We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #6 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
St. John
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over the top service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Such a great place to stay in San Fran! The front desk service was superb, room service went above and beyond, even the valet made us feel special. The gin bar Brassiere in the hotel lobby had fantastic cocktails to choose from. But, by far the highlight was Naj, the bellman. He brought us up to our room and gingerly showed us how to work everything: windows, ipod dock, television. Then, on our departure, explained directions to our next destination and was just the kindest person I have met in a long time. I hope he is their on our next trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    84
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
63
148
16
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Not just the view and location, but the people are so friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to the 47th floor and were able to watch the Blue Angels perform right out our window!
We used their Mercedes town car to travel to a restaurant across town. The driver was wonderful. We didn't have to try to find a taxi to get home in the dark (SF is not like NY. To find a cab can be impossible).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I am fortunate to stay at the Mandarin Oriental SF 10-12 times per year. It is delightful to be greeted by name by the doorman, registration, restaurant, and concierge staff. MaryAnn really knows the SF restaurants; we often share our new discoveries. More often than not we are able to have the house car take us to dinner. Next to impossible to get a taxi in front of the hotel, not that they don't try to hail a taxi. Often have to walk several blocks to hail a taxi.

Rooms are quiet, lots of natural light and well thought out lamps/lighting, spacious and not the typical rectangular box. Beds are comfortable with plenty of pillows and easy access to lighting. Great sound system can plug in iPhone. New mirrors in bathroom with lights that surround the mirror are awesome. Plenty of free bottled water although the SF water supply is just as tasty. New exercise facilities now have windows with good selection of cardio and strength training equipment; can't afford the spa facilities. Depending on how full the hotel, determines how fast (or slow) the elevators.

The views of the SF Bay and Golden Gate and Bay Bridges are phenomenal; also fun to watch the cruise ships dock and see Coit Tower lit up in different colors depending upon the season and the sport team victories.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Simply excellent from doorman to the "room-with- a-view water bottles." We stayed on the 47th floor. The view was marvelous, the accomodations were impeccable, and the service second to none. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Last week I enjoyed my second stay in this beautiful hotel. I was traveling for business and the location in the Financial District was perfect. The rooms are immaculate, comfortable and well appointed. The views are unparalled. The elevators are prompt and swift, which is rare. The service of the staff was simply superb, from the moment I arrived until i was helped into a cab for my departure. They are doing something right at the Mandarin Oriental San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Loved everything about the place. Clean, frendly staff and hads down the best Hotel View in San Francisco. We used the meeting facilities for a conference the lay out was a bit wierd but I have nothing to complain about!!!

Best Business Hotel I've stayed in all year!!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was staying on the 41st floor, my room had great views. But besides the views this hotel has great service, extremely helpful staff, who welcomed me back quite a few times. Room services is impeccable, breakfast is great!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Address: 222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#13 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 158-room Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco is located in the heart of the city and offers unparalleled panoramic views of the bay and beyond from the top 11 floors of San Francisco's third tallest building, 345 California Center. Having recently completed an extensive refurbishment during its 25th Anniversary year with the addition of Brasserie S&P restaurant and bar, and an 8,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center, the hotel is consistently ranked among the world's top hotels by leading authorities. Features include Conde Nast Traveler 'Hot List' 2013 and Readers Choice Awards 2012 'Top 25 Hotels in N. California', Institutional Investor's 'World's Best Hotels 2012', Travel + Leisure 'World's Best Hotels' Awards 2011, U.S. News & World Report's 'Hotels in the USA', and is one of Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report's 2011 'Top 20 City Hotels in the World'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Mandarin San Francisco
San Francisco Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.