We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Best prices from these 10 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #88 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Erie, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went to San Francisco for our niece's wedding. We stayed at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco. It's location on Embarcadero was ideal. Convenient to everything. As usual with Hyatt Hotels, it was a stay where we felt pampered and appreciated. You should definitely upgrade to the Regency Club. It's a lounge located on the top floor with 360 degree views. You get breakfast, with plenty of options to suit everyone's tastes. In the afternoon, there are cookies and then for dinner they have "appetizers" that can easily be dinner. You can also grab bottles of water for your day activities. Sitting in the lounge, enjoying the view, is a great way to begin and end your day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear barlauco,

Thank you for your 5-start review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us. I must agree with you our Regency Club Lounge has one of the best panoramic view of San Francisco. Great to hear you enjoyed the food and beverage offered at the Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    720
    357
    135
    56
See reviews for
305
505
103
617
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As all have pointed out, fantastic location, can’t argue with it. I also loved the building, a brutalist concrete masterpiece of steps and angles. Service was very good too, I found the Hyatt Regency crew very friendly and helpful, all my concerns and requests were met and dealt with in a sincere manner.

I upgraded onto the club floor, room had been refurbished but not completely. Details such as the lights switches, wall finishing, windows were still the original 70s fitting so it doesn’t feel completely new.

Great views from my window of the Oakland bridge but you not completely soundproof so you will hear the traffic. If this was properly refurbished to a higher modern standard, this would be a great premium business hotel serving the financial district.

Room Tip: You can win prizes from the Fortune Cookies at front desk. We won a free film.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Dezzydez ,

We are delighted you enjoyed our convenient location and the architecture of the hotel. It is always great to hear our staffs were able to assist you with your needs professionally and efficiently. Your comment is much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Truly yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Hyatt Regency at Embarcadero Center is in an excellent location. You can easily walk to quite a few popular San Francisco locations such as the Ferry Terminal, and you can catch a cable car or MUNI right outside the door. The lobby looks like what you'd dream about when you think of 70s/early 80s Hyatt lobby design: atrium, glass elevators, hundreds of strands of mini-lights hanging from the ceiling, and a modern sculpture. I found it a fun throwback to the past, but it's hardly the pinnacle of design excellence. As other reviewers have noted, the wait for the elevators can be quite long during peak times, particularly between 7-9 a.m. and 4-7 p.m. The staff was friendly and helpful, and I didn't have to wait in line at check-in or check-out. The bed was particularly comfortable. Some reviewers complained about noise in the room, but that wasn't a problem for me, perhaps because my room was on the 15th floor. The lighting level at the bathroom sink was too low, making it difficult to see. The shower/toilet room is in need of an updating. As you'd expect in central San Francisco, the prices are steep. Overall, a nice hotel with good service, but probably not worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The place is in need of a serious makeover - lobby, rooms, meeting rooms, and just about everything else. It is not even retro, it is just old. Nice staff but my wake up call was missed (despite the "recording evidence", I was awake and the phone never rang). They still charge for wi-fi (who still does this?) and don't even have a coffee maker in the room. No serious dining option or a half decent bar for San Fran standards. If you are stuck at a meeting, make the best of it by staying outside as much as possible. Good Starbucks across them street.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide an enjoyable experience to all of our guests and seem we fell short during your stay, please accept our apology. A cosmetic upgrade has been scheduled to update our guestrooms towards the end of this year. This will help refresh all of our rooms. There are over 30 dining options around the Embarcadero Center and the Ferry Building and we apologize if that information was not provided to you upon your arrival.

Your business is truly appreciated and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Embarcadero Hyatt is a premium hotel and the service delivers at all levels. There are no deficiencies found during the stay.

The staff is both professional and friendly. Check-in and check-out procedures were effortless.

The location is ideal for business or leisure. The Ferry building is a fve minute walk away: Fisherman's wharf, 20 minutes: Exploratorium on Pier 15, 10 minutes: SFMOMA, 30 minutes up Market street. Major business addresses are all within a 10 block radius. The BART station is literally in front of the lobby. You might not need a car.

Best-kept secret is the Regency Club Lounge at the top of the hotel. Discreetly ask for an upgrade (HGP members) or pay for a daily pass. The 360 degree view of the water, the Bay-bridge and Treasure Island is just outstanding.

Do yourself a favor and spend time looking at the atrium, designed by John Portman. This open-spaced, indoor hotel architecture has been much copied but not bested. It has also stood the test of time. Has to be second best behind the Atlanta Hyatt.

Factoid:
Hotel was sold in 2007 for $200M or 250K per room. Yes, at these prices it's okay to call the front desk and complain about the thin towels!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for you review. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and appreciated the architect of our atrium lobby. Sounds like check in, check out was a breeze! I must agree with you the view from our Regency Club is unbeatable. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is large and right in the downtown area near the piers. This is a lovely hotel. The breakfast is expensive but good. Was offered water at arrival. Everyone was very nice and met all needs. Two things to be aware of are that the elevators are very slow at peak times (up to 12 minute wait at one time), and the fan in the bathroom is attached to the light and EXTREMELY loud. Otherwise, beautiful hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear localbeans,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel and the breakfast at Eclipse. Elevators wait time may be long during rush hour and we are truly sorry for the delay. Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was a nice hotel but not worth the money even at the discounted conference rate. We had so much trouble with our room keys not working. Over the course of two of the four days we stayed, we made numerous trips to the front desk to have the keys reprogrammed. We were careful not to place our room keys near our cell phones which would deprogram them. We still had problems. Finally, they called the engineer to work on the locking mechanism on the door. At one point, we had 4 keys and none of them would work. It was very aggravating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear BJ B,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide an enjoyable stay for our guests and seems we fell short during your stay. We understand your frustration, please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused by the room keys. Your comment is very important to us and it will be reviewed by the Engineering team.

Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#62 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 802-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.