We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Campton Place

Save Saved
You added Taj Campton Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Best Rate
Ranked #49 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Aventura, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Location - Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Overall, we were very pleased with our recent stay at the Taj Campton. Our check-in experience was efficient and friendly. Everyone was extremely professional and welcoming. The lobby is quite small, but is partially open to the adjacent restaurant and bar. We had breakfast in the restaurant each day. The service was top notch, and the food was excellent. One evening we had drinks and appetizers at the bar. We enjoyed wonderful company and unique drinks from the bartender, as well as great bar food. We were on a high floor, but never once had to wait for an elevator. The hallways are filled with natural light and are cheerful. Their gym is also very nice, AND, if you use it early in the morning, you will find complimentary coffee and delicious bakery products in the bar. Those same items become quite expensive a little later when they are served in the dining room.
Our room, which had been upgraded was fairly large and comfortable for downtown San Francisco. The drawer and closet space was adequate for a two night stay, but not quite enough for a more extended stay. Although very bland and beige, the bedroom and lounging area were very nice and comfortable. The bed and bedding were wonderful. The room was immaculate, as was the rest of the hotel.
The bathroom, although quite visually attractive, had several flaws. There was plenty of counter space, but only one sink. Rather than use a shower curtain, they installed a swinging piece of glass. The glass makes the room look big and open, but is clumsy to hold back when you are trying to turn on and adjust the water. Additionally, it took a half dozen attempts each time we used to shower to get it to go from tub to shower, and one morning, there was not enough hot water. The toilet has a button on the side to flush which was a bit inconvenient to reach, and uncomfortable to hold down when you push it. On the plus side, the bathroom products were Molton Brown, a step above many. The towels could have been a bit bigger and softer, but were more than adequate, and the bathrobes were high quality and extremely soft.
It was lovely to have a coffee maker in the room, but the pods for it were not replaced at all during our stay, although complimentary bottles of water were constantly replenished.
Yes, we would stay there again, most significantly for the location which was convenient to everything. The pictures on their website are very accurate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    129
    48
    23
    21
See reviews for
66
197
33
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I got a very good rate here on Hotwire and was very pleased with my stay. Great location for Union Square. Room was very quiet and comfortable. Gym was a bit different, on a covered terrace upstairs but had everything I needed. Overall very nice place with top-notch service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear EJG4,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Taj Campton Place. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with your accommodations! Our centralized location, in the heart of Union Square, is definitely a plus when you are traveling to San Francisco! We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future!

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Taj was everything we expected from a top hotel in San Francisco! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. They even helped me find a doctor when I was not feeling well during our stay. The manager also checked in after our stay to make sure I was feeling better.

In addition to a fantastic staff, the hotel is beautiful. The rooms are always clean, and the turn down service is just what one needs after a long day touring San Francisco. My husband and I would definitely return to the Taj if staying in San Francisco as the location is very convenient to food and shopping in Union Square.

The only downside is they have a very strong fragrance in the lobby, so people sensitive to such smells may not want to spend too much time downstairs. The rooms, however, do not have any strong scents.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We only stayed in San Fran for one night before our Pacific Coast Highway road trip. The reception staff were polite and professional. The room was large, with a lovely bathroom. The hotel also provide a turn down service, complete with slippers and a dressing gown-very cute. There is a gym with basic cardio equipment and weights, but we made use of this following our flight. We didn't eat at the hotel, both supper and breakfast were taken at Lori's diner on Sutter-very nice too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Joanna M,

Thank you so much for choosing Taj Campton Place, and your Pacific Coast Highway road trip sounds so exciting! We hope you had a wonderful trip and enjoyed all of the lovely scenery up and down the California coast. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your room accommodations and found our staff to be polite and professional. During your next visit to Taj Campton Place, you will have to dine in our Michelin Star Campton Place Restaurant or have a drink in our Bistro Bar. We hope you had a wonderful excursion and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Not the most inexpensive but worth every penny. The location is walking distance to all the best shopping and great restaurants. Also you can walk to China town and the mall. Service at the hotel is superb and the ambience warm and luxurious!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ktprezioso,

Thank you so much for labeling us as the Best Boutique Hotel in Union Square! We truly appreciate your praise and are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Taj Campton Place. It sounds as though you were able to take advantage of our centralized location in Union Square, and hopefully were able to get in plenty of shopping! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our warm and inviting ambiance. We look forward to hosting you again!

Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My new husband and I arrived in SF on 9 May 2013 for the start of our honeymoon from a long flight from Ireland...we were greeted with very kind guy at reception who gave us a very warm welcome and gave us complimentary wifi for the duration of our stay as part of honeymoon gift which was 5days.. which saved us about 50-70dollars for the week.
We ate that evening in the bar/lounge area and OMG the food is just delicious, a little pricey but worth it.. very relaxed and chilled atmosphere in the entire hotel you would hardly feel you were right in the middle of SF... the hotel is right on the doorstep of all shops bars cafes so you cant go wrong regarding its location.
The room was spotless they gave us a mini suite bathroom was fab and the bed sheets & pillows were unreal sooo comfortable, the bathroom had my favourite wash Molton Brown & they had fruit on arrival, turn down service each night with tv set for next day weather report. The hotel has a Michelin star restaurant which we never tried out unfortunately, as the bistro was just divine food. We had a issue with one of the tours we had booked they forgot to collect us which the hotel receptionist kindly sorted it out with the tour and got us where we needed to be before the tour begun, which was very kind of them as we had booked the tour outside the hotel. Overall we we were so happy with the hotel, could not fault it in anyway. Perfect stay in SF... ps they had fresh coffee/tea pastrys each morning complimentary, lovely bonus!

Room Tip: we had a suite at the back of the hotel, it was so quiet if your looking for peace and quiet request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Perfect location, Egyptian cotton sheets, Molton brown toiliteries and great staff ! Couldn't have been happier. The room was small but its beside union square so that's understandable. The bathroom and shower were lovely, strong shower and great bathrobes. I would definitely stay here again. There is an Alamo rental car less then two blocks away which is convenient as a drop off point as we travelled in from Yosemite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear CarolinaCork,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our centralized location, Molton Brown amenities, bedding and staff. It sounds as though you were very pleased with your room accommodations, which we are always very pleased to hear! We hope you had a wonderful time in San Francisco and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Address: 340 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#81 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Campton Place 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Travelocity, LHW, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Campton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.