We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #87 of 236 hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fountain Valley,CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not so great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here on a recent trip on the coast. I had a free Hyatt night so I had used it for this place. Other than that I would definitely not choose to stay here again. The location on a weekend stay is not good because since its the Financial District everything is closed on the weekends here. The hotel was very much a business hotel for people here doing business, definitely not a place you want to stay for a couples trip. View from room was pretty though overlooking the water. Other than that very loud, large and impersonable place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,694 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    503
    674
    335
    131
    51
See reviews for
277
465
102
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in July. Excellent location with easy access to BART train to the airport and also for street cars to Fisherman's wharf and Union square. The atrium was brilliant, the elevator ride to the top floor was an experience in itself. Helpful staff. We got an upgrade to the regency club. Amazing view at the top. Excellent breakfast. We will definitely stay here if we go back to SF again.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms might be expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Suresh63,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us back in July. We have recently put up all of the holiday decorations in the atrium lobby which makes it even more dramatic and beautiful! Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasant hill ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Strings of lights hanging from the balconies compliment the angular atrium. We relaxed at the lounge and enjoyed THE best crab cakes. The Giants World Series victory and parade had everyone in a great mood-employees and guests. We opened our sliding glass door to let the pigeons of Market Street come visit us. Such a short walk to the Ferry Building.I enjoy the glass elevators as much as I did 30 years ago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear eusnna,

Thank you for your review! We are delighted to have you visit us again and great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Giants World Series Victory definitely made everyone in the city happy and very proud. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Truly yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I like this hotel...VERY much! I've stayed here twice. I like just about everthing about it. I deducted a star from my "5 star" rating for one reason.
What bothers me is the lack of "green" thinking. There are no aerators (restricting the amount of water flow) on the bathroom sinks. This means that there's an unlimited amount of water being wasted there. The "Governator" complains of California's water shortage...I'd like to see Hyatt take a stand and be a "little" greener.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I can't understand how these "business" class hotels still survive. Parking was $57/night, Internet was between $10-$15/day and local calls were $1.00. The only restaurant was very expensive.

There are so many "all-included" hotels (like Hampton, Embassy Suites, H/I Express), that why would anyone pay extra for these services?

Having said that, I stayed there for a conference. The hotel is very elegant, especially the lobby. Staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and well appointed, but nothing special.

You could park about 50m down the street for $32/day, but that does not include in/out privileges. So think wisely before you decide where to park.

Otherwise, very nice area, lots of fast food options right across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Pure_XTC,

Thank you for your review. It is always nice to hear compliments on our staff and glad you enjoyed our beautiful atrium lobby. Our hotel fees are comparable with other 4-diamond hotels in the area and we feel we provide good value. However, that is not your experience and for that, we are truly sorry. Your business is much appreciated and we sincerely look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in this Hotel.
On arrival the reception staff were friendly cordial and very helpfull in securing a good room on the 17th floor and for a reasonable cost upgrading us to Club Level.The room was very spacious and all amenities were modern,clean etc.The bed in particular was very comfortable and huge.
The upgrade to Club was well worth the money,breakfast was included and good as was the early evening food and drinks,The alcohol has to be paid for with an Honesty or Honour card but the measures are yours to pour so really good value.
The views from the club lounge are special at all times.
The location is super being very close to The Waterfront and all the tourist spots.It is only a 20/25 walk up Market Street to the Shops of Union Square and nearby China Town.
Another benefit of the hotel is The Car Hire based on the street level.But be sure to check the costs and time of return as after 5 it is 15dollars to leave it or 50 plus to park overnight.
On leaving we booked the hotel town car for the Airport which at 65 Dlls (incl.tip)was a little pricey but we were upgraded to a stretch limo which made our trip end in a very special way.
All in all a very good experience in lovely San Fransisco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear shakeyw,

Thanks for your great review! We thoroughly enjoyed having you with us as well! Glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities offered at the Regency Club lounge and the views from the club is definitely gorgeous! I must agree with you our convenient location is ideal to explore all attractions in San Francisco and easy access to public transportation! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Truly yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here whilst on a road trio and wanted our last night in San fran to be special. Fabulous view from the room. Rooms are spotless but the bathroom is lush! you do feel like you are getting your moneys worth. Breakfast was good nothing wow but the view from the top of the hotel is well worth the ok/good breakfast. Only downfall was that there is no free wifi which was hugely dissapointing esp the cost of it. Other than great hotel and if you get a special offer than make sure you stay it does make your stop at San Fran that extra bit special

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#67 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 802-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.