We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #73 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
Pleasanton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Clean and comfortable. Probably could use a remodel soon, but not bad. Front desk personnel (especially Michael) are friendly and helpful. Parking is cheap and easy. Only a ten dollar cab ride to many sites, including San Francisco medical center.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    97
    42
    14
    5
See reviews for
70
78
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Laurel Inn in the Laurel Heights area of San Francisco. We were traveling from the South Bay so we had a car and the Laurel Inn had great parking (two levels). The room was clean and modern-looking, though I felt the toilet and shower-head were too small. The bed was comfortable and I loved that there was a couch and a coffee table in our small but perfectly adequate room.

One of my favorite aspects of the hotel was the 24-hour coffee and tea service. Sometimes I end up paying for roomservice breakfast just to get a good cup of coffee in the morning, but at the Laurel Inn, they make sure coffee is available all day and hot tea in the evenings. Plus they offer cookies in the afternoon and a decent selection of pastries in the morning: just enough to get some energy and embark on your day in San Francisco.

The location is also excellent. A lot of hotels in the city are in crowded, noisy, seedy parts of the city (around Union Square, Downtown, or Fisherman's Wharf for example). This hotel, near the beautiful Pacific Heights neighborhood and the Presidio, is perfect if you have a car or don't mind taking cabs. You can get anywhere in the city in ten to fifteen minutes. I highly recommend trekking up to the top of the hill and taking in the views around Lyon and Pacific.

We had a street-facing view, on the corner of California and Presidio. I'm sure the other side of the building had a nicer view, but we were on the third (top) floor so any noise was minimal. We were treated very very well by the front desk staff, especially Tanya, who went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we need.

Although the area is mostly residential, there are some shops and restaurants nearby. We never got to chance to try Ella's across the street, but we walked over to Geary Blvd one night and had a great dinner at The Corner Store restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The room is clean and nice. We booked a room with a nice little kitchen. The housekeeping staff cleaned our dishes every day. The free wifi was very fast. The hotel is not so conveniently located. It takes a 20-minute walk to the nearest cable car station. Booking.com says "breakfast included", but indeed they just provided croissants and coffee, and there was no table for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a great week at the Laurel Inn. All The staff are wonderful, they couldn't do enough for us and were just lovely for a chat when we would return from our daily outings.
it's a good area to walk in as shops and places to eat are so close, make sure you have breakfast or lunch at Ella's Restaurant which is across the road - the food is amazing!
Easy to get around on the buses and taxi fares to town are affordable

We will stay again next time we are in town

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Laurel Inn in San Francisco,CA is a conveniently located little hotel. It is surrounded by great restaurants, shopping, a movie theatre and right on city transportation lines (buses). The hotel staff were very attentive and took care of your needs within minutes. The price was a little steep ($265. per night) but similar compared with others in the area. I would have liked to have had a small fridge in the room in which to place my unfinished meals from the restaurants. I would return to this location as it is on the "cooler" temperature side of town. The weather was influenced by the Bay temps and it was a little hard to tell how to dress. Bring a good jacket as it can be cool at night. The architecture of the surrounding properties was a wonderfully refreshing added bonus even though they are in a drought situation. This hotel does offer parking.

Room Tip: Choose a third story room with a southern exposure for a good view of the city looking toward the Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very friendly and attentive staff; from the front desk to the cleaning and maid service. I had one minor issue and the manager responded right away.
The location was great for walking anywhere. Quick cab service too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night after making a last-minute reservation using HotelTonight. We were allocated a one-bed room but we were graciously upgraded to a two-bed room. Our questions were answered in a friendly manner and our needs were proactively addressed by Tonya.

This hotel is not at a walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf or Piers but offers about 25-35% savings, so it's a great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark L, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is nice to see that you had a nice experience at our hotel as well as in your dealings with Tanya. Thank you very much for your kind words. I am glad that you were able to find a good value at the Laurel Inn.

We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit to San Francisco.

Cordially,

Clark Latterell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the charming neighborhood that surrounds it, the Laurel Inn is noted for its warm sense of hospitality. Built in 1963, this newly renovated hotel represents a contemporary take on Mid-Century style to create a sophisticated and comfortable interior drenched in rich colors, relaxed textures, and ingenious details. Each spacious guestroom is designed in the style of a studio apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Inn San Francisco
Laurel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.