We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location and very comfortable stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Campton Place to your Saves list
Taj Campton Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location and very comfortable stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The first thought about the Taj is how close it is to all the quality shops. Your next impression is how nice the reception hall is. To be honest my thoughts from there, as we travelled to our room, were that the hotel had seen its best years and showed signs of age albeit a graceful ageing not a tatty ageing. Our room was very nice. Large, bright and airy, very clean and plenty of storage. In the bathroom it was clean but the taps on the basin only dribbled water and it seemed too easy to block the toilet! The restaurant we used for breakfast twice and, although comparatively expensive was excellent and worth the money although you don't have to travel far to find a French coffee shop or feed your face alongside the locals including police at Lefty O'Douls a large sports bar that serves a first class fry up. Internet is free in a room next door to the reception desk. I grew to really enjoy this hotel as, once you accept that it shows its age a little it becomes as comfortable as an older, but attractive slipper. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room 419 was a larger room than our neighbours as it was in a corner of the building. The view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    169
    61
    24
    22
See reviews for
79
232
34
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The Taj Campton Place has it all-beauty, comfort, and location! It has a gorgeous lobby, bar, and Michelin-starred restaurant. The rooms were much larger than expected and lovely, also. There was such great closet and drawer space! The bathroom was well-decorated and nicely appointed. The staff provides an exceptional level of professionalism and care. They assisted us in navigating all over the city, and arranged transportation easily for us.
It is well-located, close to shopping, Union Square, Chinatown, and the trolley line.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mstraveler2013,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read the feedback that we receive from the guests who stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all of our amenities, location, and our Michelin Star restaurant! Being just steps away from all of the wonderful shopping and many of the other great attractions in San Francisco is always a guest favorite.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I stayed at the Taj for two nights for work and was very impressed with it! The location is perfect, the service is amazing and definitely the best location, in the heart of the city close to everything! Loved it and would stay here again and suggest it to friends!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

You really can't ask for a better location in the heart of Union Square. Excellent service, really friendly staff, super comfortable bed and the room was very well appointed. I think with a smaller property like this you receive a more personalized level of service - every time we walked in or our, a staff member greeted us. The room while not large, was very well appointed and had a nice feeling of luxury. I loved the Molton Brown products.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here for just one night on work. The exterior and the lobby of the hotel don't really reflect the true charm of the hotel. In think these two areas need an upgrade.

The room was nice as was the bathroom. Nice Molten Brown amenities - always helps! The view was nothing to write home about as the hotel is in the heart of downtown SF so if you want to be in the thick of it, this is the place to be. All the top brand names have their shops around the hotel and there are plenty of restaurants too.

I would stay here again purely bec of the location and the staff who we were very polite and helpful. What one would expect from a Taj Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear vman63,

Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel. It is an honor to read all of the kind feedback that our guests share with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our room, bathroom, and our Molton Brown bathroom amenities.

We are indeed in the heart of San Francisco's downtown, off of Union Square. We hope that even though you only stayed with us for one night, that you were able to leisurely shop at all of the top brands. In addition, we are proud to have a top-notch team, who are all committed to the practice of perfect hospitality.

We hope that you return for your next stay in San Francisco - hopefully it will be for leisure, and not business. Till then.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went on to stay at the Taj after six days at the Four Seasons on Market street and it took some adjusting to being in a boutique hotel. We had read the reviews before hand, but as we are members of The leading Hotels of the world trusted that it would be of a high standard. Just a note re this membership, it is superb and the benefits absolutely make joining a must! We had a deluxe double which was on the small ish side, but beautifully appointed. The bathroom likewise, but you had to climb up some steps into the bath to turn the tap on as it was impossible to reach round the shower screen and I am 6ft 4. This made bath temperature difficult as you had to then climb back in to adjust or turn the taps off. A bit of a design fault! The staff were fabulous and made you feel very at home. Room service was delicious and good value and the hotel is perfectly placed for Union square top notch shopping. All in all no complaints, but I do think expensive in comparison to the Other five star hotels in the city for accommodation and facilities.

Room Tip: I would opt for the basic room as these looked very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Taj Campton and were very pleased with the location and over all service. The rooms are small but that seems typical for San Francisco but the beds were amazingly comfortable ( I am a big "bed" person!!). My only gripe is that when you are paying around $500 per night for a room (that includes all the extra "charges" that magically appear on your bill at checkout), they could a least include the in-room coffee for free. Overall, A very nice place to stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear samcow1,

We are thrilled to hear that you chose to stay with us for the first time. Thank you for highlighting our location, and our great rooms. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Address: 340 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#82 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Campton Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Campton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.