental San Francisco
Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin San Francisco
San Francisco Mandarin
San Francisco Mandarin Oriental
Address: 222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 158-room Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco is located in the heart of the city and offers unparalleled panoramic views of the bay and beyond from the top 11 floors of San Francisco's third tallest building, 345 California Center. Having recently completed an extensive refurbishment during its 25th Anniversary year with the addition of Brasserie S&P restaurant and bar, and an 8,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center, the hotel is consistently ranked among the world's top hotels by leading authorities. Features include Conde Nast Traveler 'Hot List' 2013 and Readers Choice Awards 2012 'Top 25 Hotels in N. California', Institutional Investor's 'World's Best Hotels 2012', Travel + Leisure 'World's Best Hotels' Awards 2011, U.S. News & World Report's 'Hotels in the USA', and is one of Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report's 2011 'Top 20 City Hotels in the World'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.