We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay with Gorgeous Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #88 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Stay with Gorgeous Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel is located in a great area with many restaurants and shops nearby. Our room was clean and spacious and had a great view of the Bay (definitely request a Bay View). Beds were super comfy. I had access to the Regency Club on the top level of the hotel that offered nice amenities and a panoramic view of the water. The staff was very friendly and helpful when giving recommendations on things to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    527
    711
    351
    134
    55
See reviews for
302
500
103
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

When relocating back to San Francisco, after a full week of house hunting, we treated ourselves to a little R&R before heading back home to pack up. My husband, who's stayed at the Hyatt Regency, SF many times in the past, insisted we stay here. I'm so glad he got his way!

The Bay View Balcony Room we stayed in did have an amazing balcony and view. We were so tired by the time we checked in, we literally could have stayed there our entire visit — and we did for the most part — minus the occasional outting for dinner or lunch. The bed was super comfy, the bathroom was huge, the water pressure powerful — and tons of outlets for charging our devices made life easy. The brunch at the hotel was really quite good — definitely worth trying if you want to splurge a bit.

Room Tip: Get a Bay View Balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We ended our California trip here in San Francisco with a week here at this hotel. What a great way to end our amazing vacation. This hotel is wonderful....has the best location and great service. From check in to check out the entire stay was fantastic. We had breakfast each day at the wonderful buffet which was loaded with a variety of foods...they also offer a menu. The staff working there is amazing. There is a trolley stop right outside the front door to the left and we were able to buy our trolley ticket across the street at Walgreens. There were cabs available right outside with no advance notice ever needed. The hotel has valet car service and we really enjoyed not needing our car the week we were there....we walked, took the trolley or a cab. Walking was our favorite as the weather was amazing while we were there. There was so much to do and see there we are already planning our next trip there! There are plenty of fantastic places to eat too! This is the only place we will stay on our next trip here....fantastic! Since we were here during the holidays....there was also ice skating outside right by the hotel.

Room Tip: we were so glad to have a room on a high floor to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful time in San Francisco. I must agree with you our location is unbeatable and convenient access to public transportation. It is always great to hear compliment on our staffs and I'll be sure to share your comment with them. The ice skating rank is definitely one of the highlights during the holiday season and we can't wait for you to come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at Hyatt Regency for a total of 6 nights. A nice hotel with a good concierge service and attentive staff. Everyone at the hotel was accommodating. I really loved the breakfast buffet. The location of the hotel is good, just next to the train station. Also, a lot of restaurants, grocery stores are just adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel is stunningly beautiful. Arrived from the east coast to have breakfast in the hotel. It was fair, nothing spectacular. The rooms were typical. But, the location and overall ambiance of this hotel is perfect. It's close to shopping, restaurants, etc. Beautiful from top to bottom! Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! Great to hear you enjoyed the ideal location and the ambiance of our hotel! We can't wait for you to come back and visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a very standard chain hotel, with nothing unique to offer. Staff was indifferent, certainly not welcoming.
Location is difficult to navigate for someone not familiar with the city, which can be expected in a city that size; however there is massive construction going on in front of the building which further complicates matters, blocking driveway access and obscuring almost all signs identifying the hotel from the street.
All in all an entirely average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We ended up staying here for a wedding and found this hotel to be surprisingly nice. The architecture is definitely unique but I found the layout of the hotel to be really cool. The moment you head towards your room, you can't help but look up and enjoy the layout of the place.

PROS:
1. Rooms were very clean, cool (temp) and though a wee bit small, had no complaints
2. Staff is friendly
3. Views of the Ferry bldg are awesome
4. Architecture is really cool
5. All in all a solid hotel

CONS:
N/A

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 802-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.