We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Campton Place

Save Saved
You added Taj Campton Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Taj Campton Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off Best Rate
Ranked #49 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at the Taj Campton Place for part of our honeymoon. We'd flown a long way and immediately were made welcome by the attentive reception staff and the concierge. The room was excellent with a large bathroom and an extremely comfy bed which was excellent after an 11-hour flight! Everyone made us feel very welcome and made the beginning of our honeymoon very special. We also ate in the restaurant on the first evening which is fantastic.

Thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, General Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Congratulations on your marriage! We were so pleased to learn we were able to be a part of this special time in your life and that we had a small part in making it even more special. It was also a delight to read of your pleasure in our restaurant—a restaurant worthy of its Michelin recognition.

We wish you all the best in your future lives together and hope to be able to celebrate your anniversaries with you as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    129
    48
    23
    21
See reviews for
66
197
33
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greenwich, ct
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

An absolutely lovely hotel with a great staff. Small and intimate with a terrific restaurant (one Michelin star). Couldn't wait to sink into the extremely comfortable bed with top quality bedding.
You can't get a more convenient location - right in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Taj Campton Place is a very nice hotel in a fantastic location right on Union Square. The rooms are quite small but well presented, if a little bland! The amenities supplied in the bathroom were of high quality. The room was turned down twice per day and the maids did an absolutely fantastic job. The reception staff greeted us by name every time they saw us and all the staff were a pleasure to meet. It was the friendly and welcoming service that would draw us back to this hotel without a doubt.
Despite being in a busy part of town our sleep was not disturbed by noise at all due to the extremely effective windows! I would highly recommend this hotel. My only complaint would be that wifi really should be free in a hotel of this calibre (we stayed in considerably less expensive hotels where the wifi was complimentary).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for your very kind words about the service your received and about our friendly associates. We think very highly of them as well and they exhibit a true sense of service and hospitality in the most natural way. I was sorry to read of your displeasure about the charge for WiFi in your guestroom which comes from our carrier; however we do offer complimentary service in our business chamber as well as with several of our packages. Please ask about them the next time you call for reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

One of the BEST hotel experiences we have ever had! We felt like members of the Taj family! Rare to find this level of hospitality and attention to detail. From the superb front desk staff, helpful concierge and friendly doorman to the unbelievable housekeeping staff (so discreet we barely saw them) but whose presence we felt each day when returned to our meticulous rooms -- daily turn down service hands-down best we have ever encountered in any luxury hotel. Each staff member ultra professional and made us feel like VIPs. The restaurant breakfast outstanding (e.g. presentation to choices - something for everyone including international travelers). Service bit slow couple of mornings but friendly staff more than made up for pace. Loved pots of chai (real deal like they make it in India) as alternative to coffee in the morning. Can't say enough about this superb place. The Campton Suite was the perfect configuration for families travelling with older kids (teens in our case) - right amount of promixity and privacy. Free coffee service in am in bar nice plus. Book your stay with confidence. The place is a GEM - superb central location close to everything! Once you step into the lobby, everything else that follows will not disappoint. FIVE STARS!!!! Taj made our trip to a beautiful city a lasting memory....

Room Tip: Campton Suite/Connecting Room great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
As you may know from reading other Taj Campton Place reviews on TripAdvisor, many of them are very good indeed, but your review has simply blown us away. We do try our very best to ensure each of our guests has a pleasant and comfortable stay--and we would like it to memorable as well--but when we read words such as yours, it reinforces the reason we became members of the hospitality industry. It would be an understatement to say we were pleased we succeeded in making your visit a good one and in all humility, we can only say, “Thank you so very much.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed here a few nights late March and we couldn't have been more pleased! I'm not crazy about the big "name brand" Hotels and decided to try this cute, Boutique Hotel. The staff was amazing and very friendly (Dan was my favorite). The rooms were cleaned to perfection while we were out and the beds were so comfortable, we slept like babies!
Free internet and printer (small business room) was a plus to print our itineraries the day we checked out.
The my only minor complaint was that some of the channels on our TV did not have volume and since we didnt spend much time in the Hotel we decided not to say anything until our 3rd day there but once we did it was fixed immediately.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review and especially for mentioning our doorman, Dan, by name. It is always gratifying to our associates when they learn their service has been worthy of note and you may be sure we’ve copied your review to him. Thank you too for mentioning the volume of the TV as it gives us the opportunity to ensure it will be working properly for the next guest—but only if you mention your room number as well! Our guestroom attendants do try to check televisions, A/C, plumbing, etc. when they clean, but occasionally an item will get past them. When you come the next time, tell us about the TV problem when you make your reservation and we will double check your room to ensure everything is in perfect order for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

The Taj Campton Place is a very good hotel in San Francisco's informal center, Union Square. I choose it over other properties for it's location, size, style, price and quality, and can't say I was disappointed. The hotel delivers a pitch perfect performance, in a city where location really matters and luxury generally means victorian. Compared with some other properties I've visited, the hotel is sedately elegant and quiet, although by no means hip. The rooms are on the spartan side of luxury, the bathrooms roomy and nicely laid out but again somewhat lacking in style. The best part of the hotel is the restaurant, where I had three outstanding breakfasts in a cosy and elegant environment, that should really come across in the rest of the property. There's still a short way to go to consider Campton Place a jewel, but given the location, spot on service, overall ambiance and comfort, I would recommend the property.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Almost damned by the faint praise of “on the edge of excellence”, but your praise was not faint at all! Thank you. We especially thank you for your words about the restaurant and are only sorry you did not also dine there in the evening when you would experienced what fine dining is really all about. We are one of the best in a city of fine restaurants. We hope you will have the opportunity to find out for yourself on your next visit why our restaurant is a Michelin starred establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

5 star all the way. Service personal and friendly, Rooms lovely, location the best. This is my third deluxe stay in San Francisco prefer this location to 5 stars on Nob Hill. Plan to return again and again.
Thank you
Taj Campton Place

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IvyNguyen, Manager at Taj Campton Place, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you so much for your excellent comments. We do have the premier location in town--and we think we have the best service as well--but it is especially meaningful for these opinions to be validated by those who have stayed here and experienced it for themselves. Thank you again. We will certainly look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taj Campton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Campton Place

Address: 340 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#81 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Campton Place 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taj Campton Place is the quintessential landmark San Francisco Hotel on Union Square. It’s located just steps away from the City’s best shopping, dining and nightlife. Award-winning Campton Place Restaurant and Bar one of the City’s most revered dining destinations. Executive Chef Srijith’s cuisine with renowned Master Sommelier Richard Dean’s wine cellar combined to create an unparalleled culinary extravaganza. Campton Place’s superb location, elegant guestrooms, extraordinary service, outstanding amenities make it San Francisco’s ideal home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Travelocity, LHW, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Taj Campton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Campton Place Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Campton Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Campton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.