We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #87 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I spent just one night here. We got a great deal on Priceline. Check in was fast and friendly. The room was just like any other hotel in S.F. in this class, nice sheets, comfy pillows, fairly small room. BUT the view and location were way better than average. And the sliding glass door actually opened so we got fresh air and an even better look out at the bay bridge and ferry building. Pretty lobby and nice happy hour at the bar. Hope to stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are pleased to hear you and your husband enjoyed your short stay with us. I must agree we had one of the best bay view in town. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    641
    319
    125
    48
See reviews for
263
431
99
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My employer obviously got a great deal here and the location in general is wonderful, but the rooms are just tired. Old carpeting, odd room design, tiny (and old....and cramped/ creepy) bathrooms....I'm going back to the JW Marriott next time for sure! The front desk was pleasant but I had to call the bellman / valet (there were 3 standing around when I got there) to help me get bags out of the taxi.... and I was given the impression they were doing me a favor. Again great location.... But major updates needed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel. We apologize for the dated guestroom in the hotel. There will be a cosmetic upgrade towards the end of this year to refreshed all of our guest rooms including new carpeting. We hope you will consider returning to our hotel in the near future after the upgrade is completed.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Definitely not the best Hyatt I've stayed at. From the first glance, it's difficult to get a positive impression of the Hyatt. The street level floor is not where reception is located and you must navigate the various rooms and columns to find out how to move upstairs to reception. The hotel is also an interior corridor hotel, an older construction that looks dated in light of modern hotel architecture. The rooms could also use some investment with numerous light fixtures not working. Finally, the Internet was a nightmare to deal with-the WiFi would cut in and out all the time. With that all said, service was excellent, the gym was a pleasure to use and the hotel is located very conveniently in downtown next to public transport and major tourist attractions. It's a pity that it hasn't made a few changes to make it into a truly excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Go onto a high floor and as faraway from the elevators as possible (you get a view of the Golden Gat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We enjoyed excellent food and concierge service. The view was fantastic. The 360 degree view was worth the splurge. The location was fantastic. We were at a cable car hub and Bart station. Check in was very efficient. It was clear our room had not been occupied in awhile, and could have used a quick dusting.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear laurie c,

Thank you so much for your review! Sounds like check in was a breeze and we are glad you enjoyed the great view from the Regency Club lounge. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

First time I stayed at this hotel 6 years ago and this was the second time and i realized nothing has changed after years and i felt i shouldn't leave without leaving a comment. One of the best hotel at pacific coast... drinking a coffee after a tiring travel with lots of flight at the lounge with bay bridge, historical ferry building, , that takes all my stress... delicious food, spotless hotel, friendly and helpful housekeeping staff, plus their supervisor and helpful guest service and welcoming front staff for my luggages.... i would love to thank you for all of your hard work to make me feel a member of your family...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Doyduk,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and great to hear our staff was able to make you feel welcome. You are part of our family and we look forward to your many returns in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley,CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip on the coast. I had a free Hyatt night so I had used it for this place. Other than that I would definitely not choose to stay here again. The location on a weekend stay is not good because since its the Financial District everything is closed on the weekends here. The hotel was very much a business hotel for people here doing business, definitely not a place you want to stay for a couples trip. View from room was pretty though overlooking the water. Other than that very loud, large and impersonable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. Excellent location with easy access to BART train to the airport and also for street cars to Fisherman's wharf and Union square. The atrium was brilliant, the elevator ride to the top floor was an experience in itself. Helpful staff. We got an upgrade to the regency club. Amazing view at the top. Excellent breakfast. We will definitely stay here if we go back to SF again.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms might be expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Suresh63,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us back in July. We have recently put up all of the holiday decorations in the atrium lobby which makes it even more dramatic and beautiful! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#56 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#73 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 802-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.