We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby-chic with a great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shabby-chic with a great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I loved this hotel. My room had a gorgeous city view and very comfortable bed. I slept well, even though I usually don't sleep well in hotels. I'd read a review here at tripadvisor complaining about a doggy smell, and I was worried about that, but I detected no such smell anywhere in the hotel. I wish I could have stayed longer. Breakfast at Ella's across the street was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    94
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
69
77
20
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We drove to San Francisco in response to a family emergency, and immediately chose the Laurel Inn, based on a previous stay because of its convenient location, lovely neighborhood, and easy street parking. From the moment we contacted the hotel until we returned home a week later, the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. We extended our initial reservation once, and then checked out and in again within a few hours when we realized that`our emergency had not resolved. We were welcomed back at the initial room rate and our room location request was honored even though the rate had increased. Our city view room was extremely comfortable. We appreciated the lovely touches in the lobby such at the all day coffee and tea service, spa water, and afternoon lemonade and cookies. We appreciated the delicious morning muffins and croissants. Exploring the immediate and surrounding neighborhoods, wandering through boutiques and trying local restaurants and gourmet shops provided welcome distraction and relaxation. Public transportation is readily available, and Union Square is an easy cab ride away. Overall we had a wonderful experience at this and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I would like to give a 4 star rating but because of the smell in the halls and room,I just can't!
I was on the 3rd flr street side-it is noisy in the am but I always bring a white noise machine wherever I go so for me, that helped.
A lot of people complain that the decor is outdated but my room was very "new" and so was the large clean bath! The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and spacious!
BUT
getting off the elevator there was a very strong "dirty dog" smell. I am a dog owner and I know that smell. I was disappointed that the room had it too! I opened the window and luckily we weren't in there much so it did air out

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieSpidell, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear NickPhila,

I am so glad that you enjoyed the spacious room and bathroom on your recent stay. I understand your comments regarding the corridors in particular. We are actually beginning a corridor renovation later this month that will address the issues you noted. We are also looking into more options to upgrade our rooms as well. I will also be sure to have our housekeeping team address the "mustiness" you noted in the room. I am confident that this issue will be quickly remedied.

Thank you for your time and feedback! We hope to see you again in the future!

Safe travels,

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I lived in Presidio Heights, and were excited to re-visit our old "hood." Picked the Laurel Inn based on location. Given prior reviews, we were dubious, so with moderate expectations went ahead with our reservation. On arrival, really disappointed. I think my husband's quote was "I didn't realize we booked a hostel." Room was roomy and clean, and bed comfortable with nice linens. Threadbare carpeting from the 80's, and bath likely from the 70's with tile and counters resurfaced, not replaced. Not a boutique hotel by any means, and a completly let down especially considering how much we paid ($369 per night)! If you are looking for a clean, functional hotel in this residential section of San Francisco, book it but negotiate price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieSpidell, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear BostonTraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you found the beds comfortable and our rooms spacious. However, I am very sorry that failed to meet your expectations on the rest of the room. We are looking into some options to address the carpeting and bathroom issues that you noted. We take our guest feedback very seriously and are excited about the options that we are looking into. Again, thank you for your time and your candor.

Safe travels,
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This homey hotel has a very helpful staff that can tell you best ways to get to places and give you a good map of San Fran. Pet friendly. Good restaurants nearby. Citibank 1 short block away. Delicious free cookies too!
The only down sides are: No screens on the window so mosquitos got inside my room and the Hotel is not near BART trains so you have to take a taxi or old bus to get to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good location right in heart of San Fran. Parking is tight and not free (pet peeve of mine), but room is very comfortable if a little outdated. I would recommend if you like cute, quaint, quiet little hotels. If you are going to eat, go across the street to Ella's, incredible!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieSpidell, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
StGermaine84,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and Ella's. That is our staff's favorite breakfast spot too. We hope to see you again soon!

Safe travels,

Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Loved this hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable with a spectacular city view. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was perfect with easy access to the Presidio and shopping areas along Fillmore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the charming neighborhood that surrounds it, the Laurel Inn is noted for its warm sense of hospitality. Built in 1963, this newly renovated hotel represents a contemporary take on Mid-Century style to create a sophisticated and comfortable interior drenched in rich colors, relaxed textures, and ingenious details. Each spacious guestroom is designed in the style of a studio apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Inn San Francisco
Laurel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.