We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the Embarcadero” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #89 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the Embarcadero”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Right across from the Ferry Building. Easily accessible from both SFO and OAK airports. Take Bart, get off at Embarcadero stop, and exit via the Drumm Street exit. Right next to BART stop.

That way you save the expensive taxi charge.

Average business hotel, with costs to match. Expensive.

Parking is $61 and tax. However, street parking on Sundays is generally free, as are evenings after 6 pm.

In business area that is very quiet during weekends. A little far from tourist sites.

15 minute walk to Chinatown, 25 minutes to Union Square.

We will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    680
    336
    133
    52
See reviews for
281
474
103
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very big business style hotel. The hotel has a huge atrium and a very special architectural design which makes it special.
Very spacious and tastful rooms with modern design. Our room had two big and comfy beds and an excellent bathroom. Even though its a big hotel, the rooms and atmosphere are quiet. Loved the glass elevators with the view of the atrium
Good, though rather unpersonal service; lets call it functional and efficient
Our room came with breakfasst included. A very extensive and fresh buffet with many choices of high quality. You hardly find that in an american hotel.
Wouldn 't mind to come back there. Very central location right next to BART station and public transport

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear ryannl,

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed the beautiful atrium lobby and our convenient location to San Francisco public transportation. I must agree with you our breakfast buffet is quite extensive and delicious! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very impressive lobby. But that is it ! TOTALLY outdated rooms, badly run down, still you are paying full price for the 5 star category ! The bathroom is not bigger than 33 square feet, the lavatory is outside of the bathroom. Location is the only real plus to stay. On top of the room rate they charged me $ 75.00 for the use of the "Regency Club", which is on the top floor, commands breathtaking views, a mediocre "complimentary" breakfast and evening snacks, also complimentary, so for those on a budget, you have a "free dinner". No pool !
Service is very impersonal.

Room Tip: Get a room giving you "some" bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Globetrotter1621,

Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear you enjoyed the beautiful lobby atrium and the convenient location of our hotel. We strive to offer excellent guest service to all of our guests and seems we fell short during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies. We understand our guest rooms need to be updated and a cosmetic upgrade is scheduled for 2nd quarter this year to refresh all of our guestrooms. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett square pa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel was clean and well maintained. Staff was very nice and the food at the resturant in the lobby was yummy. My room was on the 2nd floor with a view of the Bay Bridge. Very nice. The only issue was being so low that all the street traffic came into the room. If you need it quite, move to hire ground.

Room Tip: Ask for a room hire up. Also ask for a view of the Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Hyatt is in a wonderful spot. It is far enough away from all of the tourist trap area of San Francisco to enjoy the real city, but close to everything. Loved being able to walk to the new ferry building for lunch and to check out the great shops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Dillons1231,

Thank you so much for your review! Sounds like you had a great time enjoying the shops and the Ferry Building across from our hotel! I must agree our location is unbeatable! Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Location is great, staff extremely helpful, especially the front desk and concierge . The rooms are decent but nothing spectacular. Found them rather small and dont expect a soaker tub. I was on the 10th floor and found the ambient noise from the street in the wee hours awakening me often, (street cleaning etc) The weekend I was there was also cool for San Francisco and upon arrival (early morning) the room was cold. Never was able to make it comfortable, it was either too hot or too cold. I also guess I have been spoiled at other hotels with free wifi and access to health club facilities etc. I understand the San Francisco is an expensive city, (hey I have lived in Toronto and Vancouver) but with the regular rates for this hotel this should be included, especially when the Starbucks across the street offers this without charge. On this visit I had rented a car, parking is only by valet parking, cost is $61.00/ day, almost twice the cost of the rental. When I am back at the end of May I will be taking a cab from the airport and then will rent a car for day trips from the hotel. It will be interesting to see how the hotel fares when I return in May with a large contingent (over 800 people) for a 4 day conference. To be blunt if I was traveling for a vacation trip I would stay further outside of the city and travel in via the BART.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as high as you can, this should help with the ambient street noise throughout the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicklerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had a Regency Club room on the 16th floor, the hotel and view from my room were out of this world. I spent hours relaxing in the Regency Club. Staff was very nice and helpful. Looking forward to coming back out there in Fall for a few more nights!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money, top floor, corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Wow! Thanks for the 5-star review! We are pleased to hear you had such a wonderful time at our hotel! The San Francisco bay view from the top floor and Regency Club is indeed one of the best in the city. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Please come back and see us again soon!

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#64 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#71 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 802-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.