We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of fun place, but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Cars Stay Free
Ranked #78 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
SAn Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kind of fun place, but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had an early appointment at UCSF, Mt Zion campus, so decided to stay near-by. This hotel is kind of funky. I agree that some of it felt dorm-like, particularly the bathroom. The room itself was very appealing with a nice sitting area.
The bar was very fun, friendly bartender (makes good martinis!, nice gas fire. The bar food was good. And had an interesting mix of locals and visitors.
We had a room right on the street and we were worried that it might be noisy, but things quieted down about 10 pm. We were up at 6 AM, so can't speak to morning noise. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well.
All that said, I do think the hotel is overpriced - out total bill (room, parking, taxes -bar bill separate) was around $350 - a lot for a non-luxury hotel. If you find a good deal, stay here.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieSpidell, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dutchmare -

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and hope you can return for a fun visit to SF next time. We often offer promotions on our website, so keep an eye out for some packages that may be more in line with your budget. The time of year you visited can be a bit more expensive as we get a lot of families staying with us to visit locals over the holidays.

Safe travels!
Katie Spidell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    108
    50
    16
    5
See reviews for
79
90
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel felt a bit like a dorm. Metal doors and tiny elevator, small lobby, poor bathrooms. This is not a luxury property and you shouldn't expect it to be, hopefully you get a really great rate if you stay here. It is a block off California and a block off Sacramento St. in a great shopping area, all serious pluses. Pluses also include free drink coupons at check in for the attached bar (although when we went in they were doing a locals' quiz night and it felt like the scene in Animal House when the music stops and everyone stares upon entering the bar) so we took our drinks to go. They charge for their underground parking but we had no problems with free overnight street parking on Sacramento - another plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verviers, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A native of San Francisco who moved away after university and now lives abroad, I and my wife have chosen the Laurel Inn for the past twenty-two years as the place we stay when returning to visit my old friends and classmates from over a half-century ago. The competent long-term staff...front desk and maintenance...are always welcoming. In a central location away from the hubbub of tourist areas, it's a quiet home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieSpidell, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Daniel -

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. We are so happy to be your home away from home and truly appreciate your loyalty. We hope you return "home" soon!

Warmest regards,
Katie Spidell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I just spent 3 days at the Laurel Inn. We have stayed there many times and always enjoy it as the location in the city is very convenient to where ever you want to go but is not as congested as downtown. The buses are right outside the door on California Street and are very timely, easy to use and avoid parking problems. The hotel rooms are large and the service is excellent and very friendly.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the city side, not the Presidio side. It is a little more expensive but you have a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A great place for location, expertise of staff and very comfortable accommodations for a 2 night stay while in the neighborhood for business. The added plus of parking makes this a gem here. I would like to say that the front desk staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful during my day, a great representation of the culture for the Laurel Inn. I enjoyed the room with space to work and relax, with boutique decor making it homey and comfortable. I would definitely stay again if business brings me back to the Laurel Heights area of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The small lobby is comfortable and very clean, and the reception people friendly and helpful. There is coffee/tea in the lobby 24/7, the wi-fi worked well for me, the the room was well-appointed and spotlessly clean. This hotel is a little on the expensive side, but, hey, it is San Francisco. I attended meetings for two days (across the street at the Jewish Community Center), and had a very good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a great stay at the Laurel Inn. The location is in Pacific Heights, a great neighborhood not necessarily known for it's tourist amenities. If you are a tourist don't let that stop you from staying here - you can easily get around SF. There is on-site parking, a cafe and bar on-site We have a four year old so the kitchenette came in handy for cooking up some toddler food and snacks. They have some nice touches like cookies in the afternoon and coffee and pastries in the morning.

The rates were somewhat pricey but not unreasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the charming neighborhood that surrounds it, the Laurel Inn is noted for its warm sense of hospitality. Built in 1963, this newly renovated hotel represents a contemporary take on Mid-Century style to create a sophisticated and comfortable interior drenched in rich colors, relaxed textures, and ingenious details. Each spacious guestroom is designed in the style of a studio apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Inn San Francisco
Laurel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.