We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Union Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Campton Place to your Saves list
Taj Campton Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Union Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Special Offer
Ranked #26 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“In the heart of Union Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The hotel staff is very friendly. If you are going to do some shopping in San Francisco this is the perfect place to stay. The room was nice, clean and seemed updated. The breakfast was good, but the fruit seemed like it was previously frozen. The only draw back was that the lobby smelled a little like curry.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lor13149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear lor13149,

Thank you for spend the time to share your experience and feedback with us. We thank you for highlighting our staff as well as our great shopping location in the heart of San Francisco. We also thank you for recognizing our recent update to our guest rooms. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed it.

In regards to the smell in the lobby, we are aware of the occasional smell, and are taking the measures to see how we can change this. We apologize that you experienced this.

We hope that you return for your next trip to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel three times and each time we hope it would get better but it continues to disappoint. We have stayed at almost every Taj internationally and sadly this hotel doesnt live up to a taj at all.

The rooms are ok but not really upgraded so they give you a feel of an older hotel. They are clean but not the quality you expect from Taj.

The housekeeping is just down right rude and disrespectful - we had done a lot of shopping and had scattered wrapping paper and just the bags on the floor. When I walked in as housekeeping was cleaning the room, she told me "Here is the trash can!", I tipped her five dollars and told her to go ahead and clean the room. She still left all the wrapping paper there, that night, we called front desk and told them not to let the same lady clean our room.
The next day, we get a call from the front desk saying housekeeping is saying there is a stain on a lampshade and you will be charged $100 for it. Ummm, isnt that a coincidence but either way, we call the front desk and the general manager and eventually got the charge removed.

Overall, this is an average hotel but we wont be going back as there are better options at the same, if not better price.

The location is amazing and the door man is friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravel2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear lovetotravel2812,

Greetings from Taj Campton Place!

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are genuinely interested in your impressions and truly always endeavor to provide the best possible experience for all our guests. I regret very much that we failed to provide that experience to you and ask that you accept my deepest apologies for our shortcomings.

I was very concerned to note about your experience with the housekeeping and the concierge. This is certainly not the way that we look after our esteemed guests. I have taken this up with the concerned individuals. I assure you that this will not be repeated for your future visits.

Thank you once again for being such a loyal supporter of the Taj Group. We hope we may look forward to welcoming you back to Taj Campton Place the next time you plan to be in San Francisco.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

As we were on our honeymoon the Taj Campton Place upgrade us for free which was a wondeful gesture. We had a dual aspect room which overlooked Union Square. The rooms aren't all that big, but for a city hotel they were fine with plenty of storage and a good sized bathroom.

The location is fantastic with everything being within walking distance, although Fisherman's Wharf take about 25 minutes to walk to so wear flats.

The customer service was great, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. If you have a car with you I would recommend parking at a local car park and not using the valet service as this is very expensive. The hotel are happy to help you with this and tell you where best to go.

For a city break, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher up you stay the better as you then have great views of the square if you stay at the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2015
Dear Amy G,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We are looking forward to your future visit to our hotel.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I'm here all the time. The Doormen at this place are soooooooo nice!! So helpful and knowledgable. Their food and bar selection impressive and the location can't be beat !!
Thank you!! Union square is right there and there are taxis in front to take you any where.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getoutandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear getoutandtravel,

Thank you for spending the time to write this great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, and that you find our employees to be personable and nice. It is reviews like these that inspire us to continue to provide five-star service everyday.

We hope that you return to our hotel again soon so that we can make your next stay just as memorable.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The campion place has a wonderful location on Union square.the rooms are well sized and comfortable. A la carte breakfast was good and the chef readily made Indian/vegetarian options such as poha and paratha which was a treat for us!

The six course meal at the hotel restaurant was an absolute treat and definitely not worth missing out. One of our best meals!!

Everyone at the taj was extremely cheerful ,warm and pleasant. Maria the concierge was extremely helpful in planning our day trips and made some wonderful reccomendations that made our trip even more special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmiRKothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear AmiRKothari,

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay with us, and that you enjoyed our food prepared by Chef Sri.

We will be sure to let Maria know that you enjoyed her recommendations, and that she was able ot help you have a memorable trip in San Francisco.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to The City by The Bay.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am not sure what the fuss is about this hotel - average lobby, overpriced wi-fi access (charged per device and not even free in the lobby), ok rooms with banged up furniture, grumpy staff, hallways smell of paint, zero perks and average decor. This hotel is definitely not a Leading Hotel of World - management must have paid for this status.

I was awoken in the morning by water running through the pipes at 6am (initially I thought it was raining in my room). Also the gym is far from modern - basically outdoor gym with outdated equipment.

There are much better hotel experiences elsewhere in San Fran for much less. Don't waste your money - you will be disappointed. I travel a lot for work and pleasure and this place left a lot to be desired.

2 star hotel at best.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnySSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Johnny,

We always appreciate feedback from our guests, but would much have preferred that you speak to us first about any problems you experienced so that we had an opportunity to correct your impression of our hotel. Not knowing which room you occupied or which date you were here makes it difficult to respond specifically. We are updating our rooms, one room at a time, the schedule depending largely on occupancy. However, the hallways are maintained on a regular basis which occasionally means the smell of fresh paint which dissipates quickly. In the meantime, all our rooms feature luxurious Frette linens, top quality down comforters and Molton Brown toiletries. Our fitness center is not meant to be a full service gym, but will allow for a full body workout, more than adequate for our small hotel and for a few days stay. The equipment is also top quality and not outdated. If a guest requires a larger facility, our concierge will be happy to arrange for day use with a more traditional gym.

We’re sorry you will not be staying with us should you return to San Francisco, but hope time will soften your attitude about our hotel.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The first thought about the Taj is how close it is to all the quality shops. Your next impression is how nice the reception hall is. To be honest my thoughts from there, as we travelled to our room, were that the hotel had seen its best years and showed signs of age albeit a graceful ageing not a tatty ageing. Our room was very nice. Large, bright and airy, very clean and plenty of storage. In the bathroom it was clean but the taps on the basin only dribbled water and it seemed too easy to block the toilet! The restaurant we used for breakfast twice and, although comparatively expensive was excellent and worth the money although you don't have to travel far to find a French coffee shop or feed your face alongside the locals including police at Lefty O'Douls a large sports bar that serves a first class fry up. Internet is free in a room next door to the reception desk. I grew to really enjoy this hotel as, once you accept that it shows its age a little it becomes as comfortable as an older, but attractive slipper. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room 419 was a larger room than our neighbours as it was in a corner of the building. The view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_G-Rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi_Matcheswala, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, October 15, 2015
Dear The_G-Rs,

Thank you for your excellent review of Taj Campton Place. We have started offering wifi on a complimentary basisin the hotel. We are looking forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Warm regards
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Tel 415-781-5555
ashrafi.matcheswala@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,862 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#27 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 3,331 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Nob Hill
The Scarlet Huntington
The Scarlet Huntington
#9 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Address: 340 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#52 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Campton Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing