We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Key Nightmare” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #83 of 234 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Room Key Nightmare”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was a nice hotel but not worth the money even at the discounted conference rate. We had so much trouble with our room keys not working. Over the course of two of the four days we stayed, we made numerous trips to the front desk to have the keys reprogrammed. We were careful not to place our room keys near our cell phones which would deprogram them. We still had problems. Finally, they called the engineer to work on the locking mechanism on the door. At one point, we had 4 keys and none of them would work. It was very aggravating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear BJ B,

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide an enjoyable stay for our guests and seems we fell short during your stay. We understand your frustration, please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused by the room keys. Your comment is very important to us and it will be reviewed by the Engineering team.

Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    768
    371
    144
    57
See reviews for
327
538
109
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piqua, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Just finished up three day stay at the Hyatt. This hotel is close to the Ferry Building and a short walk to Pier 39. We stayed on the 7th floor and had good views of the bay. We ate at this hotels Eclipse restaurant and found the food and service to be excellent. Special thanks to our waiter. Room was large with king size bed and we didn't have any trouble with room noise. Overall I would recommend this hotel for your vacation plans.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear William J,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and the dining experience at Eclipse! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good location by the piers / downtown, and the rooms were fine. Would be expensive without a conference rate - and still a lot of money, but fair for the area. Don't be shocked by the hotel parking $61 per day including taxes - but very convenient if you need your car during your stay. The valet staff was very helpful to me when I needed to get stuff out of my car. Lots of food options close by, so you're not limited by the hotel offerings.

I stayed on the odd-numbered room side, and had a south-facing view. Liked the large, double sliding windows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This Hyatt has stood the test of time -- one of the first to be built with a central atrium. Its proximity to the Ferry Building, Bart, MUNI, and Cable Cars means that you can easily get to it and from it. Expensive, yes -- but for the stellar location, well-maintained property and rooms, and Hyatt quality it is worth it.

Tip -- the hotel bar is ridiculously expensive. Each room has a minifrig, so hop across Front Street to either the Drumm Liquor Store or the 7-Eleven. Pick up your beverages there, store them in your room, and save a bundle.

Room Tip: Ask for any room that does NOT face Market Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear DoctorQ9,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our ideal location and easy access to many public transportation. Great tip on using our mini fridge! Should you decide to give our Eclipse Lounge a try on your next visit, we offer daily happy hour and it is less expensive on selected cocktails and appetizers! We truly appreciate you took the time to write us a review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Now I've made my love of hyatt hotels known in my reviews as they tend to be pretty dang good as a chain.

I stayed here because I like working on my points and it was the closest hotel of the two hyatts to my cousin's apartment.

Of course since it's a hyatt the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful but the rooms could use a bit of updating.

I was sleeping on what was obviously a new bed, but if you're going to spend money on new beds might as well spend a little more on new pillows, the ones I had, had seen better days.

The views of course were awesome and the water pressure very decent but again could just use some renovations and updating.

Would most likely stay at the grand hyatt next time unless this one gets some renovations done.

And on a side note the bartender makes an incredibly decent mojito.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear ramblinAmerican,

Thank you for you review and for choosing the Hyatt. We are delighted you enjoyed the mojito from our bartender and glad you found our location very convenient. A cosmetic upgrade has been scheduled to update our guestrooms towards the end of the year. This will definitely give our rooms a fresher look and feel. Your comment is much appreciated and we look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recently attended convention here. Good conference rooms. Great Embarcadero location. Responsive room service and housekeeping. Even sided rooms noisy from traffic, cable cars. But, they have view on higher floors of Bay Bridge lights.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking Bay Bridge.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not rigidly followed, as in most of San Francisco but there were recycling containers everywhere.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, TX
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just attended a conference at the Hyatt Regency for three days. They did a fantastic job of welcoming, providing excellent snacks, dessert bars, as well as very good luncheons. It was a large convention with a lot of attendees. Very pleased with this hotel.

Great location on the DART line from the airport, trolley to the wharf, and subway out to AT&T Field for a Giants game.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, request a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear aledo99,

Thank you for your review and sounds like you enjoyed the conference and all the food and beverage provided! Our location is absolutely unbeatable and we hope you had a chance to explore San Francisco while you were here on a conference. Your business is truly appreciated and I will be sure to share your review with my banquet team! Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#70 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 802-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.