We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 (Financial District)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Offer
Ranked #8 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

As noted by other reviewers, the rooms are spacious and well appointed. We had a bay bridge suite which was excellent size. Bathrooms are huge with great views. Service is excellent. We had lunch and breakfast in restaurant. Not great atmosphere, but the food is very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    103
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
71
192
18
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I haven't stayed at a Manadarin Oriental hotel before, but I certainly will again. Over our 3 night stay, the service was superb, only one glitch in the bar and that was dealt with swiflty and effectively.
We stayed in one of the bridge to bridge rooms, worth every penny for the view and the gorgeous, comfortable room. Breathtaking, spoil yourself, you won't regret it.

The bar uses ipads for menus which is useful and allows you to see, at your lesisure, the full range of what is on offer. If you like gin this is the place for you, I would recommend the flight of gins, brillianlty put together with interesting diverse flavours.
Concierge and desk staff were extremely helpful. Consistently high standard of service throughout our stay.
If you like to walk, and this city is great for that, this hotel is well placed to walk to and from the highlights of the city. We walked to the Golden Gate Bridge, it was a long way but a great way to see the city and easy well posted route. If you don't want to eat in the resturant(we didn't) there are many many good resutrants round and about the hotel, 5 mins in most directions. There is also a superb off license next door. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and get a bridge to bridge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

expensive but well worth the money
there was a reduced restaurant service and the gym was closed because of refurbishment but as we ate out anyway it didn't really affect us
service was excellent from the bar staff, the receptionists and the numerous concierges (all of whom had the crossed keys) On one occasion when taxis were scarce two of the door attendants went half a block in opposite directions to get us one

the room could not be faulted nor could the view

Room Tip: save hard to get a bridge to bridge room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

You stay at this hotel for the views, The Bridge to Bridge room gives you precisely that and is highly recommended. Rooms are lovely and service good, however the in house restaurant is more a Cafe and we did not eat in once. Having said that there are thousands of good restaurants in San Francisco. Really enjoyed the stay and in particular the spectacular views

Room Tip: Bridge to Bridge room, has to be, higher floors preferably
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in a bay to bay view room. Spectacular views day and night. Very comfortable room - large comfortable bed, large bathrooms. Breakfast & dinner in the brasserie also excellent. All staff very friendly and helpful. Cannot fault it - hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this hotel based on the reputation of the grand hotel we know and love. My husband and I have been fortunate enough to have stayed at 9 other Mandarin's in the world. This one needs to immediately sent the entire staff to Hong Kong for training.
Yes, the view is amazing, and the bed is comfortable, but that's about all that can be said for this hotel. The decor could not be more 'vanilla', the welcome from staff more vapid, and the follow up even worse. What 5-star hotel front desk congratulates a guest for 'the highest number of guest stays she had ever seen' and then sends them to a handicapped room?( thankfully we were able to change rooms) A simple request for ice took two phone calls. The concierge desk was unhelpful and had to be reminded a mere 4 hours later that we were trying to secure tickets to a ball game scheduled for 2 days later--something that surely happens on a regular basis in a sports crazy town. The one trip we did ask them to investigate was completely arranged without our confirmation, and as we had to unexpectedly cut our trip short to return to Asia earlier, we are now going through extended red tape to get reimbursed for something we didn't even approve!
This may be the first Mandarin OrientaL in the US, but it's certainly not representative of the fine brand everywhere else worldwide.

Room Tip: Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_SANFRANCISCO, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco and for taking the time to give us your review on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the team, please know that we take your feedback seriously. We have recently undergone an extensive refurbishment of our entire hotel and are currently in the midst of training with colleagues from around the world. Your valued feedback will be addressed with our department heads so that we can continually get better every day.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco with a return visit in the future.

Sincerely,
Edwina Kluender
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Mandarin for 2 nights in early Sept. The hotel is first rate. The staff are helpful but unobtrusive. The views are simply stunning. We had a room on the 42nd floor overlooking the bay. The vista from the room took in the Golden Gate bridge all the way across to the bay suspension bridges. Unbelievable!

Would we stay again?

(sigh)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco

Address: 222 Sansome Street, San Francisco, CA 94104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 158-room Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco is located in the heart of the city and offers unparalleled panoramic views of the bay and beyond from the top 11 floors of San Francisco's third tallest building, 345 California Center. Having recently completed an extensive refurbishment during its 25th Anniversary year with the addition of Brasserie S&P restaurant and bar, and an 8,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center, the hotel is consistently ranked among the world's top hotels by leading authorities. Features include Conde Nast Traveler 'Hot List' 2013 and Readers Choice Awards 2012 'Top 25 Hotels in N. California', Institutional Investor's 'World's Best Hotels 2012', Travel + Leisure 'World's Best Hotels' Awards 2011, U.S. News & World Report's 'Hotels in the USA', and is one of Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report's 2011 'Top 20 City Hotels in the World'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Mandarin San Francisco
San Francisco Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.