We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bites!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Campton Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Campton Place to your Saves list
Taj Campton Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice bites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My local friend reccomended this small bar and bistro. It was a little pricey, but then again I'm not used to San Franscisco. I had the specialty drink made from ginger liqueur. It tasted like medicine. It was served in a small wine glass filled to half and was priced at $17 . Ouch! I opted to have the veggie burger that was delicious . My friend had the tuna tar tar . Both entrees were served with a cone of fries. (best part).service was wonderful and the ambiance was very chic. Say yes to the fries!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    168
    61
    24
    22
See reviews for
78
232
34
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've been to San Francisco 100 times and have stayed in many hotels, I tend to favor the best hotels and values over point systems and hotel clubs. Thus, at a very attractive low-season price, we grabbed 3 rooms for 3 nights on a business trip. At normal pricing this is a great hotel, at an attractive rate you will do no better when visiting the Bay Area. Service is at Taj standards, which means the best in the hotel industry (a few others may be as good, none much better). Centrally located with a top quality restaurant, this boutique property (only 112 rooms) was a great choice for our stay.

Room Tip: Facing the street was not noisy, an ally room can be a bit darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrafi M, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear KPBoulder,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so delighted you chose to stay with us during your recent business trip to San Francisco. We pride ourselves on our service and appreciate your kind remarks in regards to our Taj Standards. Hopefully you were able to dine with us at Michelin Star Campton Place Restaurant, which truly is one of the best restaurants in the city. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed at the Taj Campton Place in San Francisco, the location is excellent in Union Square.
Boutique hotel and the rooms are excellent with Molton Brown bathroom amenities. The rooms are very big and the bathrooms are so spacious.
What is special about this hotel is the service of the Concierge and the Front Office team. Really friendly and very guest focused. Will definitely return to this hotel and recommend it.

The sound proofing though was not so good, I can hear doors closing/banging when the other guests leave their rooms.

Room Tip: If you need bottles of water and you are arriving late from a flight and the complimentary water is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Small and awkwardly shaped room, extra charges for internet, no blackout curtains, noisy and housekeeping calling us despite a privacy sign - not what I would expect for the price we paid and I would certainly not go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear rda_10,

We were delighted to have you with us and so sorry to read that you were not so delighted as we. I do however, thank you for taking the time to let us know of the reasons for your dissatisfaction regarding your recent stay at Taj Campton Place. It is always more pleasant to see nothing but positive notations and comments, but surely more beneficial to learn where improvement is required.

We are genuinely interested in your impressions and truly always endeavor to provide the best possible experience for all our guests. I regretted reading how we so missed the mark during your stay. In response to your remarks, the cost of your room was in relation to our occupancy and we were completely sold out on the night you were here. We are a boutique hotel and our rooms are more on the scale of small European luxury hotels. We are in the process of changing out the drapes in all our rooms and will shortly have blackout drapes throughout the hotel. We have listened to our guests and as of the first of this month, we are extending complimentary internet access throughout the hotel. Finally, there is no excuse for your having been called after you had put the “do not disturb” sign on your door and you may be sure that particular standard has been reiterated to the room attendants.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in our hospitality and that we may welcome you back to Taj Campton Place the next time you come to San Francisco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights in this great hotel - and it is fantastic.

Great location, great staff, great service and some of the best rooms that I have seen for a while. Couldn't find any fault with it at all (free wifi would have been good though)

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear StephenOwen,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay with us at Taj Campton Place. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Ashrafi Matcheswala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The main important thing I liked about this hotel is its location. Its right near the union square with all shopping malls like Macy's around. Walkable from the nearest metro station. Also in a walkable distance from China bazaar which is a good time pass place to shop. A very nice hotel but luxury wise not comparable to other Taj hotels in India. The rooms are a bit small and bathroom is good and spacious. Food is good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear KeerthiBala,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our centralized location across from Union Square and it sounds as though you were able to take advantage of some great shopping! Our restaurant, Campton Place Restaurant, has received one Michelin Star for the third year in a year thanks to Chef Sri and our exceptional culinary team. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to the chef! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Thank you for choosing Taj Campton Place.

Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a great Hotel! Service, Food, all right next to Union Square. A wonderful experience, will go back for sure. The beds were Goose Down, breakfast was awesome and we had dinner at the 5 star Campton Place Rest in the hotel. Wine list was extensive, food was impeccable to say the least. So close to all the shopping right out the front door in Beautiful Union Square in downtown San Francisco.

Frank Hill

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Address: 340 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#81 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Campton Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LHW, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Campton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.