We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, dormitory style” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel to your Saves list
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115 (Pacific Heights)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #71 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
San Anselmo, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good location, dormitory style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel felt a bit like a dorm. Metal doors and tiny elevator, small lobby, poor bathrooms. This is not a luxury property and you shouldn't expect it to be, hopefully you get a really great rate if you stay here. It is a block off California and a block off Sacramento St. in a great shopping area, all serious pluses. Pluses also include free drink coupons at check in for the attached bar (although when we went in they were doing a locals' quiz night and it felt like the scene in Animal House when the music stops and everyone stares upon entering the bar) so we took our drinks to go. They charge for their underground parking but we had no problems with free overnight street parking on Sacramento - another plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    94
    42
    13
    5
See reviews for
69
77
20
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verviers, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A native of San Francisco who moved away after university and now lives abroad, I and my wife have chosen the Laurel Inn for the past twenty-two years as the place we stay when returning to visit my old friends and classmates from over a half-century ago. The competent long-term staff...front desk and maintenance...are always welcoming. In a central location away from the hubbub of tourist areas, it's a quiet home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieSpidell, General Manager at Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Daniel -

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay. We are so happy to be your home away from home and truly appreciate your loyalty. We hope you return "home" soon!

Warmest regards,
Katie Spidell, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I just spent 3 days at the Laurel Inn. We have stayed there many times and always enjoy it as the location in the city is very convenient to where ever you want to go but is not as congested as downtown. The buses are right outside the door on California Street and are very timely, easy to use and avoid parking problems. The hotel rooms are large and the service is excellent and very friendly.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the city side, not the Presidio side. It is a little more expensive but you have a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A great place for location, expertise of staff and very comfortable accommodations for a 2 night stay while in the neighborhood for business. The added plus of parking makes this a gem here. I would like to say that the front desk staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful during my day, a great representation of the culture for the Laurel Inn. I enjoyed the room with space to work and relax, with boutique decor making it homey and comfortable. I would definitely stay again if business brings me back to the Laurel Heights area of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, PA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The small lobby is comfortable and very clean, and the reception people friendly and helpful. There is coffee/tea in the lobby 24/7, the wi-fi worked well for me, the the room was well-appointed and spotlessly clean. This hotel is a little on the expensive side, but, hey, it is San Francisco. I attended meetings for two days (across the street at the Jewish Community Center), and had a very good stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a great stay at the Laurel Inn. The location is in Pacific Heights, a great neighborhood not necessarily known for it's tourist amenities. If you are a tourist don't let that stop you from staying here - you can easily get around SF. There is on-site parking, a cafe and bar on-site We have a four year old so the kitchenette came in handy for cooking up some toddler food and snacks. They have some nice touches like cookies in the afternoon and coffee and pastries in the morning.

The rates were somewhat pricey but not unreasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a delightful 2-night stay at the Laurel Inn (Oct. 12-14, 2012): the room was a generous size and was very well appointed, the location perfect (not far from our daughter's apartment), and the staff was friendly and professional. What made us smile again and again were the little extra's and thoughtful luxuries that were provided: lemonade and cookies after an afternoon exploring the city; coffee and pastries in the morning (and even a tray to take them back to your room); easy printing of boarding passes in the lobby; and luscious bath products. Most importantly, though, was the attitude of every staff member we encountered, from the ladies at the front desk to the housekeeping staff. They all made us feel so welcome - and from now on, when we visit San Francisco, The Laurel Inn will be our home away from home. We highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 444 Presidio Ave, San Francisco, CA 94115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Pacific Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the charming neighborhood that surrounds it, the Laurel Inn is noted for its warm sense of hospitality. Built in 1963, this newly renovated hotel represents a contemporary take on Mid-Century style to create a sophisticated and comfortable interior drenched in rich colors, relaxed textures, and ingenious details. Each spacious guestroom is designed in the style of a studio apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Inn, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Hotel San Francisco
Laurel Inn San Francisco
Laurel San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.