We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, and nothing else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #90 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location, location, and nothing else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The place is in need of a serious makeover - lobby, rooms, meeting rooms, and just about everything else. It is not even retro, it is just old. Nice staff but my wake up call was missed (despite the "recording evidence", I was awake and the phone never rang). They still charge for wi-fi (who still does this?) and don't even have a coffee maker in the room. No serious dining option or a half decent bar for San Fran standards. If you are stuck at a meeting, make the best of it by staying outside as much as possible. Good Starbucks across them street.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide an enjoyable experience to all of our guests and seem we fell short during your stay, please accept our apology. A cosmetic upgrade has been scheduled to update our guestrooms towards the end of this year. This will help refresh all of our rooms. There are over 30 dining options around the Embarcadero Center and the Ferry Building and we apologize if that information was not provided to you upon your arrival.

Your business is truly appreciated and we hope to see you again.
Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    678
    336
    133
    52
See reviews for
280
473
103
579
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Embarcadero Hyatt is a premium hotel and the service delivers at all levels. There are no deficiencies found during the stay.

The staff is both professional and friendly. Check-in and check-out procedures were effortless.

The location is ideal for business or leisure. The Ferry building is a fve minute walk away: Fisherman's wharf, 20 minutes: Exploratorium on Pier 15, 10 minutes: SFMOMA, 30 minutes up Market street. Major business addresses are all within a 10 block radius. The BART station is literally in front of the lobby. You might not need a car.

Best-kept secret is the Regency Club Lounge at the top of the hotel. Discreetly ask for an upgrade (HGP members) or pay for a daily pass. The 360 degree view of the water, the Bay-bridge and Treasure Island is just outstanding.

Do yourself a favor and spend time looking at the atrium, designed by John Portman. This open-spaced, indoor hotel architecture has been much copied but not bested. It has also stood the test of time. Has to be second best behind the Atlanta Hyatt.

Factoid:
Hotel was sold in 2007 for $200M or 250K per room. Yes, at these prices it's okay to call the front desk and complain about the thin towels!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for you review. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and appreciated the architect of our atrium lobby. Sounds like check in, check out was a breeze! I must agree with you the view from our Regency Club is unbeatable. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is large and right in the downtown area near the piers. This is a lovely hotel. The breakfast is expensive but good. Was offered water at arrival. Everyone was very nice and met all needs. Two things to be aware of are that the elevators are very slow at peak times (up to 12 minute wait at one time), and the fan in the bathroom is attached to the light and EXTREMELY loud. Otherwise, beautiful hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear localbeans,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel and the breakfast at Eclipse. Elevators wait time may be long during rush hour and we are truly sorry for the delay. Your business is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was a nice hotel but not worth the money even at the discounted conference rate. We had so much trouble with our room keys not working. Over the course of two of the four days we stayed, we made numerous trips to the front desk to have the keys reprogrammed. We were careful not to place our room keys near our cell phones which would deprogram them. We still had problems. Finally, they called the engineer to work on the locking mechanism on the door. At one point, we had 4 keys and none of them would work. It was very aggravating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear BJ B,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide an enjoyable stay for our guests and seems we fell short during your stay. We understand your frustration, please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused by the room keys. Your comment is very important to us and it will be reviewed by the Engineering team.

Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piqua, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Just finished up three day stay at the Hyatt. This hotel is close to the Ferry Building and a short walk to Pier 39. We stayed on the 7th floor and had good views of the bay. We ate at this hotels Eclipse restaurant and found the food and service to be excellent. Special thanks to our waiter. Room was large with king size bed and we didn't have any trouble with room noise. Overall I would recommend this hotel for your vacation plans.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear William J,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and the dining experience at Eclipse! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good location by the piers / downtown, and the rooms were fine. Would be expensive without a conference rate - and still a lot of money, but fair for the area. Don't be shocked by the hotel parking $61 per day including taxes - but very convenient if you need your car during your stay. The valet staff was very helpful to me when I needed to get stuff out of my car. Lots of food options close by, so you're not limited by the hotel offerings.

I stayed on the odd-numbered room side, and had a south-facing view. Liked the large, double sliding windows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This Hyatt has stood the test of time -- one of the first to be built with a central atrium. Its proximity to the Ferry Building, Bart, MUNI, and Cable Cars means that you can easily get to it and from it. Expensive, yes -- but for the stellar location, well-maintained property and rooms, and Hyatt quality it is worth it.

Tip -- the hotel bar is ridiculously expensive. Each room has a minifrig, so hop across Front Street to either the Drumm Liquor Store or the 7-Eleven. Pick up your beverages there, store them in your room, and save a bundle.

Room Tip: Ask for any room that does NOT face Market Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear DoctorQ9,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our ideal location and easy access to many public transportation. Great tip on using our mini fridge! Should you decide to give our Eclipse Lounge a try on your next visit, we offer daily happy hour and it is less expensive on selected cocktails and appetizers! We truly appreciate you took the time to write us a review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 802-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.