We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked three nights, left after one” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #80 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Booked three nights, left after one”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is in a really good location and is very beautiful inside and out. However, it is also in a very noisy location with street traffic, cable cars etc. I knew this when making the reservation and asked this Hyatt specifically, when making the reservation, to provide me a room in a location where I knew it was quieter. The front desk staff ignored this and put me right above the cable car. When I complained, the guy on the phone was rude and refused to do anything so I told him to show my departure for the next day and we checked out after one day. I'm finished with the Hyatt chain. We went down the street to the Mandarin Oriental and were treated like kings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear RobertG29,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor experience you had with one of our associates. A private message has been sent to you requesting for more information about your recent stay, so that we can share your comment with the appropriate associate and make things right. We are truly sorry for the experience you had and we hope to hearing from you soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    813
    399
    157
    60
See reviews for
355
573
115
721
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I love visiting San Francisco. Love the food, the street scene, and the views. This time we stayed at the Hyatt at the embarcadero. We had a nice room overlooking Market Street with a nice view of the Bay Bridge. It's great to watch the street scene from our window. The Bay Bridge is just spectacular at night. I love the fact that it's right across the Ferry Building, so convenient for food and wine and fresh oysters! The hotel staff -- front desk, housekeeping, bell desk, and house man -- were extra helpful and accommodating. The hotel is very well maintained. I was just so disappointed that the revolving restaurant on top of the hotel, Equinox, had been converted to the exclusive Regency Club. Oh well, so it just forced us to explore other options in the neighborhood. There are many options indeed. We could've taken the cable car literally just outside the hotel entrance to Nob Hill. Instead, we took the back entrance and explored the limitless restaurants and bars in the area. I have other favorite hotels in this beautiful city. This one is on top of my list.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks so much for your review! Sounds like you had a fantastic time exploring the waterfront area and the historic Ferry Building! Glad you enjoyed the bay view from your room too! We appreciate you chose to stay at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco and all of us look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. I am a boutique hotel person, so I was expecting a very vanilla experience. The suite was beautiful, bathrooms exquisite, and service exceptional. We found the location to be perfect. Great restaurants across on Pier 1 - try The Slanted Door - and shopping just a few blocks away. Cable car stops right out front as do the buses. It was a very, very pleasant surprise. Walk a few blocks and shop and then jump on the cable car to get to Fisherman's Wharf. Fun bar when you come back from dinner. We LOVED our bartender. Wish I could remember her name. Concierge floor had incredible breakfasts and exquisite views overlooking the harbor. Don't know what else you could ask from a hotel, but am giving it 4 stars because, it is indeed, a large atrium type hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor with a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

There was nothing inherently wrong with my stay at the Hyatt Embarcadero, but it just didn't seem right for San Francisco. That huge open atrium might have been cool back in the 1980's, but now it seems more suited to Qatar. The location is good if you have work in the Financial District, but otherwise you have to walk some distance to find any quintessential scenic San Francisco streets. My room was comfortable, but I like to sleep with the window open and some of the streets around the hotel are noisy. My bathroom was a bit dinky with cheap fixtures, more like a motel. The best thing about the hotel is a truly excellent gym that's open 24/7. It has every conceivable machine. The breakfast buffet was also very good. I had no contact with the staff, so can't judge them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

What a wonderful surprise this hotel turned out to be! The hotel is undergoing a major renovation, but it was never an issue. The floor we were on must have just been completely redone....everything smells "new". The hall carpeting was thick and "cushy" and the room was just perfect. The curtains were truly blackout curtains which really allows you to sleep in if you want, the beds and pillows were heavenly, makeup mirror, sound machine, coffee pot were appreciated and the layout of the large room was perfect....even for 3 adults and 1 child! I found the location to be just perfect....the streetcars, cable cars etc. are right across the street. The parking was expensive, but the doormen gave me the option of self-parking across the street for almost half, but I decided to make it easy and use the hotel valet parking. All in all, it was a terrific stay and I will definitely stay at this hotel if I'm in SF again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear sailaway1,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the newly renovated guestroom and the amenities offered. Sounds like you had a nice rest in our Grand Bed too! The location is definitely ideal and close to many San Francisco attractions. Your compliment is much appreciated and we hope you and your family will come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Most hotel lobbies are only good for checking in. The lobby of the Hyatt Regency San Francisco is worth checking out. We came to see the magnificent lobby, but stayed to enjoy a beverage in the Eclipse lounge and ride the retro glass elevators.

Our jaws dropped as we stepped into the 7 million cubic foot atrium lobby, considered by the Guinness Book as the world's largest. On the lobby floor, Charles Perry's 40-foot tall anodized aluminum sculpture entitled "Eclipse" hovers over a square-sided fountain, where thin sheets of water flow over its vanishing edges. Overhead, a cascade of over 300,000 white lights rain down from above.

Fortunately, our visit coincided with the 4:30 to 6:30 daily happy hour in the Eclipse lounge, where my domestic lager only set me back $4. After a long day of sight-seeing, we appreciated the posh couches and soft sleek chairs, spaced far enough apart so that our conversations could remain low-volume and private.

For a little high anxiety after happy hour, we rode the iconic glass elevators to the top of the atrium. We moved smoothly at 500 feet per minute in the illuminated capsules trimmed in polished brass. Although the ride was free, it is not recommended for the acrophobic.

The Hyatt Regency San Francisco deserves three stars for its record-setting and awe-inspiring atrium lobby, comfortable lounge and daily happy hour specials, and exciting elevator rides. The festive Christmas decorations during the holidays warrant a fourth star, and are another reason this hotel lobby is worth checking out.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend getting the breakfast getaway special if you can. The buffet is amazing and the restaurant is nice. Though the hotel is not close to all the city amenities, it is at a cable car starting/ending point and across the street from the street cars. That was very helpful. Service was amazing throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Sounds like you had a great time exploring San Francisco by taking advantage of the available public transportation nearby! Your compliment on our service is much appreciated. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.