We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service/Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency San Francisco to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #80 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersGold level
Kinetique
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Service/Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here on 6/9 to 6/11 and had a great stay. Lana provided excellent service, the concierge was extremely helpful. The rooms were very clean and we had a spectacular view over the bay.

The hotel and staff made for a wonderful stay for me and my wife!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Value Customer,

Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We are thrilled to hear you and your wife had a wonderful time at our hotel! I will be sure to pass your compliments to Lana and to my management team. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    813
    399
    157
    60
See reviews for
355
573
115
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

While very pleasant an accommodating, the positive staff experience could not overcome the dated guest room interiors. Sink faucets did not operate well, wall coverings were old, furniture was dated. Good location near ferry pier and near cable stop.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel and received great service from our associates. However, we do apologize for the less than ideal interiors of your guestroom. Rest assured, your comment will be reviewed by my management team.

Sincerely,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed here for a conference. This hotel has been around a while but it seems that Hyatt has done well keeping the rooms looking new. I had a room on the 16th floor (and paid a hefty price too) which is considered concierge level. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and firm beds, spacious bathrooms with commode and full walk-in shower separate from the sink. The vanity mirror over the sink has a built-in TV monitor so you can keep watching your programs while brushing your teeth. I really like that feature. My room had a spectacular view of the water and the Oakland Bay Bridge, which was stunning. For better views, the Concierge Club on the top floor offers a much bigger view. You can grab breakfast, hor d'oevres and dessert and enjoy the view there.

The team at the front desk are top-notch. Very professional and accomodating.

Room service was very quick and the food was really good.

Two areas of improvement: the hotel offers wireless but on my floor the wireless was very weak so I had to use my broadband connection instead. A stronger wireless signal on the upper floors would be a good improvement. Also, the TV channel selection was not the best. A few more channels would be nice.

I would definitely stay here again but there are a ton of great hotels in this city so it might not be for a while!

Room Tip: You'll probably pay a lot more but ask for a room with a water view on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Laura T,

Thank you kindly for your 5-star review! We are delighted you enjoyed the bay view from your Regency Club room and the unique feature of our built-in TV in the mirror! I am particular happy to read your comments about our staffs being professional and accommodating. I will definitely be sure to share your compliment with them. I apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the internet connection and the limitation on our TV channel selections. Rest assured, your feedback will be reviewed by my management team.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great location. All staff were professional, courteous and knowledgable, a real plus in today's world. The concierge was especially amazing. He knew all the public transportation ins and outs by heart and could clearly communicate them and draw them out on a map, caution us about marginal areas of the city, etc. Top notch service. Most comfortable bed ever. Quiet room.

Only draw back is the high price for parking, $57 per night. Yikes! Park down the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Jill H,

Wow! Thank you so much for your 5-stars review! What a great compliment of our staffs especially our concierge! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will make sure to share your review with my team!

We hope to see you come back and visit us again!
Warm regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Forget a car or taxi, this is the best located hotel in San Francisco. Right on the water and basically in the financial district. The only problem with this hotel is the unreliable internet access. You will have to login every hour... again and again and again...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear mdehaan,

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the internet access. We are currently working on improving the quality of our internet service and this issue will be resolved soon. Your review will be shared with my management team.

We do hope to see you come back and visit us again.
Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here with a group of UK over 55s and we all enjoyed the experience. The hotel is very handy for pier 39 whether you are walking or riding on the bus. I didn't find any restaurants to speak of nearby, just a burger place and a Thai restaurant, that are not my "cup of tea". The restaurant/lounge at the hotel has quite an extensive menu and suited me better. They even have my favourite American cocktail an "old fashioned", a Don Draper (of TVs Madmen) special.

I found the rooms perfectly satisfactory so no complaints there. The staff were all very good to me so no complaints there either. I think that quite a few of my party "left their hearts in San Francisco" so what more can be said?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear EricBournemouth,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We are thrilled to hear you and your group from UK enjoyed San Francisco! I must agree our convenient location is absolutely ideal. I am particular happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and your favorite American cocktail at Eclipse restaurant! Your compliments will definitely be shared with my team!

We truly appreciate your 5-star reviews and please do come back and see us again!
Cheers!
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Like many hotels, this is a pay per night for Internet Service. That would be acceptable if paying meant you got the service. For my two nights at this hotel, I was never able to get wireless service despite sending a total of nearly 2 hours x 2 nights trying. They sent and engineer who was not able to do anything.

Totally frustrating if you are a business traveler and need an Internet connection for your work. If so, forget this hotel. When you are pressed for time on a business trip, and every hour counts, spending hours just trying to get your computer connected is totally unacceptable. Forget this place. Never coming back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyLKT, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Richard T,

Thank you for your feedback, which helps us improve. We understand your frustration and apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the internet service. Please kindly note that we have sent you a private message hoping we can discuss further on your experience.

We definitely do not want this single incident to deter you from visiting us again. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely yours,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#34 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#54 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency San Francisco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.