We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for your vacation plans.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #88 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Piqua, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for your vacation plans.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Just finished up three day stay at the Hyatt. This hotel is close to the Ferry Building and a short walk to Pier 39. We stayed on the 7th floor and had good views of the bay. We ate at this hotels Eclipse restaurant and found the food and service to be excellent. Special thanks to our waiter. Room was large with king size bed and we didn't have any trouble with room noise. Overall I would recommend this hotel for your vacation plans.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear William J,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and the dining experience at Eclipse! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    713
    351
    134
    55
See reviews for
302
501
103
608
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Good location by the piers / downtown, and the rooms were fine. Would be expensive without a conference rate - and still a lot of money, but fair for the area. Don't be shocked by the hotel parking $61 per day including taxes - but very convenient if you need your car during your stay. The valet staff was very helpful to me when I needed to get stuff out of my car. Lots of food options close by, so you're not limited by the hotel offerings.

I stayed on the odd-numbered room side, and had a south-facing view. Liked the large, double sliding windows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This Hyatt has stood the test of time -- one of the first to be built with a central atrium. Its proximity to the Ferry Building, Bart, MUNI, and Cable Cars means that you can easily get to it and from it. Expensive, yes -- but for the stellar location, well-maintained property and rooms, and Hyatt quality it is worth it.

Tip -- the hotel bar is ridiculously expensive. Each room has a minifrig, so hop across Front Street to either the Drumm Liquor Store or the 7-Eleven. Pick up your beverages there, store them in your room, and save a bundle.

Room Tip: Ask for any room that does NOT face Market Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear DoctorQ9,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our ideal location and easy access to many public transportation. Great tip on using our mini fridge! Should you decide to give our Eclipse Lounge a try on your next visit, we offer daily happy hour and it is less expensive on selected cocktails and appetizers! We truly appreciate you took the time to write us a review and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Now I've made my love of hyatt hotels known in my reviews as they tend to be pretty dang good as a chain.

I stayed here because I like working on my points and it was the closest hotel of the two hyatts to my cousin's apartment.

Of course since it's a hyatt the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful but the rooms could use a bit of updating.

I was sleeping on what was obviously a new bed, but if you're going to spend money on new beds might as well spend a little more on new pillows, the ones I had, had seen better days.

The views of course were awesome and the water pressure very decent but again could just use some renovations and updating.

Would most likely stay at the grand hyatt next time unless this one gets some renovations done.

And on a side note the bartender makes an incredibly decent mojito.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear ramblinAmerican,

Thank you for you review and for choosing the Hyatt. We are delighted you enjoyed the mojito from our bartender and glad you found our location very convenient. A cosmetic upgrade has been scheduled to update our guestrooms towards the end of the year. This will definitely give our rooms a fresher look and feel. Your comment is much appreciated and we look forward to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recently attended convention here. Good conference rooms. Great Embarcadero location. Responsive room service and housekeeping. Even sided rooms noisy from traffic, cable cars. But, they have view on higher floors of Bay Bridge lights.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking Bay Bridge.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not rigidly followed, as in most of San Francisco but there were recycling containers everywhere.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, TX
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just attended a conference at the Hyatt Regency for three days. They did a fantastic job of welcoming, providing excellent snacks, dessert bars, as well as very good luncheons. It was a large convention with a lot of attendees. Very pleased with this hotel.

Great location on the DART line from the airport, trolley to the wharf, and subway out to AT&T Field for a Giants game.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, request a room with a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear aledo99,

Thank you for your review and sounds like you enjoyed the conference and all the food and beverage provided! Our location is absolutely unbeatable and we hope you had a chance to explore San Francisco while you were here on a conference. Your business is truly appreciated and I will be sure to share your review with my banquet team! Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Hotel's lobby is outstanding. Their staff was wonderful and very attentive! The buffet breakfast was delicious. The only thing I think that needs improvement is the rooms need a facelift. They are good size and very clean, but the bathroom could definitely use a facelift and the TV stations really are limited. I spent nine days while my husband was on business and it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view.
See more room tips
Green Features: I believe this hotel was very environmentally friendly as far as I could tell.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Hiltzie85,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your extended stay with us. I am particular happy to read your compliment on our staffs! There will be a renovation towards the end of this year to refresh all of our guestrooms. We truly appreciate you took the time to write us a review. Look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 802-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;